Faculty Senate

Secondary banner


Hundreds of University of South Alabama students, faculty, staff and administrators traveled to Montgomery today to support Higher Education Day, an annual event sponsored by the Higher Education Partnership of Alabama that seeks to raise awareness and appreciation of higher education’s benefits and the need for appropriate funding.

Learn more about the event

The University of South Alabama Faculty Senate recently honored three community partners and a USA assistant professor of biology for distinguished service to others during its annual awards presentations. University President Dr. Tony Waldrop and Dr. Julie Estis, president of the Faculty Senate, presented the awards during a meeting at the Faculty Club on the University’s main campus.

Recipients included:

  • Dr. Glen Borchert- Semoon and Youngshin Chang Endowed Award for Humanitarian Services
  • Toni Ann Torrans - Outstanding Research Partner
  • Dr. David Alsobrook - Outstanding Teaching Partner
  • Richard Weavil - Outstanding Community Partner

Learn more about the accomplishments of the honorees

The Faculty Senate elected the 2014-2015 slate of officers.
  • President - Julie Estis
  • Vice-President - Kevin West
  • Secretary - Kelly Woodford
  • Past-President - Doug Marshall
Click here to see the 2014-2015 Faculty Senate