Sociology Undergraduate Faculty

Contact Us
Nicole Carr

Dr. Nicole T. Carr
Associate Professor of Sociology and Director, Academic Success and Retention

Research:  Gender, Crime and Delinquency, Social Inequality

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6475
ntcarr@southalabama.edu

Office: ASC1324

Freed

Dr. Christopher R. Freed
Associate Professor of Sociology and Graduate Coordinator of Sociology

Research:  Sociology of Medicine, Sociology and History of Drugs, Sociology of Food

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6348
cfreed@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB14 

Dept. Chair Dr. Roma S. Hanks

Professor of Sociology; Chair, Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work; Director, USA Programs in Gerontology and Center for Generational Studies

Research:  Intergenerational Relationships; Lifecourse Transitions; Social Support; Health Disparities

 Brief Biography 

(251) 460-6020
rhanks@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB36

Ken Hudson

Dr. C. Kenneth Hudson
Associate Professor of Sociology and Social Work

Research:  Poverty, Social Stratification, Labor Markets

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6342
ckhudson@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB36

Dr. G David Johnson

Dr. G. David Johnson
Professor of Sociology, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6261
djohnson@southalabama.edu

Office: AD300

  Dr. Lio

Dr. Shoon Lio
Assistant Professor of Sociology


Research: Social and Political Theory, Race, Class and Gender, Collective memory, Food studies, Political Sociology, Social Movements, Symbolic Interaction, Social Psychology, Popular culture, and education

Curriculum Vitae 

 

(251)-460-6909

shoonlio@southalabama.edu  

Office: HUMB 13

Marshall

Dr. Douglas A. Marshall
Associate Professor of Sociology and Assistant Director, USA Honors Program

Research: Sociology of Religion, Sociology of Rationality

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7077
dougmarshall@southalabama.edu

Office:  HUMB6

Hosik Min

Dr. Hosik Min

Assistant Professor of Sociology and Gerontology and Assistant Director, the Gerontology Program

Research: Health Disparities, Population Aging, and Mortality and Morbidity

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7677
hmin@southalabama.edu

HUMB9

Dr. Leonard A. Mundy

Dr. Leonard A. Mundy
Assistant Professor of Sociology

Research: Gender & Sexuality 

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7079
mundy@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB8

Picou

Dr. J. Steven Picou
Professor of Sociology and Director, Coastal Resource and Resiliency Center

Research:  Environmental Sociology; Disasters and Sociological Practice

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7118
spicou@southalabama.edu

Office: TRP III 2500