WELCOME

This is the homepage for MA 525: Graph Theory.

  • First-day handout available here


    A Guide to Assignments

    Assigned problems will be due each week. Don't be discouraged if you have trouble with a problem. First, make sure that you understand what is being asked. Do you understand all of the terms in the wording of the problem? Working with a simple example or two can help tremendously. When these things fail to help, come talk with me.

  • Solutions to Assignment 3 available here

    Assignments

    Wednesday, August 21: page 7, 1 -- 17; Also: (1) show that the automorphism group of the "tripod" graph (one valence-3 vertex with three edges leading out) is the dihedral group of order 6; (2) show that a graph is connected iff given any distinct vertices u, v there exists a path from u to v.

    Wednesday, August 28: pages 15,16, problems 1 -- 17. Remember that we do not meet next Monday.

    Wednesday, September 4: pages 23 -- 24, problems 1 -- 17.

    Wednesday, September 11: pages 32--33, problems 1--17.

    Monday, September 16: Turn in problems 2, 7, 8 on page 23 and problem 11 on page 11 on Wednesday.

    Wednesday, September 18: pages 41 -- 42, problems 1 -- 19.

    Monday, September 23: Turn in problems 7, 8 and 9 on page 41 next class.

    Monday, September 30: Turn in problems 6 -- 10 on page 55 by Friday.

    Wednesday, October 16: Turn in problems 3, 10 and 15 on Monday. Also turn in an argument for the first sentence of the proof of Theorem 2.2.2.

    Wednesday, October 23: Turn in problems 4, 5, 6 and 11 on page 86 next Wednesday.

    Future assignments will be given in class. Material for class will be drawn from several sources, and you will receive copies of my notes for reference.