Recent Faculty Publications


Amare Cover

Nicole Amare | Professor

A Unified Theory of Information Design:  Visuals, Text & Ethics. Co-authored by Alan Manning. Baywood, 2013.

HUMB 252  |  460-7157  |  namare@southalabama.edu


Beason Cover

Larry Beason | Associate Professor

"Grammar Interventions in Gaming Forums: Intersections of Academic and Non-Academic Standards." Rhetoric/Composition/Play through Video Games. Ed. Colby, et al. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2013. 175-92.

HUMB 280  |  460-7861  |  lbeason@southalabama.edu


Cesarini Cover

Pat Cesarini | Associate Professor

"'What Has Become of Your Praying to God?': Daniel Gookin's Troubled History of King Philip's War." Early American Literature 44:3, 2009.

HUMB 250  |  460-7835  |  pcesarini@southalabama.edu


Cowley Cover

Chris Cowley | Instructor

"Economics." The Zizek Dictionary. Ed. Rex Butler. Durham: Acumen Publishing, 2014.

HUMB 251  |  460-7960  |  cmcowley@southalabama.edu

Guzy Headshot

Annmarie Guzy | Associate Professor

"Why Honors Students Still Need First-Year Composition." Honors in Practice 7, 2011.

HUMB 271  |  460-6745  |  aguzy@southalabama.edu


Haines Cover

Carolyn Haines | Assistant Professor

The Darkling. As R. B. Chesterton. Pegasus, 2013.

HUMB 252  |  460-6147  |  carolynhaines56@gmail.com  |  carolynhaines.com


Halbrooks Cover

John Halbrooks | Associate Professor

"P.D. James Reads Beowulf." Anglo-Saxon Culture and the Modern Imagination, edited by David Clark and Nicholson Perkins. D.S. Brewer, 2010.

HUMB 272  |  460-7685  |  jvhalbrooks@southalabama.edu


Harrington Cover

Ellen Burton Harrington | Associate Professor

"Suicide, Feminism, and 'the miserable dependence of girls' in 'The Idiots,' The Secret Agent, and Chance." The Conradian: The Journal of the Joseph Conrad Society (UK) 37.2 (2012): 50-66.

HUMB 260  |  460-7326  |  eharrington@southalabama.edu


Hillyer Cover

Richard Hillyer | Associate Professor

Divided between Carelessness and Care: A Cultural History. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2013.

HUMB 278  |  460-6539  |  rhillyer@southalabama.edu


Hollingsworth Cover

Cris Hollingsworth | Associate Professor

Alice beyond Wonderland: Essays for the Twenty-First Century. Edited collection. University of Iowa Press, 2009.

HUMB 275  |  460-7968 chollingsworth@southalabama.edu


Lowe Cover

Derek Lowe | Instructor

"Wordsworth's 'Unenlightened Swain': Keats and Greek Myth in I stood tip-toe upon a little hill." Keats-Shelley Journal LVII, 2008.

HUMB 258  |  460-6743  |  dlowe@southalabama.edu


McLaughlin Cover

Becky McLaughlin | Associate Professor

"Big Sex: The Story of the Silver Nail and Other Objects of (Mass) Construction."  Writing From Below 1.2 (2013): 19-30.

HUMB 279  |  460-7991  |  bmclaugh@southalabama.edu  |  webpage


Raczkowski Cover

Christopher Raczkowski | Associate Professor

"Metonymic Hats and Metaphoric Tumbleweeds: Noir Literary Aesthetics in Miller's Crossing and The Big Lebowski." This Year's Work in Lebowski Studies, edited by Comentale and Jaffe. Indiana, 2009.

HUMB 270  |  460-7550  |  raczkowski@southalabama.edu


St. Clair Cover

Justin St. Clair | Associate Professor

Sound and Aural Media in Postmodern Literature: Novel Listening. Routledge, 2013.

HUMB 254  |  460-7973  |  jmstclair@southalabama.edu  |  soundculturestudies.net


Trout Cover

Steven Trout | Professor

World War I in American Fiction: An Anthology of Short Stories. Eds. Scott D. Emmert and Steven Trout. Kent State University Press, 2014.

HUMB 243  |  460-6439  |  strout@southalabama.edu


Walker Cover

Sue Walker | Professor

In the Realm of Rivers: Alabama's Mobile-Tensaw Delta. NewSouth Books, 2004.

HUMB 277  |  460-6149  |  suewalker@southalabama.edu  |  negativecapabilitypress.org