USA Algebra Seminar 

  Fall 2004


The USA Algebra Seminar will meet on Fridays from  11 AM to 12 noon in  ILB 430.  Please let us know if you would like to give a talk or if you are interested in some specific topic. Everyone is welcome to attend.

Joerg Feldvoss, Cornelius Pillen

Click on the title of a talk for the abstract (if available).
Date
Speaker
Topic
Friday Sept 24
Cornelius Pillen
Cohomology of finite groups and algebraic groups I
Reference: On comparing the cohomology of algebraic groups, finite Chevalley groups and Frobenius kernels
Friday Oct 1
Cornelius Pillen
Cohomology of finite groups and algebraic groups II
Reference: Extensions for finite Chevalley groups II
Friday  Oct 8
Joerg Feldvoss
Lie bialgebras and the classical Yang-Baxter equation
Friday Oct 15
Joerg Feldvoss
Existence of triangular Lie bialgebra structures I
References: Existence of triangular Lie bialgebra structures
Friday Oct 22
Joerg Feldvoss
Existence of triangular Lie bialgebra structures II
Reference: Existence of triangular Lie bialgebra structures II
Friday Oct 29
Cornelius Pillen
Cohomology of Lie Algebras and Frobenius kernels

Friday Nov 5

No Seminar

Thursday Nov 11
Peter Sin, University of Florida
The doubly transitive permutation representations of Sp(2n,2) (Colloquium)
Abstract

Friday Nov 12
Peter Sin, University of Florida
Double covers and self-extensions of simple modules.
Abstract

Thursday Nov 18
Randy Holmes, Auburn University
Quantum computation: A simple example to illustrate the power of quantum algorithms. (Colloquium)Abstract

Friday Nov 19
Chaowen Zhang, Xiamen University, P. R. C, and Auburn University
Representations of the restricted Lie algebras of Cartan type Abstract

Friday Nov 26
Thanksgiving
No Seminar

Thursday Dec 2
Lee Klingler, Florida Atlantic University
Finitely generated ideals in rings of integer-valued polynomials. (Colloquium)Abstract

Friday Dec 3
Lee Klingler, Florida Atlantic University
Indecomposable modules of large rank over commutative local rings. Abstract