Congratulations to Goldwater Scholar John Pomerat!!

Posted on March 27, 2020 by Udaykumar Nandhigama
Udaykumar Nandhigama

Image of John Pomerat data-lightbox='featured'

Congratulations to Goldwater Scholar John Pomerat!!

John Pomerat, an undergraduate student in Computer Science, has been named as one of the 2020 Goldwater Scholars. The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established in 1986 by the United States Congress to honor former Senator and presidential candidate Barry Goldwater. The goal of the scholarship program is to provide scholarships to highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineering student. The Goldwater Scholarship is the most prestigious undergraduate scholarship given in engineering, mathematics, and the natural sciences. It is awarded annually to around 300 college sophomores and juniors nationwide. 

Each year the University of South Alabama nominates four candidates for this scholarship, with normally one being awarded the scholarship. This year, all four of South Alabama candidates were named Goldwater Scholars.  Congratulations to John Pomerat (Computer Science and Mathematics), Richard Fu (Biomedical Sciences), Hannah Giannini (Biochemistry), and Samantha Michlowitz (Meteorology).

Share on Social Media