Limited Submissions

Limited Submissions


For all active (open) limited submission competitions see the USA InfoReady site.  

Some grant and fellowship programs limit the number of proposals that may be submitted by an institution (and/or PI). If you want to apply for a limited submission opportunity that is not listed on the InfoReady site, please contact Research Communications, Development and Learning (RCDL), for guidance about obtaining institutional nomination before developing an application for submission.

NOTE: If you submit a proposal to a limited submission program without institutional nomination and the institutional limit is exceeded, your proposal, and other proposals submitted from USA for that opportunity, will very likely be rejected without review. To prevent miscommunication in relation to limited submission eligibility, RCDL coordinates internal limited submission competitions and institutional nominee selection.

Submission-eligible, institutional nominees for various limited submission opportunities are listed below. 

The Office of Research and Economic Development issues a Limited Submission Institutional Nomination Memo to a designated institutional nominee. The nomination memo should be uploaded into the Representations and Certifications section of Cayuse SP and route with proposal documentation to certify institutional approval to submit a limited submission proposal. Proposals routed for a limited submission opportunity without an Institutional Nomination Memo may be returned without submission.  

Announcement of Institutional Nominees

▼   HRSA-19-049 2018 Institutional Nominee
Dr. Leigh Minchew, Department of Maternal Child Nursing
▼   Mary Kay Foundation Research Grant Program 2018 Institutional Nominee
Dr. Lisa Spiryda, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
▼   National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Summer Stipends Program Nominating Process (Continuous)

USA faculty who intend to submit an NEH Summer Stipends proposal must notify Angela Jordan, Research Development Coordinator, via email to by May 15 annually.  Institutions may nominate up to two faculty applicants. In the event that more than two applicants present notice, an internal competition will be staged to select the institutional nominees. Applicants will be notified via email by the first Monday in June if an internal competition is necessary. In the event that an internal competition is not necessary, the institutional nominees will be announced by the second Friday in July.  

The following supporting documentation will be required from an applicant if an internal competition is necessary: 1) a letter of support from the Department Chair, and 2) a one page summary of the project to be conducted. The internal limited submission competition will be managed through the USA InfoReady site

Please refer to the NEH Summer Stipend website for additional details and for a copy of the most recent NEH guidelines.

USA Institutionally approved 2018 faculty nominees (for summer 2019 award):

Dr. Christina Lindeman, Assistant Professor of Art History, Department of Visual Arts, is confirmed as an institutionally-approved eligible faculty nominee for the 2019 NEH Summer Stipend Program.

Dr. David Meola, Fanny and Bert Meisler Assistant Professor of Jewish Studies and Director of Jewish and Holocaust Studies, Department of History, is confirmed as an institutionally-approved eligible faculty nominee for the 2019 NEH Summer Stipend Program.

▼   NSF Cultivating Cultures for Ethical STEM 2019 Institutional Nominee

Dr. Prakash Durasaimy, Department of Computer Science

▼   NSF EPSCoR Research Infrastructure Improvement Program: Track-4 Research Fellows (RII Track-4) 2018 Institutional Nominees

Dr. Ylenia Chiari, Department of Biology

Dr. Scott Glaberman, Department of Biology

Dr. Saeed Latif, Department of Computer and Electrical Engineering

▼   NSF Major Research Instrumentation 2019 Institutional Nominees

Dr. Georgios Lazarou, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dr. K-T Hsiao, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Third of three nominees not assigned. Contact with questions.

▼   NSF Research Traineeship 2019 Institutional Nominees

Dr. Arka Pandit, Department of Civil, Coastal, and Environmental Engineering

Second of two nominees not assigned. Contact with questions.

▼   ORAU Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards 2019 Insitutional Nominees

Dr. Prakash Durasaimy, Department of Computer Science

Second of two nominees not assigned. Contact with questions.