University of South Alabama
Home Index Search Directories Faq
USA Undergraduate/Graduate Bulletin 2003-2004

 

UNIVERSITY CALENDAR
2003-2004
FALL SEMESTER 2003
Fall Registration for continuing and returning students July 14-August 12 Monday-Tuesday
Posting financial aid to USA student accounts begins August 15 Friday
Residence halls check-in 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
August 16 Saturday
Residence hall check-in from 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
August 17 Sunday
Fall Convocation for students, faculty and staff
August 17 Sunday
Refunding financial aid credit balances to students begins (refunds) August 18 Monday
Orientation/Advising/Registration for First-time Freshmen and Transfer students
August 18-20 Monday-Wednesday
Open registration for all eligible students August 21 Thursday
Classes Begin
August 25 Monday
100% Refund Period Begins on Dropped Courses, Housing and Complete Withdrawals
August 25 Monday
Late Registration and Drop/Add
August 26-27 Tuesday-Wednesday
Last day to add a course
Last day to change to audit
August 27 Wednesday
Labor Day Holiday for students, faculty, staff and administration
September 1 Monday
50% Refund Period Begins on Dropped Courses, Housing and Complete Withdrawals
September 1 Monday
No Refunds After This Date
September 7 Sunday
Last day for Spring Semester 2004 degree applications
September 12 Friday
Last day for faculty reports on undergraduate incomplete grades
October 14 Tuesday
Advising for Spring Semester
October 27-November 7
Monday-Friday
Theses/dissertations first submission deadline
October 30 Thursday
Priority Admission/Readmission Deadline for the Spring Semester
November 10 Monday
Thesis/dissertation grades due in the Office of Graduate Dean by 5:00 p.m.
November 13 Thursday
Last day to drop a course
Last day to withdraw from University
November 14 Friday
Spring Registration for Continuing and Returning students November 17-December 23 Monday-Tuesday
Last day for faculty reports on graduate incomplete grades
November 19 Wednesday
Thanksgiving Holidays for students
(includes weekend classes)
November 26-30

Wednesday-Sunday

Thanksgiving Holidays begin at noon on Wednesday for faculty, staff, and administration
November 26-28 Wednesday-Friday
Thesis/dissertation grades due to Registrar by 5:00 p.m.
December 1 Monday
Last day of classes
December 5 Friday
Final Examinations
December 8-11 Monday-Thursday
Commencement
December 13 Saturday
Final grade entry due by 10:00 a.m.
December 15 Monday
Holidays for staff and administration
December 24-31
Wednesday-Wednesday
   
SPRING SEMESTER 2004
   
New Year's holiday for faculty, staff and administration
January 1 Thursday
Faculty, staff and administration return to work
January 2 Friday
Posting financial aid to USA student accounts begins January 5 Monday
Refunding financial aid credit balances to students begins (refunds) January 6 Tuesday
Residence hall check-in from 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
January 6 Tuesday
Orientation/Advising/Registration for First-time Freshmen and Transfer students
January 7 Wednesday
Open registration for all eligible students January 8 Thursday
Classes begin
January 12 Monday
100% Refund Period Begins on Dropped Courses, Housing and Complete Withdrawals
January 12 Monday
Late Registration and Drop/Add
January 13-14 Tuesday-Wednesday
Last day to add a course
Last day to change to audit
January 14 Wednesday
Martin Luther King Holiday for students, faculty, staff, and administration
January 19 Monday
50% Refund Period Begins on Dropped Courses, Housing and Complete Withdrawals
January 19 Monday
No Refunds After This Date
January 25 Sunday
Last day for Summer Term 2004 degree applications
February 13 Friday
Mardi Gras Holiday for students, faculty, staff and administration
February 24 Tuesday
Last day for faculty reports on undergraduate incomplete grades
March 1 Monday
Spring Break for students
(includes weekend classes)
March 15-21 Monday-Sunday
Advising for Continuing and Returning students for Summer/Fall Semester
March 22-April 2 Monday-Friday
Theses/dissertations first submission deadline
March 25 Thursday
Priority Admission/Readmission Deadline for Summer Term
April 5 Monday
Theses/dissertations due in Office of Graduate Dean by 5:00 p.m.
April 8 Thursday
Last day to drop a course
Last day to withdraw from University
April 9 Friday
Summer 2004 Registration for Continuing and Returning students April 12-May 24 Monday-Monday
Last day for faculty reports on graduate incomplete grades
April 15 Thursday
Thesis/dissertation grades due to Registrar by 5:00 p.m.
April 23 Friday
Last day of classes
April 30 Friday
Final Examinations
May 3-6 Monday-Thursday
Commencement
May 8 Saturday
Final grade entry due by 10:00 a.m.
May 10 Monday
   
SUMMER TERM 2004
   
Posting financial aid to USA student accounts begins May 21 Friday
Refunding financial aid credit balances to students begins (refunds) May 24 Monday
Residence halls open at 9:00 a.m.
May 25 Tuesday
Summer 2004 Orientation/Advising/Registration for First-time Freshmen and Transfer students
May 26 Wednesday
Open Registration for all eligible students May 27 Thursday
Memorial Day Holiday for faculty, staff and administration
May 31 Monday
Classes begin
June 1 Tuesday
100% Refund Period Begins on Dropped Courses, Housing and Complete Withdrawals
June 1 Tuesday
Late Registration and Drop/Add
June 2-3 Wednesday-Thursday
Last day to add a course
Last day to change to audit
June 3 Thursday
Last day for Fall Semester 2004 degree applications
June 4 Friday
50% Refund Period Begins on Dropped Courses and Complete Withdrawals for Summer First Term
June 4 Friday
50% Refund Period Begins on Dropped Courses and Complete Withdrawals for Full Term - Including Housing
June 8 Tuesday
No Refunds After This Date for First Term Courses
June 8 Tuesday
Fall Orientation/Advising/Registration for First-time Freshmen begins
June 14 Monday
No Refunds After This Date for Full Term Courses
June 15 Tuesday
Theses/dissertations first submission deadline
June 25 Friday
Classes end and exam day for First Term
June 28 Monday
Second Term Classes Begin
June 29 Tuesday
50% Refund Period Begins on Withdrawals for Second Term Courses
July 2 Friday
Fourth of July Holiday for students, faculty, staff and administration
July 5 Monday
Advising for Continuing and Returning Students for Fall Semester
July 6-9 Tuesday-Friday
No Refunds After This Date for Second Term Courses
July 6 Tuesday
Priority Admission/Readmission Deadline for Fall Semester
July 7 Wednesday
Last day for faculty reports on graduate and undergraduate incomplete grades
July 7 Wednesday
Theses/dissertations due in Office of Graduate Dean by 5:00 p.m.
July 9 Friday
Fall Registration for Continuing and Returning Students begins
July 12 Monday
Last day to drop a full-term course
Last day to withdraw from University (Full Term)
July 13 Tuesday
Thesis/dissertation grades due to Registrar by 5:00 p.m.
July 19 Monday
Last day of classes
July 26 Monday
Final Examinations
July 27-30 Tuesday-Friday
Final grade entry due by 10:00 a.m.
August 3 Tuesday
   

University of South Alabama - Mobile Alabama 36688-0002 / 1 (251) 460-6101
For questions or comments Contact Us
Last date changed: July 18, 2003 3:39 PM
http://www.southalabama.edu/bulletin/calendar.htm

University of South Alabama