Recent Faculty Publications


Amare Cover

Nicole Amare | Professor

"The Mormon Entombed in Mark Twain's Heart: Ina Coolbrith and Samuel Clemens Revisited." Mark Twain Journal, vol. 55, no. 1-2, 2017, pp. 159-192.

HUMB 252  |  460-7157  |  namare@southalabama.edu


Beason Cover

Larry Beason | Professor

"Grammar Interventions in Gaming Forums: Intersections of Academic and Non-Academic Standards." Rhetoric/Composition/Play through Video Games, edited by Colby, et al, Palgrave Macmillan, 2013, pp. 175-92.

HUMB 274  |  460-7861  |  lbeason@southalabama.edu


Cesarini Cover

Pat Cesarini | Associate Professor

"Andersonville and the Literature of Violence," CEA Critic, vol. 79, no. 3, November 2017.

HUMB 250  |  460-7835  |  pcesarini@southalabama.edu


Cowley Cover

Chris Cowley | Instructor

"Economics." The Zizek Dictionary, edited by Rex Butler, Acumen Publishing, 2014.

HUMB 251  |  460-7960  |  cmcowley@southalabama.edu

Guzy Book Cover

Annmarie Guzy | Associate Professor

"Research on Honors Composition, 2004-2015." Journal of the National Collegiate Honors Council, vol. 17, no. 1, 2016, pp. 9-21.

HUMB 271  |  460-6745  |  aguzy@southalabama.edu


Halbrooks Cover

John Halbrooks | Associate Professor

"P.D. James Reads Beowulf." Anglo-Saxon Culture and the Modern Imagination, edited by David Clark and Nicholson Perkins, D.S. Brewer, 2010.

HUMB 269  |  460-7685  |  jvhalbrooks@southalabama.edu


Harrington Cover

Ellen Burton Harrington | Associate Professor

Conrad’s Sensational Heroines: Gender and Representation in the Late Fiction of Joseph Conrad, Palgrave Macmillan, 2017.

HUMB 260  |  460-7326  |  eharrington@southalabama.edu


Hillyer Cover

Richard Hillyer | Professor

Divided between Carelessness and Care: A Cultural History, Palgrave Macmillan, 2013.

HUMB 278  |  460-6539  |  rhillyer@southalabama.edu


Hollingsworth Cover

Cris Hollingsworth | Associate Professor

Alice beyond Wonderland: Essays for the Twenty-First Century, edited by Chris Hollingsworth, University of Iowa Press, 2009.

HUMB 275  |  460-7968 chollingsworth@southalabama.edu


Lowe Cover

Derek Lowe | Instructor

"Wordsworth's 'Unenlightened Swain': Keats and Greek Myth in I stood tip-toe upon a little hill." Keats-Shelley Journal, vol. 57, 2008.

HUMB 258  |  460-6743  |  dlowe@southalabama.edu


McLaughlin Cover

Becky McLaughlin | Associate Professor

"Desperately Seeking Wilco." Rock Music Studies, vol. 5, no. 1, 2018, pp. 29-45.

HUMB 279  |  460-7991  |  bmclaugh@southalabama.edu


Pence Cover

Charlotte Pence | Assistant Professor

Many Small Fires: A Collection of Poems, Black Lawrence Press, 2015.

HUMB 277  |  460-6149  |  cpence@southalabama.edu


Raczkowski Cover

Christopher Raczkowski | Associate Professor

A History of American Crime Fiction, edited by Christopher Raczkowski, Cambridge University Press, 2017.

HUMB 270  |  460-7550  |  raczkowski@southalabama.edu


St. Clair Cover

Justin St. Clair | Associate Professor

Sound and Aural Media in Postmodern Literature: Novel Listening, Routledge, 2013.

HUMB 262  |  460-7973  |  jmstclair@southalabama.edu  |  soundculturestudies.net


Shaw Cover

Patrick Shaw | Associate Professor

"Gertrude Stein on the Borders of Identity." Rhetoric Across Borders, edited by Anne Teresa Demo, Parlor Press, 2015, pp. 95-106.

HUMB 280  |  460-7972  |  pjshaw@southalabama.edu


Trout Cover

Steven Trout | Professor

Points of Honor: Short Stories of the Great War by a US Combat Marine by Thomas Boyd, edited by Steven Trout, University of Alabama Press, 2018.

HUMB 243  |  460-6439  |  strout@southalabama.edu