Faculty and Staff Members

 

 
Faculty
 
 
 Martha Jane Brazy
Martha Jane Brazy
Associate Professor
Pre-Civil War U.S., U.S. Social, U.S. Women's, and African-American History

mjbrazy@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7540
Humanities 371

On leave 2019-20 

 

Claire Cage

Claire Cage
Associate Professor

Interim Director, Gender Studies Minor Program
France, Gender

ccage@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7373
Humanities 376

 

Kathy Cooke

Kathy Cooke
Professor

Dean of the Honors College 
U.S. History

kcooke@southalabama.edu
(251) 461-1637
Seaman's Bethel Theatre

 

Bob Faust
Robert Faust
Senior Instructor 
U.S. History, Western Civilization, Environmental History
rfaust@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7602
Humanities 381

  

Marsha Hamilton

Marsha Hamilton
Associate Professor

Director of Graduate Studies in History

Co-Director of Museum Studies Minor Program 

Advisor for National Scholarships in the Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences
Colonial America, Atlantic World, Public History

mhamilton@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7611
Humanities 373

 

Mara Kozelsky
Mara Kozelsky
Professor
Eastern Europe and Russia

mkozelsky@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7377
Humanities 375

On leave 2019-20 

 

Timothy J. Lombardo
Timothy J. Lombardo
Assistant Professor
Modern U.S., American Urban History, Race and American Political Development, Labor/Working Class History
tlombardo@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6868
Humanities 378

 

Henry McKiven
Henry McKiven
Associate Professor
U.S. South, Civil War and Reconstruction, Labor
hmckiven@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7610
Humanities 351

  

David Meola

David Meola
Fanny and Bert Meisler Assistant Professor of Jewish Studies

Director of Jewish and Holocaust Studies Minor Program 
Enlightenment and Modern Germany, Modern Jewish History,  Jewish Studies

dameola@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6867
Humanities 352

 

David Messenger

David Messenger
Professor

Chair of the Department 
Modern Europe, Spain, Human Rights, War and Memory

davidamessenger@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 344

 

Harry Miller
Harry Miller
Professor
China, Japan
hsmiller@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7547
Humanities 377

 

Michele Strong
Michele Strong
Associate Professor 
Modern British Social and Cultural History, British Empire, Travel and Tourism
mstrong@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7531
Humanities 374

 

Urban
Kelly Urban
Assistant Professor 
Latin America, Cuba, Medicine, Race
kurban@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6972
Humanities 372

 

Rebecca Williams
Rebecca Williams
Associate Professor 
Islamic Civilization
rwilliams@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6158
Humanities 379

 

 
Part-Time Faculty
 
 
William Donald
William Donald
Instructor
Western Civilization, U.S. History
wdonald@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 386

 

Elizabeth Green
Elizabeth Green
Instructor
U.S. History
elizabethgreen@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 386

  

Tennant McWilliams
Tennant McWilliams
Instructor
U.S. Political History 
tmcwilliams@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 385​
Philip Theodore
Philip Theodore
Instructor
Western Civilization, U.S. History 
ptheodore@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Student Recreation Center

 

 
Victoria Watson 
Instructor
U.S. History
vew1721@jagmail.southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 380

 

Staff
 
 
Michelle Cagle
Michelle Cagle 
Department Secretary


Alison Wood
Alison Wood
Department Secretary

 

 
Professors Emeriti & Retired Professors
 
 
Betty Brandon
Betty J. Brandon
Professor
 

 

Don DeVore
 

 

Woody Hannum
Ellwood B. Hannum
Associate Professor
 

 

Larry Holmes
Larry Holmes 
Professor
 

 

Bob Houston
W. Robert Houston
Associate Professor
 

 

Michael L. Monheit
Michael L. Monheit
Associate Professor
 

 

Dan Rogers
Daniel Rogers
Professor
 

 

Michael Thomason
Michael V.R. Thomason
Professor
 

 

 
 
Former Professors, Associate Professors, Assistant Professors, Permanent Lecturers 
 
 
William D. Barnard Aaron S. Fogleman Clarence Mohr *
Richmond F. Brown * Leanne Good Joseph A. Nigota *
Robert Brunhouse * A. Taber Green * Mollie Lewis Nouwen 
Amy Turner Bushnell Williams C. Holmes Maureen Ogle 
Chen-Kuan Chuang * Leonard A. Macaluso * Bill Pencak
Charles W. Connell Howard F. Mahan * William Speck 
E. Lewis B. Curtis * R.  Michael Malek * John G. Turner 
George H. Daniels * J. Peyton McCrary Chitralekha Zutshi 
  Melton McLaurin   
(* = deceased)