secondary banner

Academic Calendar 2018-2019

 

                             Print    

FALL TERM 2018    
For all orientation dates visit: https://www.southalabama.edu/departments/orientation or
https://www.southalabama.edu/departments/globalusa/outreach-studentprograms/orientation.html
   
Registration for new fall graduate students July 23 Monday
15% of fall term balance due July 23 Monday
Registration schedule canceled for fall 2018 if 15% of payment is not received by July 23
(Students with awarded financial aid that exceeds 15% of balance and students participating in the tuition payment plan will be excluded.)
July 24 Tuesday
Financial Aid/Scholarship Bookstore charges begin August 3 Friday
100% of fall term balance due August 17 Friday
Residence Halls Open August 18 Saturday
All registration schedules canceled if 100% of balance is not paid August 20 Monday
Convocation  August 20  Monday
Late registration period August 21-24 Tuesday - Friday
100% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals August 21 Tuesday
Classes begin August 21 Tuesday
Financial Aid/Scholarship Bookstore charges end August 24 Friday
Late registration and Drop/Add ends at midnight August 24 Friday
Late registration 100% of balance due August 24 Friday
All registration schedules canceled if 100% of balance is not paid August 27 Monday
Census at 5:00 pm August 27 Monday
50% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals August 28 Tuesday
Refunding financial aid credit balances to students begins August 30 Thursday
No course withdrawal refunds after this date September 3 Monday
Labor Day September 3 Monday
Priority readmission deadline for spring term September 13 Thursday
Time tickets posted for spring registration September 20 Thursday
Last day for spring term degree applications October 5 Friday
Incomplete grades deadline October 5 Friday
Fall Break October 11-12 Thursday - Friday
Mid-term grades due by 10:00 am October 15 Monday
Mid-term grades posted by 12:00 noon October 17 Wednesday
Spring term registration for continuing students October 22 Monday
Theses/dissertations first submission deadline to the Graduate School by 5:00 pm October 22 Monday
Last day to drop a course or withdraw from the University October 26 Friday
Theses/dissertations due in the Office of the Graduate Dean by 5:00 p.m. November 12 Monday
Thanksgiving Holidays for Students (Includes weekend classes) (beginning at 5:00 p.m.)—no evening classes November 20-23 Tuesday - Friday
Thanksgiving Holiday for staff/admin begins at 12 pm November 21-23 Wednesday - Friday
Registration for new graduate students November 26 Monday
15% of spring term balance due December 4 Tuesday

Registration for spring canceled if 15% of spring term balance in is not paid by December 4th
(Students with awarded financial aid that exceeds 15% of tuition and fees and students participating in tuition payment plan will be excluded)

December 5 Wednesday
Classes End December 7 Friday
Final Examinations December 10-13 Monday - Thursday
Residence Halls Close December 14 Friday
Commencement and Official Graduation Date December 15 Saturday
Final grades web entry due by 10:00 am December 17 Monday
Final grades posted by 12:00 noon December 18 Tuesday
Winter Holidays Begin for Staff and Administration December 19 Wednesday
     

SPRING TERM 2019
 
For all orientation dates visit: http://www.southalabama.edu/departments/orientation or 
https://www.southalabama.edu/departments/globalusa/outreach-studentprograms/orientation.html
   
15% of spring term balance due December 4 Tuesday
Registration for spring term canceled if 15% of balance is not paid by December 4th
(Students with awarded financial aid that exceeds 15% of the balance and students participating in the tuition payment plan will be excluded)
December 5 Wednesday
New Year’s Day  January 1 Tuesday
Faculty, Staff, and Administration return January 2 Wednesday
Financial Aid Bookstore charges begin January 2 Wednesday
100% of spring term balance due January 4 Friday
All registration schedules canceled if 100% of balance is not paid January 7 Monday
Residence Halls Open January 4 Friday
Classes begin January 7 Monday 
100% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals January 7 Monday
Late Registration and Drop/Add (ends at midnight) January 10 Thursday
Late registration 100% of balance due January 10 Thursday
Financial Aid Bookstore charges end January 10 Thursday
All registration schedules canceled if 100% of balance is not paid January 11 Friday
50% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals January 14 Monday
Refunding financial aid credit balances to students begins (refunds) January 17 Thursday
No course withdrawal refunds after this date January 20 Sunday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day January 21 Monday
Last day for faculty reports on incomplete grades (undergraduate and graduate) February 18 Monday
Last Day for summer term degree applications March 1 Friday 
Mardi Gras Holiday March 5 Tuesday
Mid-term grades due by 10:00 am March 11 Monday
Mid-term grade posted by 12:00 noon March 13 Wednesday
Priority readmission deadline for summer/fall March 11 Monday
Theses/dissertations first submission to the Graduate School March 18 Monday
Time tickets posted for summer/fall registrations March 18 Monday
Spring Break March 18-22 Monday - Friday
Last day to drop from a course or withdraw from the University March 29 Friday
Summer registration for continuing and readmitted students April 1 Monday
Fall registration for continuing and readmitted students April 1 Monday
Theses/dissertations due in the Graduate School by 5:00 pm April 8 Monday
Classes End April 26 Friday
Registration for new graduate students April 29 Monday
Finals April 29 - May 2 Monday - Thursday
Residence Halls Close May 3 Friday
Commencement and Official Graduation Date May 4  Saturday
Final grades web entry due by 10:00 am May 6 Monday
Final grades posted by 12:00 noon May 8 Wednesday
     

SUMMER TERM 2019
 
For all orientation dates visit:   http://www.southalabama.edu/departments/orientation or
https://www.southalabama.edu/departments/globalusa/outreach-studentprograms/orientation.html  
100% of balance due for May term May 1 Wednesday
Late Registration and Drop/Add for May term (ends at midnight) May 1 Wednesday
May term classes canceled if 100% balance is not paid May 2 Thursday
May Term Classes Begin May 6 Monday
Financial Aid/Scholarship Bookstore charges begin May 22 Wednesday
100% of summer term balance due May 24 Friday
May Term Classes End May 24 Friday
Memorial Day May 27 Monday
Residence Halls Open  May 28 Tuesday
Registration for summer term canceled if 100% of balance is not paid May 28 Tuesday
Final grades web grade entry May term due by 10:00 am May 28 Tuesday
Final grades May Term posted by 12:00 noon May 29 Wednesday
First Term/Full Term Classes Begin May 29 Wednesday
100% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals for full/first term May 29 Wednesday
Late registration and drop/add for full/first term (ends at midnight) May 31 Friday
Late registration 100% of balance due May 31 Friday
Last Day to add a course or change to audit for full/first term May 31 Friday
Financial Aid/Scholarship bookstore charges end May 31 Friday
Late registration for summer term canceled if 100% of balance is not paid June 3 Monday
No course withdrawal refunds after this date for first term classes June 5 Wednesday
50% refund period begins on dropped courses and complete withdrawals for full term June 5 Wednesday
Refunding financial aid credit balances to students begins June 6 Thursday
No course withdrawal refunds after this date for full term classes June 11 Tuesday
Last Day to Drop a first term class
Last Day to Withdraw from University if taking all classes (first term)
June 12 Wednesday
Theses/dissertations first submission deadline to the Graduate School by 5:00 pm June 17 Monday
First Term Classes Ends June 25 Tuesday
Exam Day for First Term Classes June 25 Tuesday
Second Term Classes Begin June 26 Wednesday
Final grades web grade entry (first term) due by 10:00 am June 27 Thursday
Final grades (first term) posted by 12:00 noon June 28 Friday
50% refund period begins on withdrawals from second term courses June 29 Saturday
Final grades (first term) posted by 12:00 noon   July 1 Monday
No course withdrawal refunds after this date for second term courses July 3 Wednesday
Last day to drop a course (full term) or withdraw from University (full term) July 3 Wednesday
July 4th Holiday Observed July 4 Thursday
Last day for fall term degree applications July 5 Friday
Last day for faculty reports on graduate and undergraduate incomplete grades July 8 Monday
Theses/dissertations due to the Graduate School by 5:00 pm July 8 Monday
Last day to drop a course (second term) July 9 Tuesday
Second Term/Full Term Classes Ends July 23 Tuesday
Final Examinations for full and second term July 24-26 Wednesday - Friday
Official Graduation Date July 27 Saturday
Residence Halls Close July 27 Saturday
Final grades web entry (second/full term) due by 10:00 am July 29 Monday
Final grades (second/full term) posted by 12:00 noon July 31 Wednesday