WELCOME

This is the homepage for MA 320: Foundations of Mathematics.

  • First-day handout available here


    Preparing for Quizzes

    Material for quizzes will usually come from assignments. You are responsible for all assigned material regardless of whether we have gone over it in class.

    Solutions to past quizzes and exams will be here (Click to download.)

  • Solutions to Assignment 1 available here
  • Solutions to Assignment 2 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 1 available here
  • Solutions to Assignment 3 available here
  • Solutions to Assignment 4 available here
  • Solutions to Exam 1 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 2 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 3 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 4 available here
  • Solutions to Exam 1 available here
  • Solutions to Quiz 5 available here

    Assignments

    Monday, August 20: Section 1.1, 1 -- 9.

    Wednesday, August 22: Section 1.2, 13 -- 26.

    Friday, August 24: Section 1.3, 29 -- 38, 40. Hand in the following three problems on Monday. (1) Section 1.2, problem 18 b). We did this in class. Here I want you to redo the problem, replacing OR with EOR (exclusive OR). Are the two statements still logically equivalent? Justify your answer; (2) Section 1.2, problem 26; (3) Challenge Question: Express AND in terms of OR and NOT. In other words, write P ∨ Q using only the symbols P, Q, ∧ and ¬ [HINTS: Remember that you can use any symbol more than once. Justify your answer with a truth table.] Write clearly and carefully.

    Monday, August 27: Section 1.4, 42 -- 50, 51.

    Friday, August 31: Section 1.5, 54 -- 66, 67, 71. Hand in the following two problems next Wednesday. (1) Section 1.3, problem 40. Think and write carefully; (2) Section 1.4, problem 49. First show this using truth tables. Now show it another way, without truth tables, using the logical equivalence of P ⇒ Q and Q ∨ ¬ P.

    Wednesday, September 5: No new assignment. Complete any previous assignments in preparation for Friday's quiz.

    Friday, September 7: Section 2.1, 1 -- 12, 13, 14. Hand in the following two problems next Wednesday. (1) problem 67 or 71 on page 22; (2) problem 13 or 14 on page 29.

    Monday, September 10: Section 2.2, 17 -- 24. Also, problem 26 (model your proof on the one that I gave in class).

    Wednesday, September 12: Section 2.3, 32 -- 43. Also 44 -- 53. Problem 53 is an excellent problem!

    Friday, September 14: Section 2.4, 54 -- 63, 64, 65, 66, 68, 69. Hand in the following two problems next Wednesday. Remember to write careful explanations. Use complete sentences, not phrases. (1) problem 52 or 53 on page 39; (2) problem 65 on page 42.

    Monday, September 17: Section 2.5, 71 -- 84.

    Monday, September 24, Section 4.1, 1 -- 9.

    Wednesday, September 26, Section 4.2, 18 -- 27 (two-day assignment).

    Friday, September 31, Complete previous day's assignment.

    Monday, October 1, Section 4.3, 36 -- 47.

    Wednesday, October 3, Section 4.3, Problem 54. Use the hint that I gave in class. Hand in the following two problems on Friday. Remember to write careful explanations. Use complete sentences, not phrases. (1) problem 51 on page 92; (2) prove that the common log of 20 (that is, logarithm base 10 of 20) is irrational or else prove that the cube root of 4 is irrational. Your choice!

    Friday, October 5, Section 4.5, 86 -- 91.

    Wednesday, October 10, Section 5.1, 1 -- 11.

    Friday, October 12, Section 5.2, 17 -- 28 (two-day assignment).

    Monday, October 15, complete Friday's assignment.

    Wednesday, October 17, Section 5.4, 51, 52.

    Friday, October 19, Section 5.4, 53 -- 59.

    Monday, October 22, Click here for mathematical induction problems given in class.

    Wednesday, October 24, Section 5.5. 73 -- 76.

    Friday, October 26, Section 5.5, 66 -- 70.

    Monday, October 29, Section 6.1, 1 -- 14.

    Wednesday, October 31, Section 6.2, 15 -- 29.

    Wednesday, November 7, Hand in problems 30 and 33 on page 145 next Monday.

    Monday, November 12, Section 6.3, 39 -- 51.

    Wednesday, November 14, Finish Monday's assignment. The quiz on Friday will cover relations.

    Friday, November 16, Section 6.4, 59 -- 63.

    Monday, November 19, Section 6.4, 64 -- 74; Section 6.5, 79 -- 91.

    The last written assignment (see November 7) may be revised and resubmitted on Monday. Find concise but convincing ways to make your arguments.

    Monday, November 26, Section 7.1, 1 -- 8; Section 7.2, 17 -- 24.

    Wednesday, November 28, Section 7.3, 31 -- 40.

    Friday, November 30, Section 7.4, 51 -- 59.

    Back to my home page.