Current Graduate Students

 Major Advisor - Dr. Ronald Baker (rbaker@disl.org)

HannahEhrmann

Name: Hannah Ehrmann

Program of Study: Ph.D.

 

Academic training: BS Environmental Studies from Gettysburg College

MS Environmental Science from Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Email: hehrmann@disl.org

 

ZoePorter

Name: Zoë Porter

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Environmental Stressor Responses in Juvenile Estuarine Fishes.

 

Academic training: BS in Biology from Oklahoma State University

MS in Biology from the University of West Florida

Email: zporter@disl.org

 

SarahRamsden

Name: Sarah Ramsden

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Movement Patterns of Fisheries Species and Functional Values of Habitats Associated with Newly Restored Vs. Established Restored Shorelines.

 

Academic training: BS in Environmental Studies from Virginia Commonwealth University

MS in Marine Sciences from Savannah State University

Email: sramsden@disl.org

 

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Ruth H. Carmichael (rcarmichael@disl.org)

LaurenClance

Name: Lauren Clance

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Differences in Stable Isotopes and Trace Elements among groups of Bottlenose Dolphins in Mobile Bay.

 

Academic training: BS in Biology from UNC Chapel Hill

Email: lclance@disl.org

 
MatthewHodanbosi

Name: Matthew R. Hodanbosi

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Influence of freshwater influx on the diet and body condition of the common bottlenose dolphin, Tursiops truncatus, in Mobile Bay, Alabama, United States.

 

Academic training: BS in Evolution and Ecology from The Ohio State University

MS in Marine Biology from Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Email: mhodanbosi@disl.org

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Kelly Drogan (kdorgan@disl.org)

Will Ballentine

Name: William Ballentine

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: The biophysical interactions between meiofauna and sand habitats

 

Academic training: BS in Biology from Florida State University

Email: wballentine@disl.edu

 
CyClemo

Name: Cy Clemo

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Relating physical disturbance, sediment geotechnical properties, and infaunal succession.

 

Academic training: BS in Environmental Sciences, University of Virginia

Email:  wcc1622@jagmail.southalabama.edu

 
KaraGadeken

Name: Kara Gadeken

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Coastal sediment response to the diel oxygen cycle.

 

Academic training: BS in Biology and minor in Marine Science from the College of William and Mary

Email: kgadeken@disl.org 

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Brian Dzwonkowski (bdzwonkowski@disl.org)

BradyBingham

Name: Brady Bingham

Program of Study: MS

 

Academic Training: Intern in Dr. Sean Powers Fisheries Lab, assisting primarily with Bathymetric Surveying.

Email: bbingham@disl.org

HarikrishnanSreeshylam

Name: Harikrishnan Sreeshylam

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Coupled Physical-Biogeochemical processes in the coastal and estuarine environment of Mobile Bay.

 

Academic Training: BS in Physics from Mahatma Gandhi University, India

MS in Oceanography from Cochin University of Science and Technology, India

Email: hsreeshylam@disl.org

 

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Kenneth L. Heck Jr. (kheck@disl.org)

Nicholas Bartkowiak

Name: Nicholas Bartkowiak

Program of Study: MS

 

Academic Training: BS from Purdue University Fort Wayne

Email: nbartkowiak@disl.org

 

 Major Advisor -  Dr. Jeffrey W. Krause (jkrause@disl.org)

BlairMorrison

Name: Blair Morrison

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Tracking Vibrio: Population Dynamics and Community Ecology in Alabama Estuaries.

 

 

Academic training: BS in Marine Science and Biology form the University of Alabama

Email: bmorrison@disl.org

AlisonRellinger

Name: Alison Rellinger

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: A comparison of DMSP cycling in Phaeocystis spp. 

 

Academic training: B.A. Biology from St. Mary’s College of Maryland

M.S. Marine Sciences from University of South Alabama

Email: arellinger@asms.net

 

RyanRoseburrough

Name: Ryan Roseburrough

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Silicon and Lithium Isotopes in Reverse Weathering Products.

 

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from Spring Hill College

Email: rrr2021@jagmail.southalabama.edu

 

 

AlexandraSmith

Name: Alexandra Smith

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: On the Origins and Degradation of Dimethylsulfoniopropionate (This title is tentative-my prospectus has not yet been finalized).

 

Academic training: BE in Chemical Engineering from Vanderbilt University

Email: asmith@disl.org

 

 

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. John Lehrter (jlehrter@disl.org)

JenniferDoan

Name: Jennifer Doan

Program of Study: MS 

 

Academic training: BS in Biology with concentration in Marine Biology from the University of South Alabama with a minor in Geology 

Email: jmd1524@jagmail.southalabama.edu

GregFeister

Name: Greg Feister

Program of Study: MS 

 

Academic training: BS in Forensic Science from the University of South Mississippi with minors in Chemistry and Criminal Justice

Email: gf2022@jagmail.southalabama.edu

AllisonFletcher

Name: Allison Fletcher

Program of Study: Ph.D.

 

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from the
University of Southern Mississippi

MS in Marine Conservation and Resource
Management from the University of South Alabama

Email: afletcher@disl.org

MaiFung

Name: Mai Fung

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Effects of multiple drivers on eutrophication expressions and subsequent impacts on mercury cycling

Academic training:  BA Molecular and Cell Biology from UC Berkeley 

MPH Public Health from UC Berkeley

Email: mfung@disl.org

AlexisHagemeyer

Name: Alexis Hagemeyer

Program of Study: MS 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Appendicularians and their discarded house abundances in relation to oceanic fronts and phytoplankton biomass and production in the southern Mid-Atlantic Bight.

 

Academic training: BS Marine Biology from Central Methodist University 

Email: ach1726@jagmail.southalabama.edu

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Sean P. Powers (spowers@disl.org)

LaiaJulianaMunozAbril

Name: Laia Juliana Muñoz Abril

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Laying the foundations for the conservation and management of coastal spawning areas of yellowfin tuna in Galápagos and continental Ecuador.

 

 

Academic training: BS in biology from Universidad Industrial de Santander

MS in applied ecology from Universidad San Francisco de Quito

Email: Ljm2022@jagmail.southalabama.edu

DakotaBilbrey

Name: Dakota Bilbrey

Program of Study: MS

 

Academic training: BS in biology with a concentration in marine biology and minor in instrumental music from University of South Alabama

Email: ddb1522@jagmail.southalabama.edu

PearceCooper

Name: Pearce Cooper

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Assessing patterns of population structure, environmental selection, and estuarine use in sheepshead, Archosargus probatocephalus, using population genomics and otolith chemistry.

 

Academic training: BS in Fisheries Sciences from Virginia Tech 

Email: pcooper@disl.org

DylanKiene

Name: Dylan Kiene

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title:  Impacts of Climate Change on Flatfish.

 

Academic training: BS in Health Science from Spring Hill College

Email: dkiene@disl.org

 

EdwardKin

Name: Edward Kim

Program of Study: MS 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Age, growth, abundance, and distribution of Gray Snapper in coastal and offshore Alabama waters.

 

Academic training: BA in Biology from the University of Pennsylvania, 2016

Email: ekim@disl.org

 

MerrittMcCall

Name: Merritt McCall

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Importance of Oyster Reef Design and Setting in Restoration Success in Mobile Bay.

 

Academic training: BS in Marine biology from Auburn University

Email: mmccall@disl.org

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Allison Robertson (arobertson@disl.org)

ClaytonBennett

NameClayton Bennett

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Toxicokinetics of Caribbean ciguatoxin in mid-trophic level fish.

 

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology, Troy University

Email: cbennett@disl.org

 

SeanCollins

Name: Sean Collins

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Effects of Phycotoxins on Endocrine Nuclear Receptor Response in Gulf Killifish (Fundulus grandis).

 

Academic training: BS in Biology from University of South Alabama

Email: scollins@disl.org 

 

JessicaGwinn

Name: Jessica Gwinn

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Toxicokinetic Properties of Caribbean Ciguatoxins: Linking Organismal to Ecological Movement of Ciguatoxins.

 

Academic training: BS in Bioenvironmental Sciences from Texas A&M University, 2016

BS in Wildlife & Fisheries Sciences from Texas A&M University, 2016

Email: jgwinn@disl.org

 

AlexanderLeynse

Name: Alexander Leynse

Program of Study: Ph.D.

Thesis or Dissertation title: Production and ecological function of secondary metabolites produced by the epibenthic dinoflagellate genus Coolia.

 

Academic training: BS Marine Science from Florida Gulf Coast University

MS Environmental Science from Florida Gulf Coast University

Email: aleynse@disl.org

 

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Lee Smee (lsmee@disl.org)

RandiCannon

Name: Randi Cannon

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

 

 

Academic training: BS in Biology (with an emphasis in Marine) from Texas A&M University- Corpus Christi

Email: rcannon@disl.org

KellyCorreia

Name: Kelly Correia

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: What Doesn’t Kill Us Makes Us Stronger: Seagrass Community Resilience in the Northern Gulf of Mexico.

 

Academic training: BS in Marine Science at Auburn University

MS in Biology at Texas A&M University- Corpus Christi

Email: kcorreia@disl.org

CarterLin

Name: Carter Lin

Program of Study: MS

 

 

Academic training: BA in Biology from New York University (minor in Public Policy and Management)

Email: clin@disl.org

WilliamKnudson

Name: William Knudson, Jr

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Impacts of Black Mangrove Expansion in Salt Marshes on Sensory Ecology and Predator-Prey Interactions.

 

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from the University of California Santa Cruz

Email: wck1922@jagmail.southalabama.edu

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. John Valentine (jvalentine@disl.org)

DorothyByronDavid

Name: Dorothy Byron David

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

 

Academic training: BS in Biology from University of Central Florida

MS in Biological Sciences from Florida International University

Email: dbd2021@jagmail.southalabama.edu

 

 Major Advisor - Dr. Xiangli Wang (xwang@southalabama.edu)

DebbrotaMallick

Name: Debbrota Mallick

Program of Study: Ph.D. 

Thesis or Dissertation title: Species-specific fractionation of chromium isotopes in sea water.

 

Academic training: BS and MS in Marine Science from Institute of Marine Sciences and Fisheries,
University of Chittagong, Bangladesh

Email: dm1925@jagmail.southalabama.edu

 

Major Advisor - Dr. John Lehrter / Dr. Sean P. Powers (Professional Master's)

KristineAlford

Name: Kristine Alford

Program of Study: MS 

 

Academic training: BS in biology with a minor in geology from University of South Alabama

Email: kaa1104@jagmail.southalabama.edu

AshleyHild

Name: Ashley Hild

Program of Study: MS

 

 

Email: anh1628@jagmail.southalabama.edu 

JustinMcDonald

Name: Justin McDonald

Program of Study: MS

Thesis or Dissertation title: Age, growth of Greater Amberjack in offshore Alabama waters.

 

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from Troy University

Email: jmcdonald@disl.org

JessicaNash

Name: Jessica Nash

Program of Study: MS 

 

Academic training: BS in Marine Biology from the University of Southern Mississippi

Email: jnash@jagmail.southalabama.edu

BrittanyWilliams

Name: Brittany Williams

Program of Study: MS

 

Academic training: Experience in assisting necropsies with marine mammals, PCRs, aquaculture, fin photography of dolphins, insect capture and identification.

Email: bnw1523@jagmail.southalabama.edu