USA Algebra Seminar 

  Spring 2009


The USA Algebra Seminar will meet on Fridays from 9:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. in ILB 465. Please let us know if you would like to give a talk or if you are interested in some specific topic. Everyone is welcome to attend.

Jörg Feldvoss, Cornelius Pillen, and Yorck Sommerhäuser

Click on the title of a talk for the abstract (if available).

Date
Speaker
Topic
Friday, January 16 No Algebra Seminar
Friday, January 23 No Algebra Seminar
Friday, January 30 Lars Kadison
(University of Pennsylvania)
Subgroups of Depth Three
Friday, February 6 Yorck Sommerhäuser Matrices over Finite Fields I: Review of Representation Theory
Friday, February 13 Yorck Sommerhäuser Matrices over Finite Fields II: Induced Representations
Friday, February 20 Yorck Sommerhäuser Matrices over Finite Fields III: The Schur Algebra
Friday, February 27 Yorck Sommerhäuser Matrices over Finite Fields IV: Double Cosets
Thursday, March 5 Gabriele Nebe
(RWTH Aachen, Germany)
Self-Dual Codes and Invariant Theory
(Colloquium in ILB 370 at 3:30 p.m.)
Friday, March 6 Gabriele Nebe
(RWTH Aachen, Germany)
Automorphisms of Doubly-Even Self-Dual Binary Codes
Friday, March 13 Yorck Sommerhäuser Matrices over Finite Fields V: The Structure of the General Linear Group
Friday, March 20 No Algebra Seminar Southern Regional Algebra Conference 2009 at USA
Friday, March 27 Yorck Sommerhäuser Matrices over Finite Fields VI: The Bruhat Decomposition
Friday, April 3 Yorck Sommerhäuser Matrices over Finite Fields VII: Determination of the Conjugacy Classes
Friday, April 10 Yorck Sommerhäuser Matrices over Finite Fields VIII: Subgroups of the Borel Subgroup
Friday, April 17 Yorck Sommerhäuser Matrices over Finite Fields IX: Representations of the Borel Subgroup
Friday, April 24 Yorck Sommerhäuser Matrices over Finite Fields X: The Jacquet Module
Friday, May 1 No Algebra Seminar Algebra and Combinatorics Seminar at Texas A&M University


Previous semesters


This page is maintained by Jörg Feldvoss