Faculty and Staff

 

Dept. Chair

Chairperson: Dr. Roma Stovall Hanks

Linda Burcham , Secretary

Secretary V : Ms. Linda G. Burcham

Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work
University of South Alabama
College of Arts and Sciences
5991 USA Drive N., Humanities Room 34
Mobile, Alabama 36688-0002
Phone# (251)460-6347 Fax# (251)460-7925

Contact Us
Dr. Valerie L.  Bryan,

Dr. Valerie L.  Bryan
Associate Professor of Social Work

Research:  Child Welfare, Juvenile Justice, Poverty

Curriculum Vitae 

(251) 414-8041

vbryan@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB 4

Dr. Nicole T. Carr

Dr. Nicole T. Carr
Associate Professor of Sociology and Director, Academic Success and Retention

Research:  Gender, Crime and Delinquency, Social Inequality

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6475
ntcarr@southalabama.edu

Office: ASC1324

Phil Carr

Dr. Philip J. Carr
Professor of Anthropology and Director, Archaeology Museum

Research: Archaeological Method and Theory, Southeastern Native Americans, Cultural Resource Management, Museums

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6907
pcarr@southalabama.edu

Office: ARCM107

Chris Freed

Dr. Christopher R. Freed
Associate Professor of Sociology and Graduate Coordinator of Sociology

Research:  Sociology of Medicine, Sociology and History of Drugs

 Brief Biography 

(251) 460-6348
cfreed@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB14 

Lesley A. Gregoricka

Dr. Lesley A. Gregoricka
Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Research: Bioarcheology, Stable Isotope Analysis, Residential Mobility, Paleodiet, Mortuary Archaeology, Social Organization, Identity, Near East, Arabia.

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6901
lgregoricka@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB22

Laurie Haas

Ms. Laurie F. Haas
Instructor of Social Work and Field Coordinator of Social Work

Research:  Gerontology Aging Issues, Interprofessional Student Education

Curriculum Vitae 

(251) 460-6906
lhaas@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB11

Dept. Chair Dr. Roma S. Hanks

Professor of Sociology; Chair, Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work; Director, USA Programs in Gerontology and the Center for Generational Studies

Research:  Intergenerational Relationships; Lifecourse Transitions; Social Support; Health Disparities

Brief Biography 

(251) 460-6020
rhanks@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB36

Kenneth Hudson

Dr. C. Kenneth Hudson
Associate Professor of Sociology and Social Work

Research:  Poverty, Social Stratification, Labor Markets

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6342
ckhudson@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB36

Dr. G. David Johnson

Dr. G. David Johnson
Professor of Sociology, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Curriculum Vitae

 

 

(251) 460-6261
djohnson@southalabama.edu

Office: AD300

 Dr. Shoon

Dr. Shoon Lio
Assistant Professor of Sociology

Research: Social and Political Theory, Race, Class and Gender, Collective memory, Food studies, Political Sociology, Social Movements, Symbolic Interaction, Social Psychology, Popular culture, and education

Curriculum Vitae 

(251)-460-6909

shoonlio@southalabama.edu 

Office: HUMB 13

Douglas Marshall

Dr. Douglas A. Marshall
Associate Professor of Sociology and Assistant Director, USA Honors Program

Research: Sociology of Religion, Sociology of Rationality

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7077
dougmarshall@southalabama.edu

Office:  HUMB6

Hosik Min

Dr. Hosik Min
Assistant Professor of Sociology and Gerontology and Assistant Director, the Gerontology Program

Research: Health Disparities, Population Aging, and Mortality and Morbidity

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7677
hmin@southalabama.edu

HUMB9

Dr. Mark A. Moberg

Dr. Mark A. Moberg
Professor of Anthropology

Research:  Political Economy, Neo-liberalism, Fair Trade, Agriculture, Caribbean and Central America

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6912
mmoberg@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB12

Dr. Leonard A. Mundy

Dr. Leonard A. Mundy
Assistant Professor of Sociology

Research: Gender & Sexuality 

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7079
mundy@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB8

Dr. Erin Nelson

Dr. Erin Nelson
Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Research: North American Archaeology, Native American Cultures of the Southeastern United States, Landscape Archaeology, Community and Identity, Ancient Foodways

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6187
erinnelson@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB34

Kimberly Pettway

Ms. Kimberly W. Pettway
Instructor of Social Work and Director, Center for Academic Service-Learning and Civic Engagement

Research: Black Family Structure, the Perpetuation of Privilege and Inferiority in Human Services, HIV/AIDS transmission among heterosexual couples

Curriculum Vitae

 

(251) 460-6908
kpettway@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB20

Steve Picou

Dr. J. Steven Picou
Professor of Sociology and Director, Coastal Resource and Resiliency Center

Research:  Environmental Sociology; Disasters and Sociological Practice

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7118
spicou@southalabama.edu

Office: TRP III 2500

Waselkov

Dr. Gregory A. Waselkov
Professor of Anthropology and Director, Center for Archaeological Studies

Research: Prehistoric and Historic Archaeology of Eastern North America, French Colonial Archaeology, Southeastern Indian Ethnohistory, Historic Creek Archaeology

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6911
gwaselkov@southalabama.edu

Office: ARCM103

 Dr. Young

Dr. Stephen Young

Assistant Professor of Social Work and BSW Program Director

Research: Health Disparities with Historically Underserved Populations, HIV/AIDS Prevention & Care Coordination, and International Social Work Education. 

Curriculum Vitae

(251)-460-6910

smyoung@southalabama.edu 

Office: HUMB 30