About College of Medicine Office of Diversity and Inclusion


The Whiddon College of Medicine created the Office of Diversity and Inclusion (ODI) in 2011 as an expanded effort to develop best policies and practices directed at the outreach, recruitment and retention of a more diverse and inclusive student body, house-staff and faculty. An Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion was appointed, Dr. Johnson Haynes. To facilitate program development, a Coordinator was appointed, Ms. Chante’ Hendrix. In 2016, Dr. John Marymont, Dean of the COM appointed a Diversity and Inclusion Task Force. In response to work of this group additional resources were identified. Building on the accomplishments of this inaugural team, the ODI was expanded in 2018 to include a full-time Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, Dr. Franklin Trimm, and a full-time Coordinator, Ms. LoRen Burroughs. An expanded office suite was developed with close proximity to the medical student activities and provides a welcoming environment for students, staff and faculty.

Diversity and Inclusion Faculty Committee

The work of the ODI is supported by the contributions of a group of College of Medicine faculty committed to the goals of the office. Committee members for the 2018-2019 Academic Year include:

  • Trimm, Franklin, M.D. (Chair)
  • Rayner, Jonathan, Ph.D.
  • Calderon, Eduardo M.D.
  • Petty, Melody, M.D.
  • Cohen, Michael, M.D.
  • Kahn, Andrea, M.D.
  • Lim, Steve, Ph.D.
  • Haynes, Johnson, M.D.
  • Scammell, Jonathan, Ph.D.
  • Sosnowski, Jeffrey, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Townsley, Mary, Ph.D.
  • Burroughs, Loren

The work of the ODI is also supported by the contributions of student groups committed to the advancement of diversity and inclusion within the College of Medicine and our community. Current committee members include:

Diversity and Inclusion Graduate Student Committee

  • Rebecca Dicks
  • Lina Abou Saleh
  • Sage Garriss
  • Sarah Voth
  • Sunita Subedi Paudel
  • Meredith Gwin
  • Rajashekhar Kanchanapally
  • Tao Wang

Diversity and Inclusion Medical Student Committee

  • Nkemdi Agwaramgbo, Chair
  • Angela Mosley
  • Ashley Cainion
  • Kaitlin Ervin
  • Zach White
  • Arslan Arshad
  • Stuart McFarland
  • Tricia Vogel
  • Alexis Griffin
  • Shyla Hossain
  • Noelle Ahmed
  • Ana Perry
  • Jazmin Scott
  • Malik McMullin
  • DeJarra Johnson
  • Gisela Mancarella
  • Mariah Sanky
  • Rekha Paladugu
  • Brittany Jackson
  • Kaleb Malone