Departmental featured image

Academic Calendar 2021-22

 

 

FALL SEMESTER 2021 Date Day

Dates related to student finance and the Payment Plan:
https://www.southalabama.edu/departments/financialaffairs/studentaccounting/payment-plan-fall.html

Dates for orientation for domestic students:
https://www.southalabama.edu/orientation

Dates for orientation for international students:
https://www.southalabama.edu/departments/international/orientation.html

   
Registration for continuing students begins Apr 5 Monday
Registration for new undergraduate students Apr 20 Tuesday
Financial Aid/Scholarship Bookstore charges begin Jul 26 Monday
100% of fall balance* due Aug 11 Wednesday
All registration schedules released if 100% of balance* is not paid or participation in the payment plan Aug 12 Thursday
Residence halls open Aug 14 Saturday
Convocation Aug 16 Monday
Classes begin Aug 17 Tuesday
100% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals Aug 17 Tuesday
Late registration begins Aug 17 Tuesday
Late registration 100% of balance* due  Aug 23 Monday
Late registration ends at 10:00 pm Aug 23 Monday
Last day to add Aug 23 Monday
Financial Aid/Scholarship Bookstore charges end Aug 23 Monday
All late registration schedules released if 100% balance is not paid or participation in the payment plan. Aug 24 Tuesday
100% refund period on dropped courses and complete withdrawals ends at 10:00 pm Aug 24 Tuesday
Last day to drop without a WD Aug 24 Tuesday
50% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals Aug 25 Wednesday
Refunding financial aid credit balances* to students begins Aug 27 Friday
50% refund period ends.  No course withdrawal refunds after this date Aug 30 Monday
Census date Aug 31 Tuesday
Labor Day Holiday for students, faculty, staff and administration Sep 6 Monday
Incomplete grades deadline for summer term Oct 1 Friday
Last day for faculty reports on graduate and undergraduate incomplete grades for summer term Oct 1 Friday
Last day for spring graduation applications Oct 1 Friday
Mid-term grading opens Oct 4 Monday
Fall Break for students (Includes weekend classes) Oct 7–10 Thursday–Sunday
Time tickets posted for spring Oct 11 Monday
Mid-term grades web entry due by 10:00 am Oct 11 Monday
Mid-term grades posted Oct 13 Wednesday
First submission deadline: Theses/dissertations due in the Office of Graduate Dean by 5:00 pm Oct 25 Monday
Spring registration for continuing students Oct 25 Monday
Last day to drop or withdraw by 11:59 pm Oct 29 Friday
Spring registration for new undergraduate students begins Nov 9 Tuesday
Final deadline:  Theses/dissertations due in the Office of Graduate Dean by 5:00 pm Nov 15 Monday
Thanksgiving Holiday for students begins at 5:00 pm (Includes weekend classes) Nov 23–28 Tuesday–Sunday
Thanksgiving Holiday begins at noon on Wednesday for faculty, staff, and administration Nov 24–26 Wednesday–Friday
Spring registration for new graduate students Nov 29 Monday
Last day of classes Dec 3 Friday
Final grading opens Dec 6 Monday
Grades due for doctoral candidates Dec 6 Monday
Final examinations Dec 6–9 Monday–Thursday
Financial Aid/Scholarship Bookstore charges begin Dec 6 Monday
Residence halls close Dec 10 Friday
Commencement Weekend Dec 9-12 Thursday–Sunday
Final grades web entry due by 10:00 am Dec 13 Monday
Final grades posted Dec 14 Tuesday
Holidays begin for staff and administration Dec 20–Jan 1 Monday–Friday
Annual Campus Wide Power Outage for Electrical Maintenance (6:00 am to 7:00 pm) Dec 19 Sunday
Back-up Date for Annual Campus Wide Power Outage for Electrical Maintenance (6:00 am to 7:00 pm) Dec 26 Sunday
*Balance includes all current term charges for tuition, fees, housing, and dining.    
     

SPRING SEMESTER 2022
 

Dates related to student finance and the Payment Plan:
https://www.southalabama.edu/departments/financialaffairs/studentaccounting/payment-plan-spring.html

Dates for orientation for domestic students:
https://www.southalabama.edu/orientation

Dates for orientation for international students:
https://www.southalabama.edu/departments/international/orientation.html

   
Spring registration for continuing students begins Oct 25 Monday
Spring registration for new undergraduate students begins Nov 9 Tuesday
Spring registration for new graduate students begins Nov 29 Monday
Financial Aid/Scholarship Bookstore charges begin Dec 6 Monday
Faculty, staff and administration return to work Jan 3 Monday
100% of spring balance* due Jan 5 Wednesday
All registration schedules released if 100% of balance* is not paid or participation in the payment plan Jan 6 Thursday
Residence halls open Jan 7 Friday
Classes begin Jan 10 Monday
Late registration begins Jan 10 Monday
100% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals Jan 10 Monday
Late registration ends at 10:00 pm Jan 14 Friday
Late registration 100% of balance* due Jan 14 Friday
Last day to add Jan 14 Friday
Last day to drop without a WD Jan 17 Monday
100% refund period on dropped courses and complete withdrawals ends at 10:00 pm Jan 17 Monday
Financial Aid/Scholarship Bookstore charges end Jan 17 Monday
Martin Luther King Holiday for faculty, staff and administration Jan 17 Monday
All late registration schedules released if 100% of balance* is not paid or participation in the payment plan Jan 18 Tuesday
50% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals Jan 18 Tuesday
Refunding financial aid credit balances to students begins Jan 21 Friday
50% refund period ends. No course withdrawal refunds after this date Jan 23 Sunday
Census Date Jan 25 Tuesday
Mid-term grading opens Feb 21 Monday
Mid-term grades web entry due by 10:00 am Feb 28 Monday
Spring break for students (includes weekend classes) Feb 28–Mar 6 Monday–Sunday
Mardi Gras Holiday for students, faculty, staff, and administration Mar 1 Tuesday
Mid-term grades posted Mar 2 Wednesday
Incomplete grades deadline Mar 4 Friday
Last day for summer graduation applications Mar 4 Friday
Time tickets for summer and fall Mar 7 Monday
First submission deadline: Theses/dissertations due in the Office of Graduate Dean by 5:00 pm Mar 28 Monday
Last day to drop or withdraw by 11:59 pm Apr 1 Friday
Summer registration for continuing students (includes May term) Apr 4 Monday
Fall registration for continuing students Apr 4 Monday
Final submission deadline: Theses/dissertations due in the Office of Graduate Dean by 5:00 pm Apr 18 Monday
Summer registration for new graduate students (includes May term) Apr 25 Monday
Last day of classes Apr 29 Friday
Final grading opens May 2 Monday
Grades due for doctoral candidates May 2 Monday
Final examinations May 2–5 Monday–Thursday
Residence halls close May 6 Friday
Commencement Weekend May 5-8 Thursday–Sunday
Final grades web entry due by 10:00 am May 9 Monday
Final grades posted May 11 Wednesday 
*Balance includes all current term charges for tuition, fees, housing, and dining.    
     

MAY TERM 2022
 

Dates related to student finance and the Payment Plan:
https://www.southalabama.edu/departments/financialaffairs/studentaccounting/payment-plan-summer.html

Dates for orientation for domestic students:
https://www.southalabama.edu/orientation

Dates for orientation for international students:
https://www.southalabama.edu/departments/international/orientation.html

   
Last day for summer graduation applications Mar 4 Friday
Time tickets for summer and fall Mar 7 Monday
Summer registration for continuing students begins (includes May term) Apr 4 Monday
Summer registration for new graduate students (includes May term) Apr 25 Monday
100% of balance* due May 4 Wednesday
May term classes released if 100% balance* not paid or participation in the payment plan May 5 Thursday
Late registration and drop/add for May term ends 5:00 pm (in person) May 6 Friday
Classes begin May 9 Monday
Refunds on dropped courses ends at 11:59 pm (May term) May 9 Monday
Last Day for May term classes May 27 Friday
Memorial Day Holiday for students, faculty, staff and administration May 30 Monday
Final grades web entry due by 10:00 am (May term) May 31 Tuesday
Final grades posted (May term) Jun 1 Wednesday
*Balance includes all current term charges for tuition, fees, housing, and dining.    
     

FIRST, FULL, AND SECOND SUMMER TERMS 2022
 

Dates related to student finance and the Payment Plan:
https://www.southalabama.edu/departments/financialaffairs/studentaccounting/payment-plan-summer.html

Dates for orientation for domestic students:
https://www.southalabama.edu/orientation

Dates for orientation for international students:
https://www.southalabama.edu/departments/international/orientation.html

   
Last day for summer graduation applications Mar 4 Friday
Time tickets for summer and fall Mar 7 Monday
Summer registration begins for continuing students (includes May term) Apr 4 Monday
Financial Aid/Scholarship Bookstore charges begin May 20 Friday
100% of summer balance* due (all terms) May 25 Wednesday
Registration for summer released if 100% of balance* not received (registration down from 12 noon on May 26 through 10 am on May 27) May 26 Thursday
Memorial Day Holiday for faculty, staff and administration May 30 Monday
Registration ends for full and first term May 31 Tuesday
Residence halls open May 31 Tuesday
Classes for full/first term begin Jun 1 Wednesday
Late registration begins (all summer terms) Jun 1 Wednesday
100% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals for full, first, and second term courses Jun 1 Wednesday
100% refund period ends for first term courses Jun 3 Friday
50% refund period begins (first term) Jun 4 Saturday
Financial Aid/Scholarship Bookstore charges end Jun 6 Monday
Late Registration ends at 10:00 pm (all summer terms) Jun 7 Tuesday
Late registration 100% of balance* payment deadline Jun 7 Tuesday
Late registrations for summer released if 100% balance* not paid (all summer terms) or participation in the payment plan Jun 8 Wednesday
Last day to drop a first term class (11:59 pm) Jun 8 Wednesday
50% refund period ends. No course withdrawal refunds after this date (first term) Jun 8 Wednesday
Last day to withdraw from University if taking all first term classes (11:59 pm) Jun 8 Wednesday
50% refund period begins (full term) Jun 9 Thursday
Refunding financial aid credit balances to students begins (all summer terms) Jun 13 Monday
50% refund period ends. No course withdrawal refunds after this date (full term) Jun 14 Tuesday
Census Date Jun 15 Wednesday
Second term registration opens Jun 24 Friday
First submission deadline: Theses/dissertations due in the Office of Graduate Dean by 5:00 pm Jun 27 Monday
Classes end for first term classes Jun 28 Tuesday
Exam day for first term classes Jun 28 Tuesday
Second term classes begin Jun 29 Wednesday
100% refund period begins on course withdrawal (second term) Jun 29 Wednesday
Late registration for second term Jun 29 Wednesday
Final grades web entry due by 10:00 am (first term classes) Jun 29 Wednesday
Final grades for first term posted Jul 1 Friday
Last day to drop a full term course (11:59 pm) Jul 1 Friday
Last day to withdraw from University (full term) (11:59 pm) Jul 1 Friday
Last day for faculty reports on graduate and undergraduate incomplete grades (for spring term) Jul 1 Friday
Last day for fall graduation applications Jul 1 Friday
50% refund period begins on withdrawals for second term courses Jul 2 Saturday
Fourth of July Holiday (Observed) for students, faculty, staff, and administration Jul 4 Monday
50% refund period on course withdrawals ends at 11:59 pm (second term) Jul 7 Thursday
Last day to drop a second term class Jul 8 Friday
Final submission deadline: Theses/dissertations due in the Office of Graduate Dean by 5:00 pm Jul 18 Monday
Last day for full term/second term classes Jul 26 Tuesday
Final Examinations for full term/second term classes Jul 27–29 Wednesday–Friday
Final grading opens Jul 30 Saturday
Residence halls close Jul 30 Saturday
Final grades web entry due by 10:00 am (full term and second term classes) Aug 1 Monday
Final grades posted for second and full term classes Aug 3 Wednesday
*Balance includes all current term charges for tuition, fees, housing, and dining.