2018-2019 MCOB Faculty and Staff Awards


Dr. Teresa Weldy

Excellence in Teaching 

Dr. Teresa Weldy, Assistant Professor in Management, received the Excellence in Teaching Award (2018-2019). Dr. Weldy holds a PhD in Instructional Design and Development. Her research focuses on employee training and development, performance improvement strategies. Her work has appeared in such refereed journals as the Journal of Education for Business, Learning Organization Journal, Journal of Business Communication, and the Journal of Academic Administration in Higher Education.


Dr. Kyre Lahtinen

Excellence in Research

Dr. Kyre Lahtinen, Assistant Professor of Finance, received the Excellence in Research Award (2018-2019) Dr. Lahtinen holds a PhD in Finance from Florida State University. In addition to other classes, Dr. Lahtinen teaches the Jaguar Investment Fund (JIF) class. Since its inception three years ago, Dr. Lahtinen's students have outperformed the S&P 500 benchmark by over 1700 basis points.



Dr. Jeanne Maes

Professor of the Year

Dr. Maes, Professor of Management and University Ombudsperson, received the Professor of the Year Award (2018-2019). Dr. Maes received her PhD from the University of Southern Mississippi. She specializes in Communication, negotiation, conflict management, organizational development and change, partnering, team-building, and leadership.


Joe Hair

Frank R. Urbancic Faculty Fellow

Dr. Joe Hair, Director of the PhD Program and Cleverdon Chair of Business, received the Frank R. Urbancic Faculty Fellow Award. Immediately prior to joining the University of South Alabama Joe was the Founder and Director of the Kennesaw State University DBA program. He was a United States Steel Foundation Fellow at the University of Florida, where he earned his Ph.D. in Marketing. In 2018 Dr. Hair was recognized by Clarivate Analytics as being in the top 1% globally of all Business and Economics professors. 


Cynthia Garey

Outstanding Staff of the Year

Ms. Cynthia Garey received an Outstanding Staff of the Year Award. Ms. Garey. Ms. Cynthia Garey, has been the secretary for MCOB Management Department for 12 years. Before joining  MCOB, Ms. Garey worked for a non-profit agency in Jackson, MS. She is a native of Mississippi.


Amy Fleet 

Outstanding Staff of the Year

Ms. Amy Fleet, Secretary for Marketing & Quantitative Methods, also received an Outstanding Staff of the Year Award. Ms. Fleet has worked at USA for over 30 years.


Back to Mitchell Report