USA LOGO

WOMEN IN SCIENCE
AT THE UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA

Mentoring

Meetings Expanding Your Horizons EYH 2002 Photo Gallery WiS Newsletters Resources Mentoring

 

The women in science offer mentoring services to women at USA who are undergraduate students, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and faculty.

 

What are the goals?

Stimulate conversation regarding common issues for women in science and to foster networking and mentoring between women faculty and women trainees in science.

 

What are mentors?

  • Role models
  • Advocates
  • Listeners
  • Advisors
  • Trouble shooters
  • Guides
  • Counselors
  • Teachers
  • Friends
  • and more...

What are mentees?

  • Future leaders
  • Future scientists
  • Future mentors
  • Future academicians

How can I interact with a mentor and/or others in the program?

  • Small group discussions
  • Lunches
  • Coffee and discussion
  • Lab or workplace visits
  • Phone
  • E-mail
  • Conferences
  • Workshops

What do mentors and mentees talk about?

  • How do I choose a major, graduate program, or career?
  • How do I make contact with other researchers in my field?
  • How should my dissertation committee members be selected?
  • What should my faculty advisor or post-doctoral supervisor expect of me?
  • What should I expect from my faculty advisor or post-doctoral supervisor?
  • How do you negotiate a contract as a new faculty member?
  • How can I tell if I am making reasonable progress in research?
  • What are the best courses to take to prepare me for my next career step?
  • What salary can I expect as a student assistant, a graduate student or fellow, or even as a beginning faculty member?

How can I contact a mentor in my field?

Field Name Contact
Biology Anne Boettcher aboettcher@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
Biomedical sciences Cindy Stanfield cthursto@usamail.usouthal.edu
Chemistry / Science in Motion Christine Nassar cnassar@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
Clinical Laboratory Sciences Vicki Barrett arrett@usamail.usouthal.edu
Earth Science Murlene Clark mclark@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
Math/Statistics Madhury Mulekar mmulekar@usamail.usouthal.edu
Mechanical Engineering Carroll Dougherty doughert@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
Meteorology Sytske Kimball skimball@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
Pathology Judy King jking@usamail.usouthal.edu
Pharmacology Danna Zimmer dzimmer@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
Physiology Mary Townsley mtownsley@usamail.usouthal.edu

If your area of interest does not have a mentor mentioned above, please contact Dr. Cindy Stanfield in the Department of Biomedical Sciences and she should be able to arrange contact for you.

 

USA Home Page

WIS Home URL:http://www.southalabama.edu/wis/index.html
 For comments on this page please contact
Dr. Danna Zimmer
Website maintained by Siraj Patel