Graduate Medical Education Programs

With a long history of training physicians, the University of South Alabama and its affiliated hospitals provide training in 22 residency and fellowship programs to more than 240 physicians in training. All eligible graduate medical programs at the University of South Alabama are fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) unless otherwise noted.

 

Residency Programs

Emergency Medicine

Program Director: Edward Panacek, M.D. - eapanacek@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Jill Garcia - jsgarcia@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Drive, Suite 10L, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 470-1649 • Fax: (251) 470-7042

Family Medicine

Program Director: Ehab Molokhia, M.D. - emolokhia@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Stacey Hartman - shartman@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 1601 Center Street, Suite 2N, Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone: (251) 434-3484 • Fax: (251) 434-3495

Internal Medicine

Program Director: Judy Blair-Elortegui, M.D. - jblair@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinators: Leah Musgrove (PC3) - lmusgrove@health.southalabama.edu
Jessica Petro (PC1) - jmcdaniel@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Drive, Mastin 400K, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7891 • Fax: (251) 470-1652

Internal Medicine / Pediatrics (Combined Program)

Program Director: Grace Hundley, M.D. - ohundley@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinators: Marley Harris - mjharris@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 1700 Center St, Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone: (251) 415-8586 • Fax: (251) 415-1387

Neurology

Program Director: Juan Ochoa, M.D. - jochoa@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Leigh Rowell - clrowell@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Drive, Suite 10E, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 445-8261 • Fax: (251) 445-8249

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Program Director: Craig Sherman, M.D. - csherman@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Shavella Everett - skelly@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 251 Cox St, Suite 100, Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone: (251) 415-1557 • Fax (251) 415-1552

Orthopaedic Surgery

Program Director: Richard Marks, M.D. - rmmarks@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Rhonda Smith - rhondasmith@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 1601 Center St, #N-3160, Mobile, Alabama 36604
Telephone: (251) 665-8251 • Fax: (251) 665-8265

Pathology

Program Director: Andrea Kahn, M.D. - akahn@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Kathy Cannon - kacannon@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Drive, Moorer Bldg, Rm 120, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7786 • Fax: (251) 471-7715

Pediatrics

Program Director: Roger L. Berkow, M.D. - rberkow@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinators: Latasha Williams (PC3) - latashawilliams@health.southalabama.edu
Nicole Laden (PC1) - nicoleladen@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 1700 Center St, Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone: (251) 415-1087 • Fax: (251) 415-1387

Psychiatry

Program Director: Luke Engeriser, M.D. - lengeriser@altapointe.org
Program Coordinator: Bayleigh Andrews - bandrews@altapointe.org
Address: 1015 Montlimar Drive, Suite A-210, Mobile, AL 36609
Telephone: (251) 706-5552 • Fax: (251) 706-5595

Radiology

Program Director: Samuel McQuiston, M.D. - mcquiston@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Shunda Fakaha - sfakaha@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Drive, Mastin 315, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7866 • Fax: (251) 471-7882

Surgery

Program Director: Leander Grimm, M.D. - lgrimm@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Dorothy Dickinson (PC3) - dpettway@health.southalabama.edu
Tyronda Rogers (PC1) - tmrogers@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Drive, Mastin 711, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7992 • Fax: (251) 471-7022

 

Fellowship Programs

Advanced Endoscopy (Non-ACGME Accredited)

Program Director: Meir Mizrahi, M.D. - mmizrahi@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Tracy Terpening - tterpening@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 75 University Blvd South, UCOM 6000-B, Mobile, AL 36608
Telephone: (251) 660-5555 • Fax: (251) 660-5559

Cardiovascular Disease

Program Director: Bassam Omar, M.D. - bomar@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Donna Gregory - dgregory@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Drive, Suite 10B, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7923

Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Program Director: Aneek Shoemaker, M.D.
Program Coordinator: Bayleigh Andrews - bandrews@altapointe.org
Address: 1015 Montlimar Drive, Suite A-210, Mobile, AL 36609
Telephone: (251) 706-5552 • Fax: (251) 706-5595

Clinical Neurophysiology

Program Director: Juan Ochoa, M.D. - jochoa@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Leigh Rowell - clrowell@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Drive, Suite 10E, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 445-8261 • Fax: (251) 445-8249

Gastroenterology

Program Director: Jack Di Palma, M.D. - jdipalma@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Tracy Terpening - tterpening@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 75 University Blvd South, UCOM 6000-B, Mobile, AL 36608
Telephone: (251) 660-5555 • Fax: (251) 660-5559

Medical Oncology

Program Director: David Clarkson, M.D. - dclarkson@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: LaShea Davis - ldavis@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 1660 Springhill Avenue, Mobile, AL 36604
Telephone: (251) 445-8401 • Fax: (251) 460-6994

Primary Care Sports Medicine - Andrews

Program Director: Josh Hackel, M.D. - josh@hackelmd.com
Program Coordinator: Leah R. Johnsey - leah.johnsey@andrewsref.org
Address: 1040 Gulf Breeze Parkway, Gulf Breeze, FL 32561
Telephone: (850) 916-8704 • Fax: (850) 916-8579

Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care

Program Director: Brian W. Fouty, M.D. - bfouty@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Ruth L. Hart, MBA, BSHA - rlhart@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Drive, Suite 10G, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7847 • Fax: (251) 471-7889

Renal and Genitourinary Pathology (Non-ACGME Accredited)

Program Director: Guillermoa A. Herrera, M.D. - gherrera@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Kathy Cannon - kacannon@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Drive, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7786 • Fax: (251) 471-7715

Surgical Critical Care

Program Director: Sidney Brevard, M.D. - sbrevard@health.southalabama.edu
Program Coordinator: Tyronda Rogers - tmrogers@health.southalabama.edu
Address: 2451 University Hospital Drive, Mastin 711, Mobile, AL 36617
Telephone: (251) 471-7992 • Fax: (251) 471-7022