## **Excellence in Graduate Mentoring Award**

### Description

The award is given in recognition of outstanding faculty performance in the mentoring of graduate student theses and/or dissertations and the chairing of student thesis and/or dissertation committees.

# Eligibility

# Candidates for this award must be nominated by their department chair.

Any full-time faculty member of the College of Arts and Sciences with an outstanding record of mentoring graduate students in the thesis or dissertation phase of their program and chairing their thesis and/or dissertation committees in the College is eligible to be nominated. An individual may receive the award once every three years.

### **Supporting Materials**

Candidates must upload supporting materials to the InfoReady portal for this award. It is recommended that the department chair assist the nominee in preparation of these materials.

### Cash Prizes

The Excellence in Graduate Mentoring award is accompanied by a cash prize of \$1500.00, subject to the availability of funds, at the sole discretion of the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. All cash awards will be subject to regular payroll withholding taxes and will be made through the normal payroll process.

### **Eligibility Caution**

An individual may receive <u>only one College award</u> (teaching, dean's lecture, scholarship, graduate mentoring, service, advising, or directed studies) per academic year. If an individual is nominated for more than one award, s/he should decide which award s/he wants to be considered for and submit materials in support of that nomination only.

### **Selection of Recipients**

The selection of award recipients will be made by the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, based upon recommendations from the Faculty Awards Committee.

### Nominations

Nominations for this award <u>must be made by the faculty member's department chair</u>. Selfnominations are not accepted for this award.

# **Submission Information**

Chairs should submit nominations via email to: **Dr. Armin Straub** (straub@southalabama.edu), Chair, Faculty Awards Committee. Nominations are due by 5:00 p.m. on Feb.16, 2024.