WELCOME

This is the homepage for MA 125: Calculus I -- Honors Section.

  • First-day handout available here


    Preparing for Quizzes

    Material for quizzes will usually come from assignments. You are responsible for all assigned material regardless of whether we have gone over it in class.

    Solutions to past quizzes and exams will be here (Click to download.)

  • Solutions to Quiz 1 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 2 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 3 available here
  • Solutions to Test 1 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 4 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 5 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 6 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 7 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 8 available here
  • Solutions to Test 2 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 9 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 10 available here

    Handouts (Click to download.)

  • Model epsilon-delta proof here.

    Assignments

    Monday, August 20: Section 2.1, 1 -- 21 odd-numbered problems.

    Wednesday, August 22: Section 2.2, 1 -- 55 odd, 77, 79.

    Friday, August 24: Section 2.3, 1 -- 49 odd, 55, 59. Problems on Monday's quiz will come from sections 2.1 and 2.2. However, there will be a bonus question from Section 2.3, so do the homework!

    Monday, August 27: Finish Friday's assignment. Also: Assume f(x) is nonnegative on an open interval containing c but not necessarily at c. Prove that if the limit of f(x) exists at c, then the limit is nonnegative. [HINT: Argue by contradiction. Assume to the contrary that the limit is negative. Derive a contradiction.]

    Friday, August 31: Section 2.4, 1 -- 51 odd.

    Wednesday, September 5: Section 2.5, 1 -- 23 odd, 29 --35 odd, 39 -- 47 odd, 61, 63.

    Friday, September 7: Section 2.5, 1 -- 47 odd (do any problem remaining), 69, 70.

    Monday, September 10: Section 2.5, 53, 55, 57; Section 2.6, 1 -- 35 odd; Also write a careful proof of the fact that the limit of 1/x as x goes to minus infinity is 0.

    Wednesday, September 12, Section 2.6, 37 -- 67 odd, 87 -- 103 odd.

    Friday, September 14, Section 3.1, 1, 5 -- 17 odd, 27, 29, 31; Section 3.2, 13 -- 25 odd.

    Monday, September 17, Section 3.3, 1 -- 63 odd, 72.

    Monday, September 24, Section 3.4, 1 -- 15 odd, 21, 22, 23.

    Wednesday, September 26, Section 3.5, 1 -- 37 odd, 43.

    Friday, September 28, Section 3.6, 1 -- 85 odd, 91, 93, 95, 97.

    Monday, September 31, Section 3.7, 1 -- 39 odd, 41, 43, 45.

    Wednesday, October 3, Section 3.8, 1 -- 53 odd, 97, 99.

    Friday, October 5, Section 3.9, 1 -- 11 odd (review); 13 -- 41 odd; 43, 45.

    Wednesday, October 10, Section 3.10, 1 -- 19 odd.

    Friday, October 12, Section 3.10, 21 -- 39 odd.

    Monday, October 15, Section 3.11, 1 -- 43 odd, 51 -- 57 odd.

    Wednesday, October 17, Section 4.1, 1 -- 75 odd, 79, 81, 83.

    Friday, October 19: Complete the last assignment.

    Monday, October 22: Section 4.2, 1 -- 49 odd.

    Wednesday, October 24, Section 4.3, 15 -- 43 odd, 57 -- 63 odd, 71.

    Friday, October 26, Section 4.4, 9 -- 57 odd, 59, 61, 81, 83, 85 -- 101 odd.

    Monday, October 29, Section 4.5, 1 -- 65 odd.

    Wednesday, October 31, Section 4.6, 1 -- 15 odd.

    Wednesday, November 7, Section 4.8, 25 -- 69 odd, 91 -- 113 odd.

    Friday, November 9, Section 4.6, 23, 25, 28 -- 31, 33, 34.

    Monday, November 12, Section 5.1, 1 -- 13 odd.

    Wednesday, November 14, Section 5.2, 33, 35, 37. (The norm of a partition is the largest width of any subinterval.)

    Friday, November 16, Section 5.2, 1 -- 31 odd.

    Monday, November 19, Section 5.2, 39 -- 46.

    Monday, November 26, Section 5.3, 1 -- 69 odd, 86, 87.

    Wednesday, November 28, Section 5.4,1 -- 69 odd.

    Friday, November 30, Section 5.4, 71, 73, 75. Prove the formula for the sum of the first n cubes using Mathematical Induction.


    Back to my home page.