USA News

Olivia Butters attended medical school at South after receiving her undergrad from USA. “It’s always been a very welcoming school,” she said.

Finding Opportunities to Serve Others
May 3, 2016

After medical mission trips to Peru, Honduras and Rwanda, Olivia Butters heads to residency training in Florida.

Daeshen Smith, who played in the Jaguar Marching Band throughout his undergraduate and graduate studies, said of South:

One Step Closer to Fulfilling a Dream
May 2, 2016

Daeshen Smith knew from a young age he wanted to be a sports broadcaster, and his thesis reflects his interest.

Catherine Zivanov said her Honors Program experience

Learning the Importance of Dedication, Sacrifice
May 2, 2016

Catherine Zivanov, Goldwater Scholar and Honors Program student, is following the example set by her parents.

University graduate student Amanda Jefferson helps tag one of the 750 red snapper released by the Dauphin Island Sea Lab into northern Gulf of Mexico waters as part of a marine sciences project to estimate the recreational mortality of the popular sport fish.  Photo by David Hay Jones

Go Fishing, Earn Cash, Support Research
April 29, 2016

Anglers who catch a red snapper with a yellow tag can earn up to $500 and help researchers study fishing mortality.