General Division - Employee of the Quarter

Do you know an employee who has made outstanding contributions to his/her department and should be recognized as the General Division – Employee of the Quarter?

Nominations for the University General Division Employee of the Quarter are being accepted now!

Nominees must be regular, permanent, full-time, University General staff employees who have completed at least one year of continuous employment and have satisfactory current performance evaluations. Part-time and temporary employees are ineligible. Nominations may be made by any University employee including Division heads, Administrators, Faculty, Staff or students. 

Employee of the Quarter

Terry Silva and Dr. Tony Waldrop receivng his award

In recognition of the dedication of our USA employees, we are pleased to announce that Terry N. Silva, Maintenance Repair Technician, in the Grounds Department, has been selected as USA Employee of the Quarter for the first quarter of 2020.

Mr. Silva is the lone Grounds employee that many may have remembered driving a small commercial street sweeper around campus.  The equipment has long been out of service; however, Mr. Silva being committed to his job now cleans all the parking lots/streets by hand with a rake and shovel. Numerous weekends and late afternoons when everyone else is gone, he works on the high traffic less accessible areas. He continues to plug along without ever seeing an end to his work and does so without complaint. As a very quiet and reserved type of fellow, he still seems to have a mentor relationship with the new employees. As a servant to the campus community and providing what is considered a great first impression to visitors, Mr. Silva provides a safe and clean environment for all.

The fact that Mr. Silva now performs by hand what was previously managed by a commercial machine is amazing in its self, with every little leaf pile and wind strewn item gone when he finishes an area. This is an employee providing excellent “customer” service to those of us that travel the campus every day.

In recognition of Terry’s commitment to excellence, the presentation of this award took place at the Board of Trustees meeting, on Friday, March 6, 2020.

Previous Employee of the Quarter Recipients

 

▼   University General Division - Employee of the Quarter Selection Committee
University General Division - Employee of the Quarter Selection Committee   
Frances Henson President's Office fhenson@southalabama.edu Special Events Coordinator
Deborah Robinson Football drobinson@southalabama.edu Secretary III
Aimee Meyers Office of Development ameyers@southalabama.edu Development Officer
Denise Barton Business Office  dbarton@southalabama.edu Finance & Accounting Analyst
Jacqueline Weldy Custodial Services Office jweldy@southalabama.edu Custodial Supervisor I
Dr. James Bridgeforth Central Housing Office jbridgeforth@southalabama.edu Director
Dr. Raj Chaudhury Innovation in Learning Ctr schaudhury@southalabama.edu Executive Director
Susan Reinhardt Business Office COM sreinhardt@southalabama.edu Faculty Resource Specialist
Sahilee Waitman Student Government Assoc sga.president@southalabama.edu SGA President
Tina Stalmach Human Resources tstalmach@southalabama.edu Dir of HR, Benefits/Cmte Chair
Dr. Zoya Khan Foreign Languages zkhan@southalabama.edu Associate Professor

 

If you have any questions, please contact Tina Stalmach, Employee of the Quarter Selection Committee Chair, at tstalmach@southalabama.edu or by calling (251) 460-6133.