University of South Alabama, Office of Public Relations
May 14, 2013
Contact: Meredith Portman, USA Public Relations, (251)460-6633

USA Announces Annual Greek Awards Winners

Greek Award Winners

Photo caption: Jennifer Rensink of Chi Omega and William Pearson of Tau Kappa Epsilon show off their Dean’s Cups with presenter Dr. Michael Mitchell, assistant vice president for student affairs and dean of students. The Dean’s Cup is the highest honor given to Greek-letter organizations.


To view or download a high-resolution version of this photo, click here.

The University of South Alabama recently recognized students for their outstanding work as members of the USA Greek Councils during the 2013 Greek Awards Banquet. These students are members of the College Panhellenic Council (CPC), the Interfraternity Council (IFC), and the National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC).

The Dean’s Cup, which is the highest honor given to Greek-letter organizations, was given to women’s fraternity Chi Omega and men’s fraternity, Tau Kappa Epsilon. Amy Hebert, a member of Alpha Omicron Pi of CPC and Whitney Washington of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc. of NPHC were each named Greek Woman of the Year. Chosen as Greek Man of the Year were Erwin Jamarkus Coleman,a member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. of NPHC and Zakary Gosa-Lewis of Pi Kappa Alpha of IFC.

Greek Scholarship and Academic Awards were given to Phi Mu, Sigma Chi, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Inc. and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.

Ann Huang from Chi Omega and Bradley Davis from Pi Kappa Phi were recognized with Outstanding New Member awards. The Outstanding Neophyte of the Year awards were given to Tiquera Whatley and Jonathon Davis Jr.

Outstanding President Awards were given to NPHC organization members Felicia Smith of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc. and Antonio Birch, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc. Additional awards were given by outgoing CPC, IFC and NPHC presidents. Lenai Augustine presented her president’s award to Cindy Metz. Kierra Station gave her award to Petre Freeman, and Zakara Gosa-Lewis also received an award.

The Panhellenic Spirit Award was presented to Alpha Gamma Delta; the Public Service Award was given to NHPC representative Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., IFC’s Tau Kappa Epsilon and CPC representative Chi Omega. The Campus Involvement award was given to Alpha Omicron Pi of CPC, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. of NPHC and Tau Kappa Episilon of IFC.

The Emily Ulmer Feinstein Scholarship was given to Robin Johns, Alpha Omicron Pi and Jenn Rensink, Chi Omega of CPC, Andrew Augustine, Pi Kappa Pi of IFC and Kaylon Turner, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc of NPHC.

The Most Improved Chapter of the Year was Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc. The NPHC Program of the Year was Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. Intramural awards for IFC and CPC were presented to Sigma Chi, Tau Kappa Epsilon and Alpha Omicron Pi.

The Office of Greek Life at USA oversees 19 sororities and fraternities and the three governing councils: National Pan-Hellenic Council, College Panhellenic Council, and the Interfraternity Council. Fall Formal Recruitment for College Panhellenic occurs the week before classes begin, and the Interfraternity Council Groups recruit the third week of fall classes. The National Pan-Hellenic Council fraternities and sororities will hold interest meetings in the fall and spring with intake decided on later in the year. Contact Brigette Soderlind, coordinator for the USA Office of Greek Life, at (251)460-7003 for more information.



USA Logo