Division of Medical Education

M.D. Program

The Division of Medical Education has been established within the College of Medicine to support and encourage the improvement of medical education by providing faculty development; consulting on the design, implementation and revision of educational programs; and facilitating the Curriculum Committee’s role as the central curriculum authority within the College.

Latest Issue of CURRents Available Now

Faculty and Staff

T.J. Hundley, M.D.

T.J. Hundley, M.D.
Associate Dean for Medical Education; Associate Professor, Internal Medicine


Dr. Hundley's responsibilities focus on the overall design and implementation of the undergraduate medical education program in accordance with national accreditation standards. Dr. Hundley can be reached at tjhundley@health.southalabama.edu.


Benjamin Estrada, M.D.

Benjamin Estrada, M.D.
Assistant Dean for Medical Education; Professor and Vice Chair, Department of Pediatrics


Dr. Estrada's duties focus on the design and implementation of contemporary teaching methods and requisite faculty training for the new curriculum. Dr. Estrada can be reached at bestrada@health.southalabama.edu or (251) 405-5126.


Anthony Gard, Ph.D.

Anthony Gard, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Curriculum Assessment and Evaluation; Professor, Medical Education


Dr. Gard oversees programs for development of testing and student self-assessment and evaluation of program effectiveness. He serves as the College’s liaison to the National Board of Medical Examiners. Dr. Gard can be reached at agard@southalabama.edu or (251) 460-6770.


Jeffrey Sosnowski, M.D., Ph.D.

Jeffrey Sosnowski, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Medical Education; Professor, Medical Education


Dr. Sosnowski chairs the Curriculum Integration Subcommittee of the Curriculum Committee and assists the Associate Dean of Medical Education in design and implementation of the integrated systems-based curriculum. He can be reached at jsosnowski@southalabama.edu.


Ashley Givens

Ashley Givens
Medical Student Education Specialist


Mrs. Givens maintains the curriculum responsibilities for the undergraduate medical education program. She can be reached at agivens@southalabama.edu or (251) 461-1413. 


 photo of Charissa Moore

Charissa Moore
Medical Education Evaluation Specialist


Ms. Moore coordinates evaluations for the undergraduate medical education program. She can be reached at csmoore@southalabama.edu or (251) 460-7498.


 photo of Shannon Brown

Shannon Brown
Assessment and Evaluation Coordinator


Ms. Brown coordinates assessments and evaluations for the undergraduate medical education program. She can be reached at srbrown@southalabama.edu or (251) 461-1966.