Department of Communication

  • Three female students enjoying their day at the clocktower.
  • Dr. Glover (Professor) teaching students how to use their cameras.
  • A male student taking notes while in class.
  • Three students filming at the Clock Tower for their classes.
  • Three students learning from their professor in class.

We are excited that you are interested in our program at the University of South Alabama. The Department of Communication meets individual performance and career needs with a flexible curriculum. Students select one of the concentrations offered and confer with their advisors to plan their courses of study. These focused areas of study help to prepare students for many employment possibilities.

The concentrations of study offered in communication are: Communication Studies, Digital Cinema and Television, Journalism (Broadcast Journalism and Print Journalism), and Strategic Communication. Students pursuing a degree in Communication must also have a minor in another discipline. Professionals in the fields of strategic communication, film-video, media studies, journalism and communication studies share stories and shape perceptions. They help people learn about the world, make informed decisions and impact others.

Mission Statement: The purpose of the Department of Communication is to provide economically and ethically diverse students with core competencies, within the context of a broad liberal arts and sciences curriculum, which will prepare them to be independent, critical thinkers who uphold the highest ethical standards as communication leaders in a global society. 

Attention Students: 

The Department of Communication is looking for students to work night shifts - MW 5-10 p.m. or TR 5-10 p.m. (10 hours/weekly) beginning as soon as possible. If you are interested, please e-mail your resume to the Departmental secretary, Margaret Haig, at

A promising career in film and television 

Recent communication graduate Erin Weninegar, 23, is ready to build her film career thanks to the education she received at South Alabama and opportunities from alumni Drew Hall and Horst Sarubin, pictured below with Eva Golson, director of the Mobile Film Office.  Read more
Big plans in graphic design
As an entrepreneur, Trebreh Baaheth, a USA senior majoring in strategic communication, has big plans to grow his graphic design, photography and video business into an advertising and marketing firm, while earning his degree. Here he's photographed with some of his designs. Read more!
- Organizations -

We give our students the opportunity to participate in student organizations. A total of seven organizations provide unique field experience for Communication students as well as information for our community at USA. Our organizations are: 

  • Due South (Magazine)
  • JagTV
  • The Prowl Radio
  • The Vanguard (Newspaper) 
  • AAF (American Advertising Federation) 
  • PRSSA (Public Relations Student Society of America) 
  • Lambda Pi Eta (Honor Society) 
  • AERho (Honor Society) 
- Faculty -

The Department of Communication holds high standards for our faculty and staff. Every faculty and staff member is dedicated to teaching and advising students to best suit their individual needs. Want to join or team? We are currently searching for part time instructors for a variety of courses. For more information, please click here.