University of South Alabama, Office of Public Relations
September 13, 2013
Contact: Bob Lowry, USA Public Relations, (251) 460-6211

USA Trustees Name Presidential Finalists;
Public Invited to Candidate Forums

The University of South Alabama community will soon have the opportunity to meet the candidates being considered to serve as USAís next president.

USAís Board of Trustees today announced the finalists for the position who have emerged from the recent search process involving a special board-appointed search committee of faculty, staff, students, alumni and supporters of the University. More than 130 nominees and applicants from across the nation were identified during the search. The finalists are:
  • Dr. Sheri Noren Everts, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Illinois State University, photo and vita

  • Dr. Jerome A. Gilbert, Provost and Executive Vice President, Mississippi State University, photo and vita

  • Dr. Arthur J. Ross III, Dean, School of Medicine, West Virginia University, photo and vita
The candidates will come to campus for two-day visits, where they will meet with leaders of University constituent groups, as well as participate in open public forums. Faculty, staff, students, alumni, supporters, and the public are invited to the forums.

Dates for the forums are (all Thursdays): Sept. 19 (Gilbert), Sept. 26 (Everts), and Oct. 3 (Ross). All will be held at 4 p.m. in the Mitchell Center.

ďThe Board of Trustees is gratified that the search committee representing the entire University family Ė faculty, staff, students, alumni, and the community Ė has identified a slate of candidates with stellar credentials, and we are optimistic that we will be able to select a capable and qualified leader to continue the Universityís positive momentum,Ē said Dr. Steve Furr, chairman of the USA Board of Trustees.

Information about the search process and candidates is available from the USA Presidential Search page, and the USA home page,

The trustees plan to make a decision by late October, with the new president joining USA in early 2014.

USAís new president will succeed Gordon Moulton, who retired July 1 after 15 years as president. Dr. John W. Smith has served as acting president.

Here are brief bios on each finalist.

Dr. Sheri Noren Everts

Dr. Sheri Noren Everts is the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at Illinois State University.

As chief academic officer at Illinois State University, Dr. Everts is responsible for the administration, coordination and development of all academic activities, academic support activities, recruitment and enrollment of students.

Dr. Everts received her bachelorís degree in English and secondary education, masterís degree in literacy education and English and Ph.D. in administration, curriculum and instruction from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Dr. Jerome A. Gilbert

Dr. Jerome A. Gilbert is the Provost and Executive Vice President at Mississippi State University.

As provost, Dr. Gilbert is the second-ranking administrative officer at Mississippi State and serves as chief academic officer. As executive vice president, Dr. Gilbert also assists the president with the overall management of the university and serves as institutional liaison in the presidentís absence.

Dr. Gilbert received his bachelorís degree in biological engineering from Mississippi State University and a Ph.D. in biomedical engineering from Duke University.

Dr. Arthur J. Ross III

Dr. Arthur J. Ross III is Dean of the School of Medicine at West Virginia University.

As dean, Dr. Ross is responsible for three campuses in separate areas of the state, offering clinical care and educational programs in medicine, physical and occupational therapy, medical technology, physical therapy, exercise physiology, continuing medical education and others.

Dr. Ross received his bachelorís degree from Trinity College, a Medical Degree from Case Western Reserve University, a masterís degree in administrative medicine from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and a masterís degree in business administration from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.



USA Logo