USA Algebra Seminar 

  Spring 2011


The USA Algebra Seminar will meet on Fridays from 11:15 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. in ILB 430. Please let us know if you would like to give a talk or if you are interested in some specific topic. Everyone is welcome to attend.

Jörg Feldvoss, Cornelius Pillen, and Yorck Sommerhäuser

Click on the title of a talk for the abstract (if available).

Date
Speaker
Topic
Friday, January 21 Jörg Feldvoss Composition Algebras and Alternative Division Algebras I
Friday, January 28 Jörg Feldvoss Composition Algebras and Alternative Division Algebras II
Friday, February 4 Jörg Feldvoss Composition Algebras and Alternative Division Algebras III
Friday, February 11 Jörg Feldvoss Composition Algebras and Alternative Division Algebras IV
Friday, February 18 Jörg Feldvoss Composition Algebras and Alternative Division Algebras V
Friday, February 25 No Algebra Seminar Pearson Calculus Forum in Charleston, SC
Friday, March 4 Jörg Feldvoss Composition Algebras and Alternative Division Algebras VI
Friday, March 11 Jörg Feldvoss Composition Algebras and Alternative Division Algebras VII
Friday, March 18 No Algebra Seminar Spring Break
Thursday, March 24 Heather Russell
(Louisiana State University)
Springer Varieties and Knot Theory
(Colloquium in ILB 370 at 3:30 p.m.)
Friday, March 25 Aaron Lauda
(Columbia University)
Categorifying Quantum Groups
Thursday, March 31 David Hemmer
(University at Buffalo, SUNY)
Frobenius Twists for Symmetric Group Modules?
(Colloquium in ILB 370 at 3:30 p.m.)
Friday, April 1 David Hemmer
(University at Buffalo, SUNY)
Generic Cohomology for Specht and Young Modules of the Symmetric Group
Friday, April 8 Yorck Sommerhäuser Clifford Algebras I: The Universal Property
Friday, April 15 Yorck Sommerhäuser Clifford Algebras II: Orthogonal Decompositions
Friday, April 22 No Algebra Seminar Colorado Math Olympiad in Colorado Springs
Friday, April 29 No Algebra Seminar
Friday, May 6 No Algebra Seminar Lectures at Universitā degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy


Previous semesters


This page is maintained by Jörg Feldvoss