University of South Alabama, Office of Public Relations


October 19, 2004
Contact: Jennifer Ekman at (251) 460-6360

USA Introduces Abraham Mitchell Scholars

Mitchell Scholars
Mitchell Scholars Joshua Howard, Wade McGilberry, Zabrina Hale and Chloe Hale with Abraham Mitchell, the Mobile businessman and philanthropist who has donated $1.1 million toward the Abraham Mitchell Scholars program since 1999. (Not pictured: Forrest Koopersmith.)

The University of South Alabama introduced the latest winners of the Abraham Mitchell Scholars Program, the University’s largest and most prestigious privately funded scholarship.

Twenty-one USA students – five new scholarship recipients and 16 whose scholarships are being continued – have been selected to receive Abraham Mitchell Scholarships. The total value of the scholarships is $160,000, and it will be applied toward tuition and fees, books, and room and board at USA. Since 1999, 36 Abraham Mitchell Scholars have received some $1.1 million in scholarship money.

The Abraham Mitchell Scholars are chosen on the basis of their superior academic records and all are majors in USA’s Mitchell College of Business. The five incoming freshmen have an average ACT score of 31 and an average high school GPA of 3.84.

The scholarship program is named after its benefactor, Mobile businessman and philanthropist Abraham Mitchell. Together with his brother, Mayer, a longtime member of USA’s Board of Trustees, the Mitchells have given more than $8.1 million to USA’s Mitchell College of Business, in addition to other gifts to the University.

“It is very satisfying that we are developing a future core of business leaders for Mobile and the surrounding area,” Mitchell said. “Mobile has always developed a lot of talented high school students and many of them often go away to seek education. We’re committed to keeping them close to home at USA.”

Mitchell College of Business Dean Carl Moore said the Abraham Mitchell Scholars Program promises to foster the success of Alabama’s future business leaders. “It allows us to become more competitive on a regional and national level, and raises our expectations for the future.”

One of the hallmarks of the program is that each scholar is assigned a faculty mentor who will direct the student through the research and scholarly experience, which will culminate in an honors research thesis with the goal of producing a peer-reviewed publication or creative work.

“The Abraham Mitchell Scholars Program represents the very best in a public-private partnership,” University President Gordon Moulton said. “Abe Mitchell’s dedication to the betterment of our community and his support of the University of South Alabama are unmatched and are an inspiration.”

The new Abraham Mitchell Scholars for the 2004-2005 academic year are:

*Chloe Hale and Zabrina Hale, twin sisters of Pass Christian, Miss., graduates of Pass Christian High School and daughters of Krystal Hale.

*Joshua Howard, of Semmes, a graduate of Mary G. Montgomery High School and son of Doree Pizarro and Steve Howard.

*Forrest Koopersmith, of Daphne, a graduate of Daphne High School and son of Sandra Luckie.

*Wade McGilberry, of Thomasville, a graduate of Thomasville High School and son of Dennis and Karen McGilberry.

The continuing Abraham Mitchell Scholars for the 2004-05 academic year are Helena Cowan, Keith Davidson, Sateria Dorsey, Audrey Douglas, Sara Dykes, Jonathan Hewett, Emily Hines, Rachel Horton, Christopher Jett, Laura Ann Ladner, Emily Lyle, Stefanie Owen, Natalie Price, Nathaniel Riordan, Benjamin Smith, and Amber Young.

Students who maintain the academic requirements can remain in the program for up to four years, the time required to complete an undergraduate degree. For information on the Abraham Mitchell Scholars Program in the USA Mitchell College of Business, please call the USA Office of Enrollment Services at (251) 460-6494.

Back     Print

USA Logo