News and Events

News Archives

  • ESEHSA Awards Scholarships and Equipment

    Under the direction of Dr. Ishara Ramkissoon, Associate Professor of Audiology, The Emerging Scholars Environmental Health Sciences Academy (ESEHSA) funded five high school students through a rigorous marine science course.
  • Dr. Ramkissoon Receives Award from ISA

    Dr. Ishara Ramkissoon (Speech Pathology and Audiology) receives the "Outstanding Faculty Member Award" in recognition for outstanding service to the international students at USA.
  • Grant Awarded to Dr. Ishara Ramkissoon

    Dr. Ishara Ramkissoon, Associate Professor of Audiology, has been notified of a successful grant renewal for the Environmental Literacy In Marine Science And The Health Impact Of Pollution project.
  • Grant funds High School Scholars and Science Laboratories>

    At the Professional Development extension event held November 14, 2014, Davidson and Murphy High Schools received a combined total of over $12, 000 in laboratory wish list items from the Emerging Scholars Environmental Health Sciences Academy (ESEHSA) at the University of South Alabama (USA).
  • Mortar Board Names Top Professors for 2014

    The following faculty have been named by Mortar Board as Top Professors for 2014.
    Biomedical Sciences-Dr. Robin Mockett, Dr. Padma Thulasiraman, Dr. Kari Dugger, and Dr. Julio Turrens
    Occupational Therapy-Dr. Courtney Sasse
    Physical Therapy-Dr. Coral Gubler
    Speech Pathology and Audiology-Dr. Tara Davis
  • SPA Faculty Receives USA Faculty Development Council Research Grant

    Congratulations to Dr. Tara Davis and Dr. Kelli Evans (Speech Pathology and Audiology) for receiving a USA Faculty Development Council research grant for $4954 for their proposal "Information Processing by Individuals with Traumatic Brain Injury: Evidence from Event-Related Potentials".




Hall of Fame

Year Name Dept.
2015 Dr. Andrew C. Bennett PT
2014 None  
2013 Dr. Jennifer Lister SPA
2012 Dr. Peter C. Panus PT
2011 Nicole Nix Sartain CRC
2010 Paige Plash PT
2009 David Wildebrandt OT
2008 Lt Col Brian Casleton CLS
2007 Wade Shields PA
2006 Sidney Scarborough PT
2005 Laurie Beth Owen CLS

Andy & Carol Denny National Alumni Awards Excellence in Teaching and Advising

Year Name Award
2008 Dr. Brad Davis Teaching
2005 Dr. Brenda Beverly Teaching
2004 Dr. Cindy Stanfield Teaching
2002 Dr. Charles Gray Teaching
2001 Dr. Dennis Fell Teaching
2001 Melissa Wold Advising

Faculty Awards Banquet

Year Name Dept Award
2016 Dr. Laura White PT Teaching
2016 Dr. Elisa Kennedy PT Service
2016 Dr. Tara Davis SPA Research
2015 Dr. Julie Estis SPA Teaching
2015 Dr. Susan Gordon-Hickey SPA Teaching
2015 Dr. Diane Abercrombie PA Research
2015 Mona Hagmaier PA Service
2014 Dr. Zari Aliabadi PA Teaching
2014 Dr. Ishara Ramkissoon SPA Research
2014 Dr. Laura White PT Service
2013 Dr. Donna Wooster OT Teaching
2013 Dr. Julio Turrens BMD/Dean Research
2013 Scotty McArthur EMS Service
2012 Dr. Elizabeth Adams SPA Teaching
2012 Dr. Susan Gordon-Hickey SPA Research
2012 Charlie Erwin EMS Service
2011 Dr. Jim Henderson PA Teaching
2011 David Garmon EMS Service
2010 Dr. Charles Newell RAD Teaching
2010 Dr. Julie Estis SPA Research
2010 Dr. Jean Irion PT Service
2009 Dr. Marjorie Scaffa OT Teaching
2009 Dr. Tim Holston SPA Service
2008 Dr. Brad Davis BMD Teaching
2008 Dr. Marjorie Scaffa OT Service
2007 Dr. Barry Dale PT Teaching
2007 Dr. Robert Moore SPA Research
2007 Rich Nenstiel PA Service
2006 Dr. John Jefferson PT Teaching
2006 Dr. Flint Boettcher SPA Research
2006 Dr. Dennis Fell PT Service
2005 Dr. Brenda Beverly SPA Teaching
2005 Dr. Jim Wall PT Research
2005 Vicki Barrett CLS Service
2003 Dr. Charles Gray PT Teaching
2003 Dr. Mike Spector BMD Research
2003 Dr. Cindy Stanfield BMD Service