Faculty and Staff 

Faculty photoPictured Above: Full-time faculty and staff

The Department of Communication holds high standards for our faculty and staff. Every faculty and staff member is dedicated to teaching and advising students to best suit their individual need.

For inquiries about open positions, please click here.

Full-time Faculty 
Dr. Lorraine Ahearn*
Assistant Professor
Mr. George Bovenizer
Instructor
Ms. Nadia Bush
Senior Instructor
Dr. Jung Hwa Choi*
Assistant Professor
Dr. M. Delwar Hossain*
Associate Professor
Dr. Patricia Mark*
Associate Professor / Graduate Program Coordinator
Ms. Katherine Rigsby 
Senior Instructor / Alumni Committee Chair
Dr. Steve Rockwell*
Associate Professor
Dr. Pavica Sheldon*
Professor / Department Chair
Mrs. Megan Sparks
Senior Instructor / Internship Coordinator
Dr. April DuPree Taylor*
Assistant Professor / Public Speaking Course Director
Ms. Melissa Walter 
Instructor
 
*Graduate Faculty
Part-time Faculty
Bailey, Muriel
mrbailey@southalabama.edu
Beauchamp, Kate
kbeauchamp@southalabama.edu
Bennett, MeLeah
meleahmiller@southalabama.edu
Brink, Sharla
sharlabrink@southalabama.edu
Chandler, Brittney
bchandler@southalabama.edu
Davis, Dr. Stephanie
stephaniedavis@southalabama.edu
Head, Mary
maryhead@southalabama.edu
Herndon, Mike
mherndon@southalabama.edu 
Lakemon, Thomas
tlakemon@southalabama.edu
McDaniel, Ashley
admcdaniel@southalabama.edu
Messick, Marti
mnormand@southalabama.edu 
Mistrot, Brooke
briddle@southalabama.edu
Robinson, Edward
elrobinson@southalabama.edu
Sheffield, Dr. Sarah
ssheffield@southalabama.edu
Ward, Dr. Richard
rward@southalabama.edu
Wesson, Judy
jwesson@southalabama.edu
Wright, Tamika
tamikawright@southalabama.edu 
Graduate Assistants
Mr. Samuel King
Mr. Dallas Sheffield
Ms. Nabila Mushtarin
Ms. Andrea Parker
Mr. Caleb Helms
Mr. JD Armstrong
Mr. Evan Marr
Staff
Mrs. Tonette Adams
Word Processing Specialist
Mrs. Becky Counselman
Secretary V