MCOB Faculty and Staff Awards

Posted on September 1, 2018 by MCOB Outreach
MCOB Outreach

Dr. Greg Prescott



Dr. Greg Prescott, Assistant Professor of Accounting, received the Excellence in Teaching Award (2017-2018). Dr. Prescott holds a DBA from Kennesaw State University.  Prior to joining the College, Dr. Prescott had a 25-year career in commercial banking. He was named the Outstanding Educator in Alabama by the Alabama Society of CPAs, received the Andy and Carol Denny National Alumni Association Excellence in Teaching Award in 2015 and was the Beta Gamma Sigma Professor of the Year at USA in 2016 and 2018.

Dr. Mickey Smith




Dr. Mickey Smith, Assistant Professor of Management, received the Excellence in Research Award (2017-2018).  Dr. Smith holds a PhD in Management from Oklahoma State University.  Dr. Smith has extensive consulting experience in the healthcare, manufacturing, and public safety industries.  Prior to joining the College, Dr. Smith was a faculty member at the University of Southern Mississippi.



Dr. Greg Prescott




Dr. Kyre Lahtinen, Assistant Professor of Finance, received the Professor of the Year Award (2017-2018). Dr. Lahtinen holds a PhD in Finance from Florida State University. In addition to other classes, Dr. Lahtinen teaches the Jaguar Investment Fund (JIF) class. Since its inception three years ago, Dr. Lahtinen's students have outperformed the S&P 500 benchmark by over 1700 basis points.

Rachel Backlin



Ms. Rachel Backlin, Programs Specialist for the Center for Real Estate and Economic Development (CREED) and the Melton Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation (MCEI) received the Outstanding Staff Award. Before joining the MCOB, Ms. Backlin worked in medical research and administration. She is a native of the Gulf Coast.



Back to Mitchell Report

Share on Social Media