Faculty Senate Plenary Meeting Apr 16, 2025- MCOB- 3:00-5:00 p.m. MINUTES

Present (In-house or on Zoom): Abeynanda, Gayan; Bates, Robin; Black, Michael; Bokhari, Amber; Brock, Casey; Brower, Greg; Bunch, Jaclyn; Capasso, Tom; Carmichael, Bishop; Cole, Tracy; Coronado, Yun; Davidson, Clay (Cordell); Davis, Sara; Davis, Tara; des Neiges Léonard, Marie; Dzwonkowski, Brian; Ellzie, Joel; Fesenmeier, Michael; Fleck, Lorie; Fox, Dalten; Frye, Doris; Getch, Yvette; Godang, Romulus; Hauff, Caitlyn; Huang, Jingshuan; Huang, Ying (Johnson); Hudson, Geoffrey; Liebertz, Scott; Marass, Ashley; Marri, Preethi; Mbaka, Maryann; McDonald, Tyler; Merritt, Brandy; Miller, Jennifer; Minton, Bonnie; Ní Chadhain, Sinéad; Ochoa, Juan; O'Connor, Tracy; Pancione, Kirsten; Parsell, Karen; Pavelescu, Andrei; Pramanik, Paramahansa; Rabideau, Brooks; Robertson, Justin; Salvitti Fermin, Mariarita; Santanu Dasgupta; Selwyn; Candice; Shaw, Christy; Shea, Allyson; Stenson, Alexandra; Streeter, Donna; Swofford, Jim; ter Horst, Eleanor; Thomas, Rebecca; Turnipseed, David; Vrana, Laura; Walker, Sean; Wang, Jinhui; Wassenaar, Christina; Wilbert, Arik; Williams, Katie; Wu, Charles (Kuan-Sheng)

Excused: Baughn, Christina, Cutchen, William, Holliday, Nicolette

Unexcused: Daniel, Casey, Gavrilita, Christina, Holliday, Candice, Kumar, Jatinder

Guests: Ying Johnson; Allen Parrish; Awardees & Family/friends; David Meola; Glen Borchert; Amanda Donaldson

I. Preliminary Business:

The meeting was called to order ~ 3:00 pm with President Christina Wassenaar presiding. Quorum was met.

Approval of Minutes: Approved by General Consent*

Approval of Agenda: Approved by General Consent*

President's Report:

The President's Report was submitted in writing prior to the meeting.

II. Old Business:

Plenary Zoom Option: Amendment to Paragraph 1.4.1 to allow for Zoom attendance at Plenary Meetings under one of three explicitly stated conditions.

A friendly amendment to the first bullet point from wording that allowed virtual attendance "of senators working at locations outside of the USA main campus" to wording that allowed such attendance of all senators "as needed, with responsibility placed on the Caucus Leader to promote a greater degree of their involvement" was approved by General Consent.

• The amended Amendment to Paragraph 1.4.1 was then passed by General Consent.

III. Committee Reports:

All committees stated that they had nothing to report in addition to what was provided on/with the agenda.

Each current or outgoing committee chair was given the floor for a few minutes to make a pitch for senators to join that committee during the next session. Discussion following these pitches centered on time-commitment (in general, one meeting per month with homework in between appeared to have been close to a norm, though it does depend on committee and circumstance).

IV. Caucus Leaders Reports:

All caucuses stated that they had nothing to report in addition to what was provided on/with the agenda.

Discussion focused on what to know about townhall meetings with President Bonner & how/whether to assess faculty feedback after those meetings. Rebecca Thomas, Caucus Leader for the College of Nursing, offered to share the Google Survey she had used for her faculty following the townhall meeting. A link to that survey was afterwards shared with all senators.

V. University Committees Reports:

Search Committee for the Associate Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness, position vacated by Angela Coleman (Sinéad Ní Chadhain): 7 Zoom interviews are currently scheduled April 23rd and May 5th; hope is for on-campus interviews in mid-May. Updates will be shared as they become relevant.

- University Committee on Teaching and Learning (Laura Vrana) meeting regularly to tackle the ongoing task of delineating various teaching modalities (e.g., hybrid vs. high flex).
- University Sustainability Committee: Earth Day the week following the Plenary meeting. Activities throughout the week as listed here: <u>https://www.southalabama.edu/specialprojects/usasustainability/campus.html</u>
- IPAC (Christina Wassenaar):
 - New Research Subcommittee: charge is to examine where to inculcate into the Strategic Priorities of the University concepts related to infrastructure & evaluation & aspects related to the transition to R1 status. Once the priorities have been drafted by the Committee, they will be sent to the Faculty Senate & the Council of Academic Deans (CAD) & various other stakeholders around campus for discussion before the priorities are voted in.
 - Data from Student Success Team: Enrollment update has been shared by Matthew Cox (AVP of enrollment). Although data will be double-checked with him before they will be shared with the Senate, the overall trend is that enrollment is up significantly and that we may, in fact, be welcoming the biggest freshman class to date.
- Potential Birth of a new University Committee on Faculty Success to mirror the highly effective one on Student Success: The Faculty Senate President (Christina Wassenaar) has been lobbying Andi Kent (University VP) and a couple of Deans for the creation of a new university committee that brings together a cross-functional team that combines expertise & authority on faculty concerns with expertise & authority to identify and implement solutions. Early responses are positive or, at least, not preclusive, but concerns about the number of committees and workload on likely members of such a committee have been raised.

VI. New Business:

- FS Awards Awarding (Sean Walker): the awards were handed to three wonderful individuals during the session.
- Elections:

- President: Christina Wassenaar ran unopposed and was elected by General Consent
- Vice-President: Laura Vrana ran unopposed and was elected by General Consent
- Secretary: Alexandra Stenson ran unopposed and was elected by General Consent
- Parliamentarian: Candice Selwyn ran unopposed and was elected by a vote of 49 Yays, 0 Nos, and 0 Abstentions. Which is 79% of the senators in attendance & 70% of all senators meeting the 2/3 (66.7%) requirement.
- Standing Committee Chairs:
 - Evaluation: Clay Davidson ran unopposed and was elected by General Consent with zero nos and zero express abstentions.
 - Faculty Development & Mentoring: Tracy O'Connor ran unopposed and was elected by General Consent with zero nos and zero express abstentions.
 - Faculty Salaries & Benefits: Geoffrey Hudson beat out the incumbent who nominated him and pretty well campaigned for him with a vote of 35 (Hudson) to 12 (Pavelescu) without any express abstentions.
 - Research & Creative Activities: Rebecca Thomas ran unopposed and was elected by General Consent with zero nos and zero express abstentions.
 - Sustainability & Environmental Quality: David Turnipseed ran unopposed and was elected by General Consent with zero nos and 3 express abstentions.
 - Teaching, Learning, & Technology: Michael Black ran unopposed and was elected by General Consent with zero nos and zero express abstentions.
 - University Planning & Development: Sean Walker ran unopposed and was elected by General Consent with zero nos and zero express abstentions.
 - University Policies & Handbook: Sinéad Ní Chadhain ran unopposed and was elected by General Consent with zero nos and zero express abstentions.

Adjourned: 4:50 pm

Document prepared by Alexandra C. Stenson (FS secretary) with assistance Google Meet recording.