Faculty and Staff - Earth Sciences

 

Geography (GEO) Faculty
Karen Jordan Karen Jordan, M. Sc.
Senior Instructor
Remote sensing, GIS, Water quality
Office: ELSB 323

(251) 414-8028 
kjordan@southalabama.edu
Shawn Mitchell, Ph. D. Shawn Mitchell, Ph. D.
Geography Instructor
Cultural geography
Office: ELSB 328

(251) 461-1508
smitchell@southalabama.edu
Frances Mujica

Frances Mujica, Ph. D.
Assistant Professor
Geography of health - specialty: Latin America

Office: ELSB 324

(251) 461-1735
fcmujica@southalabama.edu
Roy Ryder Roy Ryder, Ph. D.
Professor
Urban land use
Office: ELSB 134

(251) 460-7572
rryder@southalabama.edu
Carol Sawyer Carol Sawyer, Ph. D.
Associate Professor
Mountain geography, Cryosphere, Geomorphology,
Natural hazards

Personal Webpage
Office: ELSB 325

(251) 460-6169
sawyer@southalabama.edu
Steven Schultze

Steven Schultze, Ph. D.
Assistant Professor
Climatology, Agriculture, Biogeography, Sports statistics

 

Office: ELSB 383

(251) 460-7041
schultze@southalabama.edu
Geology (GY) Faculty
David Allison

David Allison, Ph. D.
Associate Professor
Petrology, Structural geology, Geomorphology

 

Personal Webpage

Office: ELSB 049

(251) 460-7574
dallison@southalabama.edu
Alex Beebe Alex Beebe, Ph. D.
Assistant Professor
Environmental geology, Hydrology, Geophysics
Office: ELSB 343

(251) 460-7575
dbeebe@southalabama.edu
Murlene Clark Murlene Clark, Ph. D.
Associate Professor
Paleontology, Stratigraphy
Office: ELSB 341

(251) 460-7570
mclark@southalabama.edu
William Jackson, Ph. D. William Jackson, Ph. D.
Assistant Professor
Geology
Office: ELSB 344

(251) 460-7569
wjackson@southalabama.edu
Dianne Palmore, M. Sc. Dianne Palmore, M. Sc.
Instructor
Geology
Office: ELSB 380

(251) 461-1476
cdpalmore@southalabama.edu
Meteorology (MET) Faculty
Sytske Kimball, Ph. D.

Sytske Kimball, Ph. D.
Professor
Department Chair

Hurricane modeling and observations

Office: ELSB 135

(251) 460-7031
skimball@southalabama.edu
John Lanicci John Lanicci, Ph. D.
Associate Professor
Synoptic meteorology


Office: ELSB 384

(251) 460-6382
lanicci@southalabama.edu
Andrew Murray, M. Sc. Andrew Murray, M. Sc.
Instructor
Forecaster, Hurricane specialist
Office: MC 1122B

(251) 460-7325
amurray@southalabama.edu
Wesley Terwey, Ph. D. Wesley Terwey, Ph. D.
Assistant Professor
Convective processes, Hurricanes, Severe weather
Office: ELSB 385

(251) 461-1389
terwey@southalabama.edu
Earth Sciences Department Staff
Anita Bookout Anita Bookout
Earth Sciences Secretary                          

Office: ELSB 136

(251) 460-6381 
abookout@southalabama.edu

Corey Bunn Corey Bunn 
Meteorologist
Coastal Weather Research Center                         

Office: MC 1623

(251) 460-6915 
coreybunn@southalabama.edu

Pete McCarty

Pete McCarty
Director
Coastal Weather Research Center
                         

Office: MC 1623

(251) 460-6915 
pmccarty@southalabama.edu

Earth Sciences Part Time Instructors
image placeholder Richard Hudson, M. Sc.
Geography/GIT Instructor

Office: ELSB 326

(251) 460-6381
rrhudson@southalabama.edu
image placeholder John Morrow, Ph. D.
Geology Instructor

Office: ELSB 136

(251) 460-6381
jmorrow@southalabama.edu
John Nodar John Nodar
Meteorology Instructor
Broadcast meteorology
Office: MC 1623

(251) 662-2996
jnodar@wkrg.com
image placeholder Cory Rhodes
Geography Instructor

Office: ELSB 326

(251) 460-6381
crhodes@southalabama.edu
Alan Sealls Alan Sealls
Meteorology Instructor
Broadcast meteorology
Office: MC 1623

(251) 662-2996
asealls@wkrg.com
Diana Sturm Diana Sturm, Ph. D.
Assistant Professor
Hydrogeology, Geophysics
Office: ELSB 381

(251) 460-1476
dsturm@southalabama.edu
image placeholder Ms. Lee Yokel
Geology Instructor

Office: ELSB 136

(251) 460-6381
lyokel@southalabama.edu
Earth Sciences Retired and Emeritus Faculty
Keith Blackwell Keith Blackwell, Ph. D.
Associate Professor
Hurricanes, Weather forecasting
Office: MC 1122A

(251) 460-6302
kblackwell@southalabama.edu
Lary Dilsaver, Ph. D. Lary Dilsaver, Ph. D.
Professor Emeritus of Geography
Conservation, Land use

Office: ELSB 136

(251) 460-6381
ldilsaver@southalabama.edu

Mimi Fearn

Mimi Fearn, Ph. D.
Associate Professor of Geography - retired
Paleoecology

Personal Website

Dog River Website

Office: ELSB 136


(251) 460-6381
mfearn@southalabama.edu

Doug Haywick Doug Haywick, Ph. D.
Associate Professor
Sedimentology, Petroleum geology, Mineralogy


Personal Webpage
(251) 460-6381
dhaywick@southalabama.edu
Wayne Isphording, Ph. D. Wayne Isphording, Ph. D.
Professor Emeritus of Geology

Office: ELSB 136

(251) 460-6381 

George Lamb, Ph. D. George Lamb, Ph. D. 
Professor Emeritus of Geology

Office: ELSB 136

(251) 460-6381 

Victoria Rivizzigno, Ph. D.

Victoria Rivizzigno, Ph. D.
Associate Professor of Geography - retired
Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences - retired

Office: ELSB 136

(251) 460-6381 
vrivizzi@southalabama.edu

Glenn Sebastian, Ph. D. Glenn Sebastian, Ph. D.
Associate Professor Emeritus of Geography
Geographic education

 

1941 - 2016
Aaron Williams Aaron Williams, Ph. D.
Associate Professor Emeritus of Meteorology
Director Emeritus of the Coastal Weather Research Center
Climatology

Office: MC 1623

(251) 460-6914 
bwilliams@southalabama.edu

Eugene Wilson, Ph. D. Eugene Wilson, Ph. D.
Professor Emeritus of Geography
Physical and cultural geography

Yucatan Photo Gallery

Office: ELSB 136

(251) 460-6381 
wilson2574@bellsouth.net