The South Alabama chapter has its beginnings in the 1960's when University President Whiddon asked Blanche Cox, the Associate Dean of Students, to begin founding honor societies at the University. Preparations for establishing our chapter were made, and in the fall of 1969, eight women were selected as members of the chapter.

In its fifth year, under Dean Sarah Light, the chapter began the petitioning process for the national honor society, Mortar Board. In 1976, following Title IX guidelines, the first men were chosen for membership. In 1978, our chapter became a fully recognized chapter.

In 2005, The USA chapter was recognized as The Most Improved Chapter. The chapter also received the Golden Torch Award and a Project Excellence Award. Previously, the Chapter won Chapter of Excellence awards and the Pi Sigma Alpha Award for project excellence.

In April 2017, The USA Chapter was re-named The Sally Steadman Azalea Chapter in honor of the dedication and commitment of advisor and national board member Dr. Sally Steadman.

Our advisors include Kristi Clayton, former chapter president and Coordinator in the Student Academic Success Center; Dr. Robert Coleman, Associate Dean of Arts & Sciences; Dr. Dennis Fell, a former chapter president and Chair Emeritus of Physical Therapy; Dr. Zoya Khan, Assoc Prof, Modern & Classical Languages; Mrs. Ellen Madden, Senior Instructor in Accounting; and Dr. Sally Steadman, College of Engineering, and a national board member.