Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society

Congratulations to Hannah Giannini, PKP 2022 Marcus L. Urann Fellowship Winner!

Hannah Giannini

The USA nominee for the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society national fellowship, Hannah Giannini, was selected as a fellow for 2022 and will receive an $8500 award for graduate study. She follows other recent national winners from South, including Hanna Bobinger (2021), Evan Mazur (2020), Donavon Dahmer (2019), Phiwat Klomkaew (2018), and Catherine Zivanov (2016). South PKP students can apply for this award each spring. 

Phi Kappa Phi 2022-23 Award Recipients 

The University of South Alabama Chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi proudly announces the 2022 Scholar of the Year, Dr. Glen Borchert, Associate Professor holding dual appointments in USA’s College of Medicine’s Department of Pharmacology and the College of Arts and Sciences’ Department of Biology.

The University of South Alabama Chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi is excited to announce that Dr. Kip Franklin, Associate Professor of Music, is the recipient of our 2022 Artist of the Year award. Dr. Franklin earned his Doctor of Musical Arts degree in 2014 from Michigan State University, and he joined the faculty at South in 2015. 

"Let the love of learning rule humanity."

Phi Kappa Phi Chapter #194

Phi Kappa Phi was born different. In 1897, 10 senior students, 2 faculty members and the University of Maine president created a new kind of honor society, one that recognized excellence in all academic disciplines. Under the leadership of student Marcus L. Urann, the group formed the Lambda Sigma Eta Society, later renamed Phi Kappa Phi from the letters of the Greek words forming its motto, Philosophìa Krateìto Photôn, "Let the love of learning rule humanity." Today, Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and promotes academic excellence in all fields of higher education and engages the community of scholars in service to others.


 Learn more about joining Phi Kappa Phi at USA.