Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work Faculty and Staff

Dept. Chair

Chairperson: Dr. Roma Stovall Hanks
rhanks@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6020

Catherine Potter

Secretary V: Catherine F. Potter
cpotter@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6905

Amber Turner

Secretary IV: Amber Turner
amberturner@southalabama.edu
(251) 461-1794

Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work
University of South Alabama
College of Arts and Sciences
5991 USA Drive N., Humanities Room 34
Mobile, Alabama 36688-0002
Phone# (251)460-6347 Fax# (251)460-7925

Contact Us

Dr. Valerie L.  Bryan,

Dr. Valerie L.  Bryan
Associate Professor of Social Work

Research:  Child Welfare, Juvenile Justice, Poverty

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 414-8041
vbryan@southalabama.edu

Office: HUMB 4

 
Dr. Nicole T. Carr

Associate Professor of Sociology and Associate Vice President, Student Academic Success

Research:  Gender, Crime and Delinquency, Social Inequality

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6475
ntcarr@southalabama.edu 

Office: ASC1324


Phil Carr

Dr. Philip J. Carr
Professor of Anthropology and Director, Archaeology Museum

Research: Archaeological Method and Theory, Southeastern Native Americans, Cultural Resource Management, Museums

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 461-1948
pcarr@southalabama.edu 

Office: HUMB 21


Chris Freed

Dr. Christopher R. Freed
Associate Professor of Sociology and Graduate Coordinator of Sociology

Research:  Sociology of Medicine, Sociology and History of Drugs

 Brief Biography 

(251) 460-6348
cfreed@southalabama.edu 

Office: HUMB14 


Lesley A. Gregoricka

Dr. Lesley A. Gregoricka
Associate Professor of Anthropology

Research: Bioarcheology, Stable Isotope Analysis, Residential Mobility, Paleodiet, Mortuary Archaeology, Social Organization, Identity, Near East, Arabia.

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6901
lgregoricka@southalabama.edu 

Office: HUMB22


Laurie Haas

Ms. Laurie F. Haas
Instructor of Social Work and Field Coordinator of Social Work

Research:  Gerontology Aging Issues, Interprofessional Student Education

Curriculum Vitae 

(251) 460-6906
lhaas@southalabama.edu 

Office: HUMB11


Dept. Chair

Dr. Roma S. Hanks
Professor of Sociology; Chair, Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work; Director, USA Programs in Gerontology and the Center for Generational Studies

Research:  Intergenerational Relationships; Lifecourse Transitions; Social Support; Health Disparities

Brief Biography

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6020
rhanks@southalabama.edu 

Office: HUMB36


Kenneth Hudson

Dr. C. Kenneth Hudson
Associate Professor of Sociology and Social Work
Interim BSW Program Director

Research:  Poverty, Social Stratification, Labor Markets

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6342
ckhudson@southalabama.edu 

Office: HUMB36


Douglas Marshall

Dr. Douglas A. Marshall
Professor of Sociology and Assistant Director, USA Honors College

Research: Sociology of Religion, Sociology of Rationality

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7077
dougmarshall@southalabama.edu 

Office:  HUMB6


Hosik Min

Dr. Hosik Min
Associate Professor of Sociology and Gerontology and Associate Director, the Gerontology Program

Research: Health Disparities, Population Aging, and Mortality and Morbidity

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7677
hmin@southalabama.edu 

HUMB9


Dr. Mark A. Moberg

Dr. Mark A. Moberg
Professor of Anthropology

Research:  Political Economy, Neo-liberalism, Fair Trade, Agriculture, Caribbean and Central America

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6912
mmoberg@southalabama.edu 

Office: HUMB12


Dr. Leonard A. Mundy

Dr. Leonard A. Mundy
Assistant Professor of Sociology

Research: Gender & Sexuality 

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-7079
mundy@southalabama.edu 

Office: HUMB8


Dr. Erin Nelson

Dr. Erin Nelson
Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Research: North American Archaeology, Native American Cultures of the Southeastern United States, Landscape Archaeology, Community and Identity, Ancient Foodways

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6187
erinnelson@southalabama.edu 

Office: HUMB34


Kimberly Pettway

Ms. Kimberly W. Pettway
Instructor of Social Work and Director, Center for Academic Service-Learning and Civic Engagement

Research: Black Family Structure, the Perpetuation of Privilege and Inferiority in Human Services, HIV/AIDS transmission among heterosexual couples

Curriculum Vitae

(251) 460-6908
kpettway@southalabama.edu 

Office: HUMB20

Emeritus Faculty

Gartman
Dr. W. David Gartman
Professor of Sociology
 


Dr. David Johnson
Dr. G. David Johnson
Professor of Sociology
 


Waselkov

Dr. Gregory A. Waselkov
Professor of Anthropology

Curriculum Vitae