Secondary banner

 

The University of South Alabama Safe Zone program is one aspect of Student Affairs and the Office of Multicultural Affairs' ongoing effort to make the USA campus a safer place for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) students. The purpose is to reduce homophobia and heterosexism on campus in order to make the campus a safer and freer environment for all members of the USA community regardless of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone program seeks to accomplish this purpose through creating a network of LGBTQ allies who are empathic and informed about LGBTQ interests.

Goals of Safe Zone program:

Increase acceptance and affirmation towards LGBTQ students, staff, and faculty on USA's campus.

Create a positive environment, free of discrimination, prejudice, and harassment for LGBTQ students so that they can succeed on a personal and academic level during their years at USA.

Goals of Safe Zone training:

Help individuals to develop awareness, knowledge, and skills to be an ally through offering support, safety, and confidentiality to LGBTQ students, staff, and faculty.

Aid students to develop the knowledge and skills to speak out for LGBTQ interests in order to help understand the importance of fairness, affirmation, and mutual respect of LTBGQ individuals.

Help individuals develop the knowledge and skills to address discrimination, prejudice, and harassment towards LGBTQ individuals as it occurs on USA's campus.

 After engaging in a Safe Zone training, individuals receive a Safe Zone sticker to display near their office, letting the campus community know that person, and their professional space, is a Safe Zone.

This program was created to develop a clear and connected network of allies and safe zones across campus. Thus, the list below is not an exhaustive list of staff and faculty allies on campus. We recognize the work of other allies through the years to make USA a safer place for LGBTQ students, staff, and faculty, and encourage those allies to dialogue with the Advisory Board to strengthen the Safe Zone program

 

Safe Zone Training Participants

Peggy Delmas, Assistant Professor
pdelmas@southalabama.edu; 380-2889
College of Education and Professional Studies; UCOM Room 3360

Paula Duke, Adjunct Instructor
pkduke@southalabama.edu

Joe Farmer, Assistant Professor
jfarmer@southalabama.edu; 445-9466
Nursing, HAHN Room 3060

Robert Gray, Mgr. Faculty Development Services
rmgray@southalabama.edu; 380-2616
Innovation in Learning Center; UCOM Room 3412

Robert B. Hanks, Director, Counseling & Testing Services
rbhanks@southalabama.edu
Counseling & Testing Services; 460-7980

Nancy Howell, Director, Academic Advising
nhowell@southalabama.edu; 461-1705
Arts & Sciences Advising Center; AHS Room 349

Monica Davidson, Housing & Dining
mjeanfreau@southalabama.edu; 460-7655
Delta Commons 124

Karen Jordan, Faculty Instructor
kjordan@southalabama.edu; 414-8028
Earth Sciences Department; ILB Room 207

Jennifer Langhinrichsen-Rohling, Professor
jlr@southalabama.edu; 460-7169
Psychological Clinic, UCOM 2000

Steve McClellan, Staff
smcclellan@southalabama.edu; 445-8415
Cancer Research Institute, MCI 3085

M. Margaret O'Brien, M.D., Asst. Prof. Pathology Dept
mobrien@southalabama.edu; 460-7174
College of Medicine, MSB 1005; Mastin 202

Heather Sprinkle, Coordinator Jaguar Productions
hsprinkle@southalabama.edu; 460-7144
Academic Support Center, Room 1369

Melissa Smith, School of Computing
mesmith@southalabama.edu, 460-6779
Shelby 1103

James Bridgeforth, Associate Director Housing
jbridgeforth@southalabama.edu; 460-6185
Delta Commons, Room 100

Carl Cunningham, Dir. Multicultural Student Affairs
ccunningham@southalabama.edu; 460-6895
Office of Multicultural Affairs
Student Center, 1st Floor

Darleen Dempster, Associate Director, Counseling and Testing Services
ddempster@southalabama.edu; 460-7051
Counseling and Testing Services, Room 329

Robbie Durr, Area Coordinator, Housing & Dining
rdurr@southalabama.edu; 460-7870
Housing, Epsilon I / Area Office

Petre Freeman, Coordinator, Office of Multicultural Student Affairs
pfreeman@southalabama.edu
Office of Multicultural Student Affairs
Student Center, 1st Floor

William Kevin Green, M.D., Associate Professor
wgreen@southalabama.edu
Internal Medicine; 471-7895

Heather Hoven, Library Technical Assistant
hdhoven@southalabama.edu; 460-7028
Biomedical Library

Amber Jones, Area Coordinator, Housing & Dining
aljones@southalabama.edu; 460-7921
Stokes Hall

Mike Mitchell, Vice President of Student Affairs and Dean of Students
mmitchell@southalabama.edu; 460-6172
Student Center, Student Affairs Suite, Room 245

Sarah Schrenk, Coordinator Fitness Programs
sarahrentz@southalabama.edu; 460-7268
Student Recreation Center, Room 324

Rhonda B. Smith, Assistant Registrar
rhondasmith@southalabama.edu; 460-7180
College of Medicine; MSB 1005

Kelly R. Taylor, Academic Advisor
ktaylor@southalabama.edu; 460-7271
Arts & Sciences Advising Dept, AHS 346

Krista Harrell, Associate Dean of Students & Title IX Coordinator
kristaharrell@southalabama.edu; 460-6453
Student Center, Student Life Suite, Room 100

Andrea Wright, Staff
awright@southalabama.edu; 461-1424
Biomedical Library; Room 213

Greg Deckard, Staff
gdeckard@southalabama.edu;380-2889
Education; UCOMM 3660, HPE 1100

Gina Deckard, Staff
ginadeckard@southalabama.edu; 445-9280
Pre-Health Advising; HAHN 4004

Diana Sturm, Faculty
dsturm@southalabama.edu; 219-4574
Earth Science Department

Valerie Bryan, Faculty
vbryan@southalabama.edu; 414-8041
Sociology, Anthropology & Social Work; Humanities 13

Jillian Murphy, Staff
Jkm1102@southalabama.edu; 460-7149
USA Psychological Clinic

Joyce Guest, Faculty/Staff
jguest@southalabama.edu; 445-9037
Graduate Medical Education

Madeleine Whitmire, Community Director
Housing & Dining
mwhitmire@southalabama.edu

Alexandra Hughes, Community Director
Housing & Dining
aehughes@southalabama.edu

Sarah Sheldon, Community Director
Housing & Dining
ssheldon@southalabama.edu

Rochelle W. Johnson, Coordinator
Upward Bound
University of South Alabama
5828 Old Shell Road

Allison R. Steele, MS, OTR/L
Assistant Professor, Academic Fieldwork Coordinator
Department of Occupational Therapy

Amanda Gibson

Natalie Weston
MH 2100

Angelo Pisano
2300 Meisler Hall

Landry Underwood
Coordinator, Greek Life
Student Center, Student Life Suite, Room 100

Brandon Brown, Community Director
Housing & Dining
brbrown@southalabama.edu

Karen Smith,
English Dept., 240 HUMB.

Jason Ezell
Instructional Assessment Librarian
Liaison to First Year Experience, History, Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work
Marx Library, Rm. #247

Kari Cox
Graduate Student in Professional Studies
3800 UCOM, 75 North University Blvd.
Mobile, AL 36688

Leslie Weaver Martin
Counselor and Sexual Assault Coordinator
Counseling and Testing Services,
The University of South Alabama

Shanta Jenkins
Counselor
Counseling and testing Services,
The University of South Alabama

James M. Contratto
Associate Director for Student Activities - University Programs
University of South Alabama
Student Center, Room 122

Safe Zone Program Advisory Committee

Dr. Darleen Dempster, Associate Director, Counseling & Testing Services

Dr. James Bridgeforth, Associate Director, Housing & Dining

Dr. Krista Harrell, Associate Dean of Students & Title IX Coordinator

Dr. Franklin Trimm, Pediatrics Dept., College of Medicine

Dr. Kevin Green, Internal Medicine Dept., College of Medicine

Dr. Martha Jane Brazy, Associate Professor, History Dept. 

Past/Current Safe Zone Training Facilitators

Dr. Amber Pope, Program Coordinator & Asst. Professor, Dept. of Professional Studies

Dr. Darleen Dempster, Associate Director, Counseling & Testing Services

Dr. Krista Harrell, Associate Dean of Students & Title IX Coordinator

Robbie Durr, M.Sc., Area Coordinator, Housing & Dining

Matt Kridel, USA Counseling Psychology Ph.D. Student