College of Education

  • USA College of Education
  • College of Education Convocation 2015
  • College of Education Students
  • Jaguars are getting degrees in Education!
  • UCOM Park
  • WOW2015-Selfie


 "We offer challenges and opportunities that will prepare you for a life of inquiry and professional development that will enhance the quality of life for every citizen."
Dean Richard L. Hayes

Discover USA College of Education

The College of Education is one of nine colleges and schools of the University of South Alabama.  Founded on February 1, 1967, the College has a total annual budget exceeding 14 million dollars and supports 85 different programs leading to six distinctive degrees.  The College is nationally accredited by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and its educator preparation programs are accredited by the Alabama State Department of Education.

Realize Your Potential to Change the World

Our purpose is to prepare highly-qualified professionals who are committed to meeting the educational needs of our community, state, and nation in an international context that demands a literate citizenry equipped with the tools to be effective in the 21st century - critical thinking and problem-solving, entrepreneurship and economic literacy, interpersonal communication, multicultural competence and global awareness, teaming and collaboration, and proficiency in the use of information and technology to communicate effectively with others.



Congratulations to the following faculty, staff and educational partners who have been recognized by the College of Education for their professional excellence.

 2015 Faculty Awards

Dr. Ryon McDermottExcellence in Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity

Dr. Eddie ShawDistinguished Career Award for Teaching Excellence 

Dr. Amy UptonEarly Career Award for Excellence in Teaching 

Dr. Ellen BroachDistinguished Contributions to Improving Our Community

Dr. Jim Van HaneghanDistinguished Contributions to Life-Long Learning 

Dr. Brandon BrowningBukstein Foundation Scholarship for Developing Faculty in Education

Drs. Eddie Shaw, Kelly Byrd, and Susan Santoli Excellence in Teaching Award for Outstanding Innovation 

Excellence in Clinical Supervision

Supervisor Ms. Amy Deas 

Principal - Ms. Cheryl Chapman 

School - O'Rourke Elementary School

National Alumni Association Excellence in Advising 

Congratulations to Mr. Josh Wooden on his receipt of the 2015 Beth and Don Davis National Alumni Association Excellence in Advising Award.


2015 Staff Excellence Award 

Ms. Gail McLeanGerry Jean Clark Exemplary Staff Award     

 Gail McLean

 Megan O'Neill - Fulbright Distinguished Award Recipient 

Megan O'Neill

Congratulations to Megan O'Neill, an Instructional Design doctoral student, who was just selected by the US Department of State for the Fulbright Distinguished Awards in Teaching Program.

The purpose of the Fulbright Program is to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and those in other countries. Megan will be going to New Zealand for February and March in 2016. Megan teaches marine biology at Spanish Fort High School. She will be working with science teachers in Wellington, NZ on the use of flipped classrooms.