Coronavirus Graphis

Updates on Coronavirus

Coronavirus Updates

International Travel

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, international travel for business purposes is currently restricted. Prior to any international departure, students, scholars and employees are required to register their travel. Students and scholars, as well as university employees traveling personally, are required to submit this International Travel Registration Form to the Global USA office. Employees are also required to provide this information to their supervisor. During general operations, all university-related international/foreign travel by employees must be approved by the appropriate department head, dean/administrator, Vice-President/Senior Vice President and President ( 

Students, scholars and employees who choose to leave the U.S. and travel abroad will be required to quarantine for 14 days upon return. Students, scholars and employees may opt for a mandatory, modified quarantine period with two negative COVID-19 PCR test results. If this option is selected, the individual will test 1-3 days prior to their return flight or as soon as possible upon return, test again 3-5 days after travel, AND remain in quarantine for 7 days after travel. COVID-19 PCR testing costs will be the individual’s personal responsibility and may be conducted at Student Health or another testing site. Student Health or Employee Health and Wellness will provide medical clearance for return to on-campus activities and classes. If a positive test result is received on any COVID-19 test, the individual must isolate, report the positive case to, and follow all procedures indicated by Contact Tracing and Student Health/Employee Health until they receive medical clearance for in-person classes, work activities, and events.

Depending on a student’s arrival date to the U.S., remote learning will be observed for coursework.

For personal international travel, employees must consult with their supervisor prior to travel to determine whether remote work will be allowed during the post-travel quarantine period. If remote work is not approved by the supervisor, the employee will be required to use additional vacation/PTO days, as applicable, for the post-travel quarantine period, and supervisory approval of the additional vacation/PTO days must be obtained prior to travel. For business-related international travel, the employee will consult with the supervisor to determine details of remote work to be performed during the post-travel quarantine period.

Certain exceptions may be allowed in the future as then-current public health guidelines allow; for example, upon vaccination for COVID-19. Exceptions may also be allowed for those who have tested positive for COVID-19 within 90 days of travel. Requests for exceptions should be submitted to GlobalUSA for initial review. If the exception meets initial review by GlobalUSA, it will be submitted to the Reopening Committee for final approval.

Travel Within the United States

Personal and business travel outside the greater Mobile area is strongly discouraged through the duration of the pandemic. Using the resources below, please review the location to which you are traveling in order to make an informed decision about your travel plans.

Travel information and updates are best obtained from the following sources: