Faculty and Staff Directory

Staff


Jefferson Headshot

Paula Jefferson | HUMB 240

(251) 460-6146

pjefferson@southalabama.edu

 

Wilson Headshot

Arnedra Wilson | HUMB 240

(251) 460-6146

aswilson@southalabama.edu


 
Faculty


Amare Headshot

Nicole Amare | Professor

Specializes in professional communication and rhetoric and composition, with interests in gender studies and late American literature.

HUMB 252  |  460-7157  |  namare@southalabama.edu


Beason Headshot

Larry Beason | Associate Professor

Specializes in writing pedagogy.

HUMB 280  |  460-7861  |  lbeason@southalabama.edu

Cesarini Headshot

Pat Cesarini | Associate Professor

Specializes in American lit from the colonial period to 1900, with particular emphasis on religion and historicist concerns.

HUMB 250  |  460-7835  |  pcesarini@southalabama.edu


Coleman Headshot

Robert Coleman | Associate Professor

Assistant Dean of Arts & Sciences. Specializes in digital humanities, U. S. literatures, literary aesthetics, and rhetorics.

HUMB 118  |  460-6280  |  rcoleman@southalabama.edu


Cowley Headshot

Chris Cowley | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 251  |  460-7960  |  cmcowley@southalabama.edu


Daley Headshot

Vickey Daley | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 261  |  460-7940  |  vdaley@southalabama.edu


No Photo

Karma deGruy | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 274  |  460-7972  |  karmadegruy@southalabama.edu


Dixon Headshot

Rob Dixon | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 259  |  460-7952  |  rdixon@southalabama.edu


Gaillard Headshot

Frye Gaillard | USA Writer in Residence

Specializes in Southern culture and history.

CB 128  |  460-7559 fgaillard@southalabama.edu


Guzy Headshot

Annmarie Guzy | Associate Professor

Specializes in composition pedagogy, professional communication, honors education, and gender studies.

HUMB 271  |  460-6745  |  aguzy@southalabama.edu


Haines Headshot

Carolyn Haines | Assistant Professor

Fiction Coordinator.

HUMB 252  |  460-6147  |  namare@southalabama.edu  |  carolynhaines.com


Halbrooks Headshot

John Halbrooks | Associate Professor

Specializes in medieval and Renaissance literature.

HUMB 272  |  460-7685  |  jvhalbrooks@southalabama.edu


Harrington Headshot

Ellen Burton Harrington | Associate Professor

Graduate Coordinator. Specializes in British Victorian literature, detective and sensation fiction, and 19th century gender and colonial contexts.

HUMB 260  |  460-7326  |  eharrington@southalabama.edu


Hillyer Headshot

Richard Hillyer | Associate Professor

Assistant to the Chair. Specializes in Renaissance literature and poetry.

HUMB 278  |  460-6539  |  rhillyer@southalabama.edu


Hollingsworth Headshot

Cris Hollingsworth | Associate Professor

Specializes in poetry and poetics, 19th-century British literature, and modernism.

HUMB 275  |  460-7968 chollingsworth@southalabama.edu


Jackson Headshot

Kern Jackson | Assistant Professor

Director of the African American Studies Program. Specializes in African American and Southeastern United States folklore and oral narrative.

HUMB 276  |  460-6363  KEMjacks@southalabama.edu


Knox Headshot

Julian Knox | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 256  |  460-7417  |  jknox@southalabama.edu


Lowe Headshot

Derek Lowe | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 258  |  460-6743  |  dlowe@southalabama.edu


McLaughlin Headshot

Becky McLaughlin | Associate Professor

Generalist with particular interests in psychoanalysis and sexuality.

HUMB 279  |  460-7991  |  bmclaugh@southalabama.edu  |  webpage


Norris Headshot

Christine Norris | Assistant Professor

Director of Freshman Composition Program.

HUMB 281  |  460-8198 cnorris@southalabama.edu


Payne Headshot

Linda Payne | Associate Professor

Specializes in literature of the British Restoration and 18th-century, with special interest in women writers and gender issues.

HUMB 262  |  460-6502  |  lpayne@southalabama.edu


Peterson Headshot

Karen Peterson | Senior Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 263  |  460-6148 kpeterson@southalabama.edu


Raczkowski Headshot

Christopher Raczkowski | Associate Professor

Specializes in post-Civil War American literature with an emphasis on modernism and crime.

HUMB 270  |  460-7550  |  raczkowski@southalabama.edu


St. Clair Headshot

Justin St. Clair | Associate Professor

Specializes in post-1945 American literature and sound culture studies.

HUMB 254  |  460-7973  |  jmstclair@southalabama.edu  |  soundculturestudies.net


Spain Headshot

Linda Spain | Senior Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 248  |  460-7057  |  lspain@southalabama.edu


Trout Headshot

Steven Trout | Professor

Department Chair. Specializes in literary modernism, war literature, and American cultural studies.

HUMB 243  |  460-6439  |  strout@southalabama.edu


Volf Headshot

Stephanie Volf | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 257  |  460-7956  |  stephanievolf@southalabama.edu


Walker Headshot

Sue Walker | Professor

Stokes Distinguished Professor of Creative Writing. Specializes in American/Southern lit, ecology, lit and medicine, and poetics.

HUMB 277  |  460-6149  |  suewalker@southalabama.edu  |  negativecapabilitypress.org