Graduate Medical Education Programs

With a long history of training physicians, the University of South Alabama and its affiliated hospitals provide training in 23 residency and fellowship programs to more than 270 physicians in training. All eligible graduate medical programs at the University of South Alabama are fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) unless otherwise noted.

 

Residency Programs

Emergency Medicine

Program Director: Edward Panacek, M.D. - eapanacek@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Nikki Reymundo - nrreymundo@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Dr., Mastin 316, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 470-1649 • Fax: (251) 470-7042

Family Medicine

Program Director: Ehab Molokhia, M.D. - emolokhia@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator (PC3): Stacey Hartman - shartman@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator (PC1): Sandi Shaw-Cantrelle - sshaw-cantrelle@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 1601 Center St., Suite 2N, Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone: (251) 434-3484 • Fax: (251) 434-3495

Internal Medicine

Program Director: Judy Blair-Elortegui, M.D. - jblair@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator (PC3): Leah Musgrove - lmusgrove@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator (P1): Kimberly Eardley - keardley@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Dr., Mastin 400K, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7891 • Fax: (251) 470-1652

Internal Medicine / Pediatrics (Combined Program)

Program Director: Grace Hundley, M.D. - ohundley@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Marley Harris - mjharris@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 1700 Center St., Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone: (251) 415-8586 • Fax: (251) 415-1387

Neurology

Program Director: William Kilgo, M.D. - wkilgo@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Leigh Rowell - clrowell@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Dr., Mastin 615, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 445-8261 • Fax: (251) 445-8249

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Program Director: Tracy Roth, M.D. - tyroth@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Shavella Kelly Schreiner - skelly@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 251 Cox St., Room 1009, Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone: (251) 415-1557 • Fax (251) 415-1552

Orthopaedic Surgery

Program Director: Jeffrey Brewer, M.D. - jlbrewer@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator
: Rhonda Smith - rhondasmith@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 1601 Center St., #N-3104, Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone: (251) 665-8251 • Fax: (251) 665-8265

Pathology

Program Director: Jacek Polski, M.D. - jpolski@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Bettina Kelson - bkelson@health.southalabama.edu 
Address: 2451 University Hospital Dr., Moorer Bldg., Room 120, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7786 • Fax: (251) 471-7715

Pediatrics

Program Director: Richard Whitehurst, M.D. - rmwjr@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator (PC3): Latasha Williams - latashawilliams@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator (PC1): Jessica Petro - jmcdaniel@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 1700 Center St., Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone: (251) 415-1087 or (251) 415-8688 • Fax: (251) 415-1387

Psychiatry

Program Director: Luke Engeriser, M.D. - lengeriser@altapointe.org
Program Coordinator: Bayleigh Andrews - bandrews@altapointe.org
Address: 1015 Montlimar Dr., Suite A-210, Mobile, AL 36609
Telephone: (251) 706-5552 • Fax: (251) 706-5595

Radiology

Program Director: Samuel McQuiston, M.D. - mcquiston@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Shunda Fakaha - sfakaha@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Dr., Mastin 315, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7866 • Fax: (251) 471-7882

Surgery

Program Director: Leander Grimm, M.D. - lgrimm@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator (PC3): Tyronda Rogers - tmrogers@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator (PC1): Cynthia Dennis - cdennis@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Dr., Mastin 711, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7992 • Fax: (251) 471-7022

 

Fellowship Programs

Addiction Medicine

Program Director: Luke Engeriser, M.D. - lengeriser@altapointe.org
Program Coordinator: Bayleigh Andrews - bandrews@altapointe.org
Address: 1015 Montlimar Dr., Suite A-210, Mobile, AL 36609
Telephone: (251) 706-5552 • Fax: (251) 706-5595

Cardiovascular Disease

Program Director: Bassam Omar, M.D. - bomar@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Donna Gregory - dgregory@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 3290 Dauphin Street, Suite 300, Mobile, AL 36606  
Telephone: (251) 332-3885 • Fax: (251) 471-7447  

Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Program Director: Edgar Finn, M.D. - efinn@altapointe.org
Program Coordinator: Bayleigh Andrews - bandrews@altapointe.org
Address: 1015 Montlimar Dr., Suite A-210, Mobile, AL 36609
Telephone: (251) 706-5552 • Fax: (251) 706-5595

Clinical Neurophysiology

Program Director: Juan Ochoa, M.D. - jochoa@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Leigh Rowell - clrowell@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Dr., Suite 10E, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 445-8261 • Fax: (251) 445-8249

Family Medicine Obstetrics

Program Director: R. Allen Perkins, M.D., M.P.H. - perkins@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator:
Jenna James - jmjames@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 1601 Center St., Suite 2N, Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone:
(251) 434-3484 • Fax: (251) 434-3495

Gastroenterology

Program Director: Jack Di Palma, M.D. - jdipalma@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Tracy Terpening - tterpening@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 75 University Blvd. South, UCOM 6000, Mobile, AL 36608
Telephone: (251) 660-5651 • Fax: (251) 660-5558

Gynecologic Oncology

Program Director: Jennifer Young Pierce, M.D., M.P.H. - jypierce@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Alana Bell - alanabell@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 1660 Springhill Ave., Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone: (251) 445-9895 or (251) 410-4967 • Fax: (251) 460-6994

Medical Oncology

Program Director: Brian Persing, M.D. - bpersing@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Alana Bell - alanabell@health.southalabama.edu 
Address: 1660 Springhill Ave., Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone: (251) 445-9895 or (251) 410-4967 • Fax: (251) 460-6994

Primary Care Sports Medicine - Andrews

Program Director: Josh Hackel, M.D. - josh@hackelmd.com
Program Coordinator: Ashley Mixson - ashley.mixson@andrewsref.org
Address: 1040 Gulf Breeze Parkway, Gulf Breeze, FL 32561
Telephone: (850) 916-8704 • Fax: (850) 916-8579

Primary Care Sports Medicine - USA

Program Director: Peter Rippey, M.D. - prippey@health.southalabama.edu 
Program Coordinator (PC3): Stacey Hartman - shartman@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator (PC1): Sandi Shaw-Cantrelle - sshaw-cantrelle@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 1601 Center St., 2N, Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone: (251) 434-3484 • Fax: (251) 434-3495

Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care

Program Director: Brian Fouty, M.D. - bfouty@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Ruth Hart, MBA, BSHA - rlhart@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Dr., Mastin Suite 400-G, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7847 • Fax: (251) 471-7889

Renal and Genitourinary Pathology (Non-ACGME Accredited)

Program Director: Guillermo A. Herrera, M.D. - gherrera@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Bettina Kelson - bkelson@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Dr., Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7786 • Fax: (251) 471-7715

Surgical Critical Care

Program Director: Christopher Kinnard, M.D. - ckinnard@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator (PC3): Tyronda Rogers - tmrogers@health.southalabama.edu 
Program Coordinator (PC1): Cynthia Dennis - cdennis@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Dr., Mastin 711, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 445-8230 • Fax: (251) 471-7022