Chemistry Department


A big thank you goes out to "Mika, Lili and Meghan for doing an excellent, excellent job representing USA Chemistry at the  Women In STEM Teen Conference - Career Expo ... The ladies spent a good bit of their time preparing, practicing, setting up beforehand. On Saturday, they were wonderful in interacting with the girls and their parents." - Alexandra Stenson
"Congratulations to two junior chemistry majors, Benjamin Jackson and Savannah Hoyt for their induction into Mortar Board National Senior Honor Society. Mortar Board is a nationally recognized senior honor society that is based on service, leadership, and scholarship. Each year the University of South Alabama Sally Steadman Azalea Chapter selected 50 senior students for membership. Congratulations Benjamin and Savannah!" - Larry Yet

"Congratulations to our chemistry senior undergraduate student, Kaitlyn Roberts, who was awarded  Who’s Who of the University of South Alabama. Kaitlyn was chosen based on her involvement, commitment, and contributions to campus life at the University of South Alabama. Thorough out her undergraduate career Kaitlyn has been involved in many activities and organizations such as Alpha Epsilon Delta, American Chemical Society, and Undergraduate Research. Congratulations Kaitlyn!" - Larry Yet

"Congratulations to our chemistry senior undergraduate student, Madison R. Tuttle, who was awarded  the 2017 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.  Madison was one of 2000 awardees nationwide from an application pool of 13000 and representing one of 1,158 women!  Her research mentor is Dr. Larry Yet.  She is one of two awardees from South this year.  This is the fourth award for mentors from the Chemistry Department in the last decade." - Larry Yet

"Congratulations to our senior undergraduate chemistry students Madison Tuttle and Taylor Hamby, for winning the poster competition, 1st and 2nd place, respectively in Section II at the 94th Annual Meeting of the Alabama Academy of Science held on the USA campus February 22-24, 2017" - Larry Yet

"Congratulations to Dominika Houserova who recently presented at the Eastern Analytical Symposium and Exhibition.  Mika was one of four undergraduate awardees region-wide of the Eastern Analytical Symposium Student Award, having been nominated by Dr. Stenson. As part of this recognition, all of Mika's travel expenses were covered and she had the opportunity to present part of her undergraduate work. The title of her poster was "High-Resolution Mass Spectrometry in NOM Characterization and DBP Formation Prediction". It is great to see not only this recognition, but to see her continued interest in the physical sciences having just started her graduate work in Biology (Dr. Borchert)." - David Forbes and Alexandra Stenson