Faculty and Staff 

Faculty photoPictured Above: Full-time faculty and staff

The Department of Communication holds high standards for our faculty and staff. Every faculty and staff member is dedicated to teaching and advising students to best suit their individual need.

For inquiries about open positions, please click here.

Full-time Faculty 
Dr. Lorraine Ahearn 
Assistant Professor
Dr. Mia Anderson*
Associate Professor/Graduate Program Coordinator 
Ms. Nadia Bush
Senior Instructor 
Dr. Jung Hwa Choi
Assistant Professor 
Ms. Genevieve Dardeau
Senior Instructor
Mr. Frye Gailard
USA Writer in Residence
Mr. Andrew Hongo
Instructor
Dr. M. Delwar Hossain*
Assistant Professor
Dr. Patricia Mark*
Associate Professor 
Ms. Katherine Rigsby 
Sr. Instructor/Alumni Committee Chair
Dr. Steve Rockwell*
Associate Professor
Dr. Jessica Sheffield*
Assistant Professor
Ms. Megan Sparks
Senior Instructor/Internship Coordinator
Ms. Cynthia Tucker
USA Journalist in Residence
Dr. April DuPree Taylor 
Assistant Professor/Public Speaking Course Director
Ms. Melissa Walter 
Instructor
Dr. Richard Ward*
Professor/Interim Chair 
*Graduate Faculty
Part-time Faculty

Ms. Muriel Bailey 
mrbailey@southalabama.edu

Ms. Kate Beauchamp
kbeauchamp@southalabama.edu

Ms. Candice Bishop
candicebishop@southalabama.edu

Mr. Tyler Carter
tylercarter@southalabama.edu

Ms. Brittney Chandler 
bchandler@southalabama.edu
Ms. Sammantha Chapuseaux
slover@southalabama.edu
Ms. Jennifer Cooley
jcooley@southalabama.edu
Ms. Stephanie Davis
stephaniedavis@southalabama.edu
Mr. Stanley Ferrell 
scferrell@southalabama.edu 
Mr. Michael Herndon
mherndon@southalabama.edu 
Ms. Karen Joffrion
kpresley@southalabama.edu
Ms. Marti Messick
mnormand@southalabama.edu 
Mr. Michael Odom
modom@southalabama.edu
Ms. Linda Pereria
lpereria@southalabama.edu
Ms. Brooke Riddle
briddle@southalabama.edu
Mr. Edward Robinson
elrobinson@southalabama.edu
Daeshen Smith
daeshensmith@southalabama.edu
Ms. Judy Wesson
jwesson@southalabama.edu 
Mr. Paul Willis
willis@southalabama.edu 
Graduate Assistants
Ms. Lauren Buergen
Mr. Collin Day
Ms. Ashley McDaniel
Ms. MeLeah Miller
Ms. Ayla Oden
Ms. Bailey Smith 
Staff
Ms. Tonette Adams
Ms. Becky Counselman
Ms. Debbie Moore

Ms. Heather Stanley 

Jag Media Director