Who is exempted from the Families First Coronavirus Response Act?

The Emergency Family and Medical Leave Expansion Act (EFMLEA) and the Emergency Paid Sick Leave Act (EPSLA), which went into effect on April 1, 2020 as part of the Families First Coronavirus Response Act, contain a broad exemption for employees classified as “health care providers,” which includes anyone employed at any doctor’s office, hospital, health care center, clinic, post-secondary educational institution offering health care instruction, medical school, any facility that performs laboratory or medical testing, pharmacy, or any similar health care entity. 

Based upon that exemption, the following employees are designated as “health care providers” and are therefore exempt from receiving benefits under the new laws:

All USA Health Faculty, Physicians, staff and administrators, and all clinical Faculty of the College of Medicine who are employed by:

  • USA Health Hospitals
  • USA Health Physicians Group
  • USA Health Health Care Authority
  • USA Health Mitchell Cancer Institute

If you do not fall into one of these categories of employees, you may be eligible for benefits under these laws. For additional information and instructions on how to apply please visit: https://www.southalabama.edu/departments/financialaffairs/hr/fmla.html