text only
University of South Alabama
Home Index Search Directories Faq
USA Undergraduate/Graduate Bulletin 2007-2008

 

UNIVERSITY CALENDAR
2008 - 2009
     Click here for printable version
FALL SEMESTER 2008    
Registration for Continuing and Readmitted Students April 7 - June 15 Monday - Sunday
Freshman 1 Orientation/Registration June 16 - 17 Monday - Tuesday
Freshman 2 Orientation/Registration June 19 - 20 Thursday - Friday

Open Registration for Continuing & Readmitted Students
for Fall 2008

June 21 - July 6 Saturday - Sunday
Freshman 3 Orientation/Registration July 7 - 8 Monday - Tuesday
Freshman 4 Orientation/Registration July 10 - 11 Thursday - Friday
Freshman 5 Orientation/Registration July 14 - 15 Monday - Tuesday
Transfer 1 Orientation/Registration July 18 Friday
Transfer 2 Orientation/Registration July 22 Tuesday
Transfer 3 Orientation/Registration July 25 Friday
Open Registration for All Eligible Students for Fall 2008 July 26 - August 12 Saturday - Tuesday
Registration for New Fall 2008 Graduate Students July 28 - August 12 Monday - Tuesday
Adult Orientation (Evening Session) July 29 Tuesday
Baldwin County Orientation/Registration July 31 Thursday
15% of all tuition & fees including housing & meals due August 4 Monday
Registration schedule cancelled if 15% payment is not received by August 4th (Students with awarded Financial Aid that exceeds 15% of tuition and fees and students participating in the Tuition Payment Plan will be excluded) August 5 Tuesday
Financial Aid Bookstore charges begin August 11 Monday
International Student Orientation August 11 - 12 Monday - Tuesday
Residence Hall check-in for new students participating in Orientation, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. August 12 Tuesday
Orientation/Advising/Registration for first-time freshmen and transfer students August 13 - 14 Wednesday - Thursday
Residence Hall Check-In for returning students,
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
August 13 - 15 Wednesday - Friday
Open Registration for All Eligible Students August 15 - 17 Friday - Sunday
Residence Hall check-in for returning students and new students who registered in early summer,
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
August 16 Saturday
JagFest August 16 Saturday
Residence Hall Check-In for returning students and new students who registered in early summer, 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. August 17 Sunday
Classes begin August 18 Monday
100% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals (including housing) August 18 Monday

Late Registration and Drop/Add
(ends at 5:59 p.m. on August 20)

August 18 - 20 Monday-Wednesday

Last Day to Add a Course (5:59 p.m.)
Last Day to Change to Audit (5:59 p.m.)

August 20 Wednesday
Financial Aid Bookstore charges end August 20 Wednesday
Balance of tuition and fees including housing & meals due August 22 (if paying on campus) Friday
Balance of tuition & fees including housing & meals due August 24 (if paying on-line) Sunday
Refunding financial aid credit balances to students begins August 25 Monday
50% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals (including housing) August 25 Monday
All registration schedules released if payment deadline not met August 25 Monday
Reinstatement Period August 26 - 29 Tuesday - Friday
No refunds after this date August 31 Sunday
Labor Day Holiday for students, faculty, staff and administration September 1 Monday
Last day for Spring Semester 2009 degree applications September 5 Friday
Priority readmission deadline for Spring Semester 2009 September 19 Friday
Time Tickets Posted for Spring 2009 Registration September 29 Monday
Spring Semester 2009 advising for continuing and readmitted students September 29 - October 10 Monday - Friday
Last day for faculty reports on incomplete grades (undergraduate and graduate) October 10 Friday
Spring Semester 2009 Registration for continuing and
readmitted students

October 13 - January 6

Monday - Tuesday
Last day to drop from a course (4:59 p.m.)
Last day to withdraw from University (4:59 p.m.)
October 24 Friday
Theses/dissertations first submission deadline to Office of the Graduate Dean by 5:00 p.m. October 30 Thursday
Thesis/dissertations due in the Office of the Graduate Dean by 5:00 p.m. November 21 Friday
Thanksgiving Holidays for students (includes weekend classes) November 26 - 30 Wednesday - Sunday
Thanksgiving Holidays begin at noon on Wednesday for faculty, staff and administration November 26 - 28 Wednesday - Friday
Last day of classes December 2 Tuesday
Final Examinations December 4 - 9 Thursday - Tuesday
Commencement December 6 Saturday
Residence Hall check-out deadline for students not enrolling Spring Semester 2:00 p.m. December 10 Wednesday
Final grade web entry due by 10:00 a.m. December 12 Friday
Registration for New Spring 2009 Graduate Students

December 22 -
January 6

Monday - Tuesday
Holidays for staff and administration December 24 - January 1 Wednesday - Thursday
     
SPRING SEMESTER 2009    
15% of all tuition and fees including housing and meals due December 9 Tuesday
Registration schedule cancelled if 15% payment is not received by December 9th (Students with awarded Financial Aid that exceeds 15% of tuition and fees and students participating in the Tuition Payment Plan will be excluded December 10 Wednesday
Faculty, staff and administration return to work January 2 Friday
International Student Orientation January 5 - 6 Monday - Tuesday
Residence Hall check-in 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. January 6 Tuesday
Financial Aid bookstore charges begin January 7 Wednesday
Orientation/Advising/Registration for first-time freshmen and transfer students (A-K) January 7 Wednesday
Orientation/Advising/Registration for first-time freshmen and transfer students (L-Z) January 8 Thursday
Open Registration for Spring 2009 January 9 - 11 Friday - Sunday
Classes begin January 12 Monday
100% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals (including housing) January 12 Monday
Late Registration and Drop/Add
(ends at 5:59 p.m. on January 14)
January 12 - 14 Monday - Wednesday
Last day to add a course (5:59 p.m.)
Last day to change to audit (5:59 p.m.)
January 14 Wednesday
Financial Aid Bookstore charges end January 14 Wednesday
Balance of tuition and fees including housing and meals due January 16 (if paying on campus)
Friday
Balance of tuition and fees including housing and meals due January 18 (if paying on on-line)
Sunday
50% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals (including housing) January 19 Monday
Martin Luther King Holiday for students, faculty, staff, and administration January 19 Monday
Refunding financial aid credit balances to students begins (refunds) January 20 Tuesday
All registration schedules released if payment deadline not met January 20 Tuesday
Reinstatement period

January 21 - 23
January 26

Wednesday - Friday Monday

No refunds after this date January 25 Sunday
Last day for Summer Term 2009 degree applications February 6 Friday
Last day for faculty reports on incomplete grades (undergraduate and graduate) February 23 Monday
Mardi Gras Holiday for students, faculty, staff and administration February 24 Tuesday
Priority readmission deadline for Summer and Fall 2009 terms March 13 Friday
Spring Break for students (includes weekend classes) March 16 - 22 Monday - Sunday
Time Tickets posted for Summer/Fall 2009 Registrations March 23 Monday
Summer/Fall Semester 2009 advising for continuing and readmitted students March 23 - April 3 Monday - Friday

Theses/dissertations first submission to Office of Graduate Dean by 5:00 p.m.

March 26 Thursday
Last day to drop from a course (4:59 p.m.)
Last day to withdraw from University (4:59 p.m.)
March 27 Friday
Summer 2009 Registration for continuing and readmitted students April 13 - May 20 Monday - Wednesday
Fall 2009 Registration for continuing and readmitted students April 13 - June 10 Monday - Wednesday
Thesis/dissertation due in the Office of the Graduate Dean by 5:00 p.m. April 16 Thursday
Last day of classes May 1 Friday
Final Examinations May 4 - 7 Monday - Thursday
Registration for New Summer 2009 Graduate Students May 4 - 20 Monday - Wednesday
Residence Hall check-out deadline for students not enrolling for Summer Term 2:00 p.m. May 8 Friday
Commencement May 9 Saturday
Final grade web entry due by 10:00 a.m. May 11 Monday
     
SUMMER SEMESTER 2009    
Financial Aid Bookstore charges begin May 19 Tuesday
International Student Orientation May 19 - 20 Tuesday - Wednesday
Residence Hall check-in 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. May 20 Wednesday
Orientation/Advising/Registration for first-time freshmen and transfer students May 21 Thursday
Memorial Day Holiday for faculty, staff and administration May 25 Monday
Classes for Full/First Term begin May 26 Tuesday
100% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals for Full/First Terms (including housing) May 26 Tuesday

Late Registration and Drop/Add
(ends at 5:59 p.m. on May 28)

May 26 - 28 Tuesday - Thursday
Last day to add a course (5:59 p.m.)
Last day to change to audit (5:59 p.m.)
May 28 Thursday
Financial Aid bookstore charges end May 28 Thursday
All tuition, fees, housing and meal plan balances are due in full. ($50 Late payment fee assessed May 29th) May 28 Thursday
Last day for Fall Semester 2009 degree applications May 29 Friday
50% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals for First Term May 29 Friday
Refunding financial aid credit balances to students begins (refunds) June 1 Monday
No refunds after this date for First Term classes June 2 Tuesday
50% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals for Full Term (including housing) June 2 Tuesday
All registration schedules released if payment deadline not met June 2 Tuesday
Reinstatement Period

June 4 -5
June 8

Thursday - Friday
Monday

No refunds after this date for Full Term classes June 8 Monday

Last day to drop a First Term class (11:59 p.m.)
Last Day to withdraw from University if taking all First Term classes (11:59 p.m.)

June 9 Tuesday
Open registration for Fall 2009 continuing and readmitted students June 20 - July 5 Saturday - Sunday
Classes end for First Term classes June 22 Monday
Exam day for First Term classes June 22 Monday
Second Term classes begin June 23 Tuesday
Final web grade entry (First Term classes) due by 10:00 a.m. June 25 Thursday
Theses/dissertations first submission deadline to Office of Graduate Dean by 5:00 p.m. June 26 Friday
50% refund period begins on withdrawals for Second Term courses June 26 Friday
Fall Semester 2009 advising for continuing and readmitted students June 29 - July 6 Monday - Monday
No refunds after this date for Second Term courses June 30 Tuesday
Last day to drop from a Full Term course (11:59 p.m.)
Last day to withdraw from University (Full Term) (11:59 p.m.)
June 30 Tuesday
Last day for faculty reports on graduate and undergraduate incomplete grades July 2 Thursday
Fourth of July Holiday for students, faculty, staff and administration July 3 Friday
Last day to drop a Second Term course (4:59 p.m.) July 7 Tuesday
Thesis/dissertation grades due in the Office of Graduate Dean by 5:00 p.m. July 17 Friday
Last day Full Term/Second Term Classes July 20 Monday
Final Examinations for Full Term/Second Term classes July 21 - 24 Tuesday - Friday
Residence Hall check-out deadline for students not enrolling for Fall Semester 2:00 p.m. July 25 Saturday
Open registration for all eligible students Fall 2009 July 25 - August 11 Saturday - Tuesday
Registration for New Fall 2009 Graduate Students July 27 - August 11 Monday - Tuesday
Final web grade entry (Full Term and Second Term classes) due by 10:00 a.m. July 28 Tuesday

University of South Alabama - Mobile Alabama 36688-0002 / 1 (251) 460-6101
For questions or comments Contact Us
Date last changed: May 29, 2009 10:18 AM
http://www.southalabama.edu/bulletin/calendar.htm

University of South Alabama