University of South Alabama, Office of Public Relations


Contact: Jen Zoghby, 460-6360
Release Date: September 16, 2003

USA Announces Abraham Mitchell Scholars

Laura Ann Ladner, Abe Mitchell, Brian Ladner
Benjamin Smith, Helena Cowan, Abe Mitchell, Laura Ann Ladner, Nathaniel Riordan, and Sara Dykes

The University of South Alabama has announced the continuation of the Abraham Mitchell Scholars Program, the University’s largest single privately funded scholarship program.

Twenty-one USA students – five new scholarship recipients and 16 whose scholarships are being continued - have been selected to receive Abraham Mitchell Scholarships. The total value of the scholarships is $164,000, and it will be applied toward tuition and fees, books, and room and board at USA.

The Abraham Mitchell Scholars were chosen on the basis of their superior academic records and all are majors in USA’s Mitchell College of Business. The five incoming freshmen, who are all from Mobile County, have an average GPA score of 3.98 and an ACT score of 30.

The scholarship program is named after its benefactor, Mobile businessman and philanthropist Abraham Mitchell. Together with his brother, Mayer, a longtime member of USA’s Board of Trustees, the Mitchells have given more than $8.1 million to USA’s Mitchell College of Business, in addition to other gifts to the University.

“It is very satisfying that we are developing a future core of business leaders for Mobile and the surrounding area,” Mitchell said. “Mobile has always developed a lot of talented high school students and many of them often go away to seek education. We’re committed to keeping them close to home at USA.”

The dean of the Mitchell College of Business, Dr. Carl Moore, said the Abraham Mitchell Scholars Program promises to foster the success of Alabama’s future business leaders. “It allows us to become more competitive on a regional and national level, and raises our expectations for the future.”

One of the hallmarks of the program is that each scholar is assigned a faculty mentor who will direct the student through the research and scholarly experience, which will culminate in an honors research thesis with the goal of producing a peer-reviewed publication or creative work.

“The Abraham Mitchell Scholars Program represents the very best in a public-private partnership,” University President Gordon Moulton said. “Abe Mitchell’s dedication to the betterment of our community, and his support of the University of South Alabama, is unmatched and is an inspiration.”

The five new Abraham Mitchell Scholars for the 2003-2004 academic year are:

* Helena Cowan of Mobile, a graduate of UMS-Wright Preparatory School and daughter of Steve Cowan and Bee Jackson

* Sara Dykes of Butler, a graduate of Choctaw County High School and daughter of Cynthia Dykes

* Laura Ann Ladner of Mobile, a graduate of Baker High School and daughter of Stephen and Sarita Ladner

* Nathaniel Riordan of Mobile, a graduate of Cottage Hill Christian Academy and son of Tim Riordan and Line Bartlett

* Benjamin Smith of Mobile, a graduate of The Arnold School of Alabama, and son of Gerry and Glenda Smith

The continuing Abraham Mitchell Scholars for the 2003-04 academic year are: Pagelyn Beaty; Leann Bosarge; Keith Davidson; Sateria Dorsey; Audrey Douglas; Jonathan Hewett; Emily Hines; Rachel Horton; Christopher Jett; Brian Ladner; Emily Lyle; Barbara Miller; Stefanie Owen; Natalie Price; Joshua Rubey; and, Amber Young.

Students who maintain the academic requirements can remain in the program for up to four years, the time required to complete an undergraduate degree. For information on the Abraham Mitchell Scholars Program in the USA Mitchell College of Business, please call the USA Office of Enrollment Services at (251) 460-6494.

Back     Print

USA Logo