text only
The Lowdown
  Fight Song: South
  Fight Song: Jaguar Pride
  Campus History
  Lowdown Handbook (PDF)
  Campus History  

The University of South Alabama was created by act of the Alabama Legislature in May 1963, and first opened its doors in June of 1964. In 1969, the Legislature passed a resolution calling for establishment of a medical school at the University. The first Dean of the new college was appointed in 1971, and the charter class entered the College of Medicine in January, 1973. The Mobile General Hospital was transferred to the University in 1970 and was renamed the University of South Alabama Medical Center in 1975. In the Fall of 1984, the University established a branch in Baldwin County, with courses offered in Bay Minette and Fairhope.

  The University of South Alabama is the principal public institution of higher learning in the central Gulf Coast region. The University is at the center of a region which has a population of more than one million, and, with the next closest public institution almost 200 miles distant, is strategically located to meet the needs of Southwest Alabama and the coastal region.  
  The University of South Alabama is a state-assisted, comprehensive university governed by a seventeen-member Board of Trustees. Twelve members are appointed from the southern part of the State and three are appointed from the state-at-large. The State Superintendent of Education and the Governor are ex-officio members of the Board of Trustees. Trustees are appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, to serve twelve year, staggered terms.  
  The University of South Alabama is accredited by the Commission on College and Schools 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097; Telephone (404) 679-4501 to award baccalaureate, master's, doctor of philosophy and doctor of medicine degrees.  
  The College of Education at the University of South Alabama is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), 2010 Massachusetts Ave., NW, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036; phone (202) 466-7496. This accreditation covers initial teacher preparation programs and advanced educator preparation programs.  
  In addition to the Southern Association, University of South Alabama has programs
accredited by the following organizations:
  • Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology: BS programs in Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering are accredited by the EAC of ABET
  • American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business
  • Committee on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs
  • American Medical Association Council of Medical Education
  • American Occupational Therapy Association
  • American Physical Therapy Association
  • American Speech Language and Hearing Association: ESB and PSB
  • Association of American Medical Colleges
  • Computer Sciences Accreditation Commission
  • Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology
  • National Accreditation Association for the Clinical Laboratory Sciences
  • National Association of Schools of Music
  • National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education
  • National League for Nursing
University of South Alabama