USA ABK Honor Society Inducts Record Number

Posted on March 1, 2015
Joy Washington

The University of South Alabama Abeneefoo Kuo Honor Society inducted a record number of 109 students at its induction ceremony held recently in the Student Center Ballroom.

 ABK is an honorary society comprised of students who have earned a 3.0 grade-point average and higher. Selected students must show outstanding abilities in academics, leadership and service. This historic induction showcases the outstanding academic and community service work USA minority students are doing at the University.

Historically, we have inducted between 30 and 35 students annually,” said Dr. Carl Cunningham, director of the Office of Multicultural Student Affairs. “We are so proud that we were able to spread the word and attract these outstanding students. This is just another effort in supporting students at USA.”

The purpose of ABK is to provide enrichment experiences for outstanding students and to promote academic excellence and leadership to the members and to students campus-wide.

ABK was founded in 1977 at the University of Georgia by Dr. Leroy Ervin, Dr. Ron McFadden and a group of academically talented African-American students. Abeneefoo Kuo is a Swahili phrase for “circle of honor.”

The USA inductees are:


Rolinda Holt, Accounting & Business Management

Jasper Howell Jr., Biomedical Sciences

Chelsea Jordan, Nursing

Geri Langham, Biomedical Sciences

Perri Lewis, Elementary Education

Adreun Malone, Nursing

Terri McCray, Biology

Akievia McFarland, Pre-Professional General Studies

Kandise Miller, Biology

Deonta Moore, Physical Therapy

Carla Nelson, Biomedical Sciences

Gabrielle Perdue, Biomedical Sciences

Kimberly Robbins, Nursing

Thelma Robinson, Biomedical Sciences

Aledandria Rodgers, Pre-Physical Therapy

Desiree Ross, Biology

Vivian Staten, Pre-Nursing

Imani Stone, Physical Therapy

Miracle Stone, Pre-Physical Therapy

Misha Tanner, Biology

Myrah Taylor, Speech and Hearing Sciences

Milton Thompkins II, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Gabrielle Watters, Nursing

Miya Weems, Nursing

Angelica White, Nursing

Ashli Williams, Biomedical Sciences

D. Zachary Wilson, Exercise Science


Naiya Abrams, Nursing

Darrius Beard, Biomedical Sciences

Randy Bumpers, Mechanical Engineering

Raven Dixon, Speech and Hearing Sciences

Jasmine Essex, Psychology

Miranda Greer, Nursing

Amber Hendrix, Nursing

Jaleigha Hightower, Elementary Education

Dimitria Hubbard, Nursing

Monae Ivory, Biomedical Sciences

Marlon Johnson, Nursing

Faith Kilpatrick, Communication-Public Relations

Lezyon Lagarde, Exercise Science

Anesha Lee, Nursing

Donnie Lindsey, Nursing

Deja Little, Professional Health Sciences

Charisse McDaniel, Communication-Public Relations

Sha'Torrie Parrish, Biology

Rashonda Riley, Health Management

JuWan Robinson, Secondary Education

Gaylan Rutledge, Business Administration

Bria Scott, Pre-Nursing

Aisia Snow, Speech and Hearing Sciences

Courtney Thompson, Elementary Education

Lauren Walker, Pre-Nursing

Jerkayla Watkins, Nursing

Kayla Watts, Pre-Occupational Therapy

Jazmyn Wright, Professional Health Sciences


Aigner Brown, Nursing

Kaitlin Bryant, Nursing

Brittany Daniels, Biology

Kershula Dickerson, Radiologic Sciences

Leslie Evans, Elementary Education

Destanee Harris, Social Work

Gabrielle Hobbs, Biomedical Sciences

Chiamaka Ikefuna, Professional Health Sciences

Brittany Jones, Communication

Deanna McGhee, Nursing

Alana McKinney, Social Work

Brea Potts, Professional Health Sciences

Rorye Scott, Professional Health Sciences

Gabrielle Sessions, Nursing

Takia Smith, Psychology

Savannah Stewart, Business Marketing

Nakeya Taite, Psychology

Brianna Wadlington, Nursing

Tamika Williams, Human Services

Kiara Wright, Cardiorespiratory Care


Alexis Andry, Biology

Tracy Armstrong, Early Childhood Studies

Brittney Austin, Professional Health Sciences

Shauna Barnes-Porter, Nursing

La'Quanta Bennett, Professional Health Sciences

Charlece Bishop, Psychology

Brittney Campbell, Physical Education

Lashunana Goodwin, Health Care Management

Curtis Johnson, History

Shuntavia Johnson, Professional Health Sciences

Kaylyn Neal, Professional Health Sciences

Allison Payne, Professional Health Sciences

Ashley  Pettway, Healthcare Management

Markida Pointer, Biomedical Sciences

Sydney Potter, Early Childhood Education

Carmen Rainey, Professional Health Sciences

Alexandria Rencher, Mathematics

Amani Salih, Psychology

Danielle Watson, Professional Health Sciences

Jashauna Williams, Therapeutic Recreation

Carmen Young, Early Childhood Education

Share on Social Media

Archive Search

Latest University News