Sociology Graduate Faculty

Contact Us
Bryan

Dr. Valerie L.  Bryan,  
Associate Professor of Social Work

Research:  Child Welfare, Juvenile Justice, and Poverty

Curriculum Vitae 

(251) 414-8041

vbryan@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB 4

Nicole Carr

Dr. Nicole T. Carr
Associate Professor of Sociology and Director, Academic Success and Retention

Research:  Gender, Crime and Delinquency, Social Inequality

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6475
ntcarr@southalabama.edu

Office: ASC1324

Phil Carr

Dr. Philip J. Carr
Professor of Anthropology and Director, Archaeology Museum

Research: Archaeological Method and Theory, Southeastern Native Americans, Cultural Resource Management, Museums

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6907
pcarr@southalabama.edu

Office: ARCM107

Freed

Dr. Christopher R. Freed
Associate Professor of Sociology and Graduate Coordinator of Sociology

Research:  Sociology of Medicine, Sociology and History of Drugs, Sociology of Food

 Brief Biography 

(251) 460-6348
cfreed@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB14 

Dept. Chair Dr. Roma S. Hanks

Professor of Sociology; Chair, Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work; Director, USA Programs in Gerontology and Center for Generational Studies

Research:  Intergenerational Relationships; Lifecourse Transitions; Social Support; Health Disparities

 Brief Biography 

(251) 460-6020
rhanks@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB36

Ken Hudson

Dr. C. Kenneth Hudson
Associate Professor of Sociology and Social Work

Research:  Poverty, Social Stratification, Labor Markets

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6342
ckhudson@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB36

Dr. G. David Johnson

Dr. G. David Johnson
Professor of Sociology, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Curriculum Vitae

 

 

(251) 460-6261
djohnson@southalabama.edu

Office: AD300

Marshall

Dr. Douglas A. Marshall
Associate Professor of Sociology and Associate Director, USA Honors Program

Research: Sociology of Religion, Sociology of Rationality

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7077
dougmarshall@southalabama.edu

Office:  HUMB6

Hosik Min

Dr. Hosik Min
Assistant Professor of Sociology and Gerontology

Research: Health Disparities, Population Aging, and Mortality and Morbidity

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7677
hmin@southalabama.edu

HUMB9

Moberg

Dr. Mark A. Moberg
Professor of Anthropology

Research: Political Economy, Neoliberalism, Fair Trade, Agriculture, Caribbean and Central America

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6912
mmoberg@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB12

Dr. Leonard A. Mundy

Dr. Leonard A. Mundy
Assistant Professor of Sociology

Research: Gender & Sexuality 

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7079
mundy@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB8

Picou

Dr. J. Steven Picou
Professor of Sociology and Director, Coastal Resource and Resiliency Center

Research:  Environmental Sociology; Disasters and Sociological Practice

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7118
spicou@southalabama.edu

Office: TRP III 2500

Waselkov

Dr. Gregory A. Waselkov
Professor of Anthropology and Director, Center for Archaeological Studies

Research: French Colonial Archaeology; Southeastern Indian Ethnohistory; Historic Creek Archaeology

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6911
gwaselkov@southalabama.edu

Office: ARCM103