text only
The Lowdown
  Student Affairs Mission
  Phone Directory
  University Vice Presidents & Deans
  Board of Trustees
  Lowdown Handbook (PDF)
  Board of Trustees  

Authority for operation of the University is vested in the Board of Trustees. The Legislature has given the Board power to organize the institution by appointment of necessary personnel and the power to remove persons so appointed. The Board may prescribe courses of instruction, rates of tuition and fees, and confer appropriate degrees. The Legislature has specifically given the Board the right to act in the best interest of the institution. An Executive Committee has been created and the Board of Trustees has delegated to this Committee certain authority. The Board has delegated to the President of the University the authority necessary to the operation of the institution in the context of the responsibility of the President's Office. All authority vested in administrative officers, administration, faculty, student committees, and internal political bodies comes directly from the Board of Trustees to the Executive Committee and the President and through the President to the respective individual or entity.

The University of South Alabama, operating as a state institution of higher learning and financed in part of public funds, is governed by a Board of Trustees composed of seventeen members: twelve members appointed from south Alabama; three members appointed from the State-at-large; the Governor of the State of Alabama as President, ex-officio, of the Board; and, the State Superintendent of Education serves as an ex- officio member. Of the twelve members appointed from south Alabama, three members are appointed from Mobile County and one member is appointed from each of the nine southern senatorial districts, as those districts were designated at the time the University was organized. All members, except ex-officio members, are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.

University of South Alabama