Faculty List

Dr. Ronald Baker

Dr. Ronald Baker

Assistant Professor,University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Ecology of Marine and Estuarine Fish

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Email: rbaker@disl.org

Faculty website

 

 

Dr.Carmichael

Dr. Ruth H. Carmichael

Associate Professor,University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Marine Ecosystem Response

Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext.7555

Email: rcarmichael@disl.org

Faculty website

 

 

Dr.Dorgan

Dr. Kelly Dorgan

Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Benthic ecology; biomechanics of burrowing; biological-physical interactions; functional morphology and physiology of invertebrates.

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Emailkdorgan@disl.org

Faculty website

 

Dr.Dzwonkowski

Dr. Brian Dzwonkowski

Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: coastal circulation and across-shelf exchange processes, estuarine circulation and exchange processes, physical-biological coupling in the marine environment, and ocean observing systems. 

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Emailbdzwonkowski@disl.org

Faculty website

 

 

 

Dr. Jeffrey W. Krause

Dr. Jeffrey W. Krause

Associate Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Phytoplankton ecology, physiology and marine biogeochemistry

Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext. 7577

Email: jkrause@disl.org

Faculty website

 

Dr. John Lehrter

Dr. John Lehrter

Associate Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Nutrient biogeochemistry and eutrophication impacts in coastal ecosystems.

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Email: jlehrter@disl.org

Faculty website

 

Dr.Powers

Dr. Sean Powers

Professor and Chair of Marine Sciences, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Fisheries ecology; conservation and restoration of coastal shellfish and finfish 

Phone: (251) 460-7136

Email: spowers@disl.org  

Faculty website

 

Dr.Robertson

Dr. Allison Robertson

Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: The role, fate, and biological effects of natural toxins and venoms, and other anthropogenic toxicants on organism, population, and ecosystem health in tropical and sub-tropical regions.

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Emailarobertson@disl.org

Faculty website

 

Dr. Delbert “Lee” Smee

Dr. Delbert “Lee” Smee

Associate Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Empirically Testing Ecology Theory

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Email: lsmee@disl.org

Faculty website

 

Dr.Shipp

Dr. Robert Shipp

Professor Emeritus, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Phylogeny of fishes; impact of artificial structures on fish population dynamics

Phone: (251) 460-7136

Email: rshipp@southalabama.edu

Faculty website

 

 Dr. Amy Sprinkle

Dr. Amy Sprinkle

Instructor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: MAS 134 Ocean Sciences, MAS 332 Chemical & Biological Oceanography, and DISL summer courses. USA Liaison to the Dauphin Island Sea Lab Summer Program Committee and USA Marine Sciences Undergraduate Coordinator. Contact Dr. Sprinkle if interested in the Marine Science Minor and/or Marine Science classes.

Phone: (251) 460-7136

Email: sprinkle@southalabama.edu

 

 

Dr.Valentine

Dr. John Valentine

Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Experimental Marine Ecology, Plant-animal interactions, Habitat Linkages, Human-Dominated Ecosystems.

Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext. 2261

Email: jvalentine@disl.org 

Faculty website

 

Dr. Xiangli Wang

Dr. Xiangli Wang

Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Marine Geochemistry, Redox Reactions, Metal Isotopes

Faculty website